ok who still hand codes HTML?

Discussion in 'General Software Discussion' started by HardwareHeaven, Jun 27, 2002.

  1. MrCodeDude

    MrCodeDude New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use CuteHTML for hand-coding to get the general design down. Then I use FrontPage and Dreamweaver MX to make little cosmetic changes. Mostly everything I do is hand-coded though, You can tell because I spend more time on the formatting of my code than the code itself ;)
     
  2. rockandchelle

    rockandchelle New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I handcode everything I do (which isn't much), and I use Homesite. My most elaborate website that I am continuing to work on is http://www.alslawncare.com/
     
  3. gunther

    gunther New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2003
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Handcoding and 100% valid non-bloat code (no errors or warnings). Accept no less..

    FYI, I use cellular connection, page bloat makes my connection scream for help. :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2003
  4. RIV@NVX

    RIV@NVX Freedom is a feature.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,476
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Something like Quadrone or Newt Edge?
     
  5. Jeff

    Jeff Yarr... I be blind!

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,191
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Okay, happy to say, I still hand code HTML.
     
  6. Malus

    Malus BSD SMASH!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yay! ;)
     
  7. kinke

    kinke New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hand-coding for me too... homesite (static (x)html, xsl) and ultraedit (xml, asp, asp.net, php)
     
  8. UberLord

    UberLord A Legend in Underwear

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,255
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use UltraEdit @ work for some PHP stuff :)
    Nice editor - well worth the monies
     
  9. Phylter

    Phylter New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I still hand code my html, php, asp. I can't stand WYSIWYG editors.
     
  10. ToshiroOC

    ToshiroOC Unbiased.

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,812
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Amen :)
     
  11. GUNNIX

    GUNNIX New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do use Homesite too , handcode everything. It doesn't take a lot of time tho , just copy-paste the header,title of a finished html page and then fill in the content ;).

    I can't stand WYSIWYG editors neither, my brother uses frontpage :rolleyes: .

    http://www.gpure.tk This is my first and only website , I just started with html one month ago :)

    I still don't know which way is best to optimize my jpg files, I used some jpg program to shrink the jpg's down, but I'm still not satisfied.
     
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2003
  12. RIV@NVX

    RIV@NVX Freedom is a feature.

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,476
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't use JPG, just use PNG. It usually compresses much better (proof - http://phoenity.com/newtedge/gradient_effect/)
     
  13. GUNNIX

    GUNNIX New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The PNG gives me worse quality and bigger size of files. You should know I am talking about compressing screenshots from sof2. Just check out the sof2 section of my site.
    for your information:
    I did the conversion with Irfanview
    jpg to png
    png with: compression ratio 9
    24bit and 8bit were both terribly looking and bigger
     
  14. Feral

    Feral New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2003
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I hand-code.
     
  15. Jeff

    Jeff Yarr... I be blind!

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,191
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    PNG is lossless, don't know what you did, but usually it's size is about the same as JPG, sometimes larger, sometimes smaller.
     
  16. JLP

    JLP New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yup PNG is lossless so it can't get you worse quality. But then again PNG is meant to be a replacement for GIF files and it almost always gives you much smaller files here and offers you more flexibility. As for JPGs it depends on the original picture. Usualy if you have some complex photo for example for desktop background then PNG gives you bigger files (but also lossless).
     

Share This Page

visited