Official Crysis Thread

Discussion in 'Gaming Discussion' started by Vikingod, Oct 26, 2007.

  1. thomasabarnes

    thomasabarnes Long Time ***** Friend

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I finished Crysis last night. It was a good game, but after playing it all I don't think it's the best game ever made. There are some levels that are the best gameplay for a FPS, though, I think.

    It's definitely a well worth playing game, if your system can run it at a good resolution.

    Time for me to check out Gears of War and TimeShift, now. :)
     
  2. zpecial

    zpecial New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea go check out gears of war - it rocks
     
  3. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    after much playing I personally run crysis in vista with the forced DX9 option, DX10 gives slight lag pauses when moving even with the framerate over 40. I know they will be patching it soon.

    Only thing is in DX9 mode with everything on high, the game is so much more enjoyable and the IQ looks great. with my current issue of water causing a BSOD at high/very high the water on high in DX 9 looks great.

    Funny how with all the DX10 hype you expect the DX10 version to look vastly superior and it doesn't, unless you were studying stills. the performance penalty is rather high for tiny IQ tweaks, some of which can be mirrored closely in DX9 with console commands (check out the tweakguides article for this).

    DX9 even has depth of field blur on high at default.

    problem is right now the hardware needed to power the DX10 version at high resolution means some settings need to be lowered, especially shaders, and in DX9 mode you can quite safely crank everything to high and it runs around 30% faster without the lag.
     
  4. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    24,004
    Likes Received:
    3,821
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I wonder if the next release of nvidia cards will be able to handle the game at max settings at say 1920x1200 or we will have to wait 2.
     
  5. FDM80

    FDM80 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm crossing my fingers for that.
     
  6. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    yes, I agree, the PC version is awesome, apart from the ludicrous installation time which has been documented quite extensively.
     
  7. MitchRapp

    MitchRapp a.k.a. pepiman

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hear DX9 mode is better ... do you run it in 32bit or 64bit mode and then -DX9 ?

    I have 4 options to run it in

    32bit -DX9
    32bit -DX10
    64bit -DX9
    64bit -DX10

    Right now I'm playing at 64bit -DX10 but it ain't perfect. My settings are at "high" and I'm getting 20-30 FPS.
    The game has yet to crash but it's really lagging at times

    Considering my rig (and the fact that each and every single driver I have is up-to-date for Vista 64), Would DX9 be a better solution... and then... under 32bit or 64bit mode?
     
  8. Vikingod

    Vikingod Int'l Fish Liaison

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    16,226
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Beat the game last night, and I don't understand what people are saying about the ending being shitty. Personaly, I love the last level, and I thought the boss fights were quite fun.

    Can't wait for the sequal.
     
  9. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,770
    Likes Received:
    1,445
    Trophy Points:
    123
    It's not that the ending is sh!77y, it's that the end levels are very, very linear given the games sandbox nature earlier on. Frankly though, the last battle was very easy considering everything that came before it.
     
  10. MitchRapp

    MitchRapp a.k.a. pepiman

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sucks ... I just got out of the cave and I'm in the frozen mountain now protecting Prophet cuz he's freezing to death............. and the game got boring :(


    I wish it was all against the North Koreans ...
     
  11. OmegaRED

    OmegaRED Relapsed Gamer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Where's the goddamn Crysis patch?! 2 weeks my arse :(
     
  12. smurfdude

    smurfdude New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is where i am at now, and i havent bothered trying to get past it for a few days. i was having much more fun before the whole alien part. free roaming and killing humans was much better

    plus i HATE having to keep NPCs alive in games, it really is annoying and i wish developers would just stop thinking this is a good idea
     
  13. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
    i just got back and downloaded the recent forcewares, man the game runs freaking smooth as hell now! im running everything on high (cept textures at very high and sound) 2x fsaa 1280x720 nice and smooth. now its fun.
     
  14. deadeyeselh

    deadeyeselh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will this game work well on my P4 3.00, ATI X1650, and 1 GB of ram?
     
  15. smurfdude

    smurfdude New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ha no chance. an even with everything on low if it were just about playable, you lose the most appealing aspect of the game; the gorgeous enviroments
     
  16. BiGBrOwNPimpsta

    BiGBrOwNPimpsta HH's #1 Hustla and Pimp

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    7,753
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Well? hell no. Will it work? Yes. But I'd get another gig to try it out. I hate when games don't give you demos.
     
  17. MIG-31

    MIG-31 Old time Member.. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,960
    Likes Received:
    2,700
    Trophy Points:
    153
    System specs are below.

    OS: XP Or Vista
    CPU: 2.8ghz min for xp or 3.2 ghz for vista. (lower for dual core systems)
    Memory: XP: 1Gig / Vista: 1.5Gig
    HDD: 12Gig
    Video Card: 256mb. Nvidia 6800gt or above. ATI 9800pro above. (ATI x800 for vista)

    you are talking minimum specs,but this will push you're system quite a bit.


    you could try the demo to make sure this game runs.You will find the download links in this thread but beware it's a 1.77 GB download.
     
  18. Mousey

    Mousey HH's Official Rodent

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,902
    Likes Received:
    510
    Trophy Points:
    138
    After 2 days downloading because virgin are useless at coping with christmas demand i finally got the demo via torrent.. yes... the demo, i'm not waiting for 6.14gb of crysis when most of the comments say it's corrupt :/
    and...
    i...
    LOVED IT!!!!

    God it was so damned fun, collapsing a roof on 2 koreans then blasting away 6 others with a mounted gun without taking a hit is my proudest achievement so far :D
    I still love skulking around with my cloak on though, great fun for nading :D I get a good solid FPS @ 1024x768 with medium settings all around, 26/27 with high quality post-processing but it dips a lot when PPs on so i've put that back to medium for now.
    HD3850 <3

    I'm gonna buy it off amazon when i get the cash
     
  19. MIG-31

    MIG-31 Old time Member.. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,960
    Likes Received:
    2,700
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Fileshack is now hosting the first patch for crysis.. Here.

    Fixes:
    - Damage dealt to vehicles when shot by LAW has been made consistent
    - F12 (screenshot) now works in restricted mode as well
    - When player melees during gun raise animation, their gun will not be in a permanently raised position anymore
    - Memory leaks and potential crashes

    Updates:
    - Improved SLI / Crossfire support and performance
    - Improved overall rendering performance (DX9 and DX10)
    - Enabled VSync functionality in D3D10

    Tweaks:
    - Reduced grenade explosion radius in multiplayer
    - Clamped water tessellation to avoid cheating in MP
    - Reduced LAW splash damage vs. infantry in PowerStruggle mode
    - Slowed Rocket projectile speed down in MP slightly
     
  20. MIG-31

    MIG-31 Old time Member.. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,960
    Likes Received:
    2,700
    Trophy Points:
    153
    For those who has downloaded and installed the patch...has anyone had problems installing it..

    I've downloaded this three times now and each time it will not install.
     

Share This Page

visited