only decoding "real" DD

Discussion in '3-D Audio' started by chunkt, Mar 3, 2007.

  1. chunkt

    chunkt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello,

    I use a Audigy 2 ZS and kx 3538m to decode the incomming AC-3 signal of my satelite receiver via cd_spdif. If there is a movie with "real" Dolby Digital everything works just fine. But if it is 2 channel I only get sound from front left and it sounds chopped.
    With Creative driver both work fine but I want to use kx :D

    Anybody an idea

    Does it make sense to tray spdif in on ad_ext?
     
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2007
  2. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I noticed that stereo comes out of FXBuss 4 & 8 for me.
    But I only really use AC3 on the S/PDIF (COAX/OPTICAL) in on my live drive.

    And yes - I get SPDIF notifications from any SPDIF IN - but you can turn off that notification in the KX Settings > Driver Compatibility > 'Disable S/PDIF Notification'.
     
  3. chunkt

    chunkt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, thats right. Have you realised that FXBuss 8 sounds different?

    I'll try Creative drivers again, because maybe my satelite box makes it sound chopped

    edit: No problems with Creative drivers.
    "dj_stick" often told in this forum about using AC3-Filter for decoding AC3.
    Can anybody explain how to use AC3-Filter (or other) with kx or how to change the decoder of kx?
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2007
  4. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Note that AC3 filter wont decode EXTERNAL SPDIF inputs by its self.

    I think DJ_stick was referring to using an INTERNAL DVD player on a PC - and use ac3 filter thru software - as opposed to using the Digital output most internal DVD drives have and thus connected to KX Digital CD Input > KX Ac3 decode.

    You would need software to take SPDIF inputs and use AC3 filter to decode that way. I dont know of/if any exists.
     
  5. chunkt

    chunkt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does anybody else know a working solution to decode AC3 from SPDIF Input?
    Creative works but I want the features of KX.
     
  6. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I spent a little time googling SPDIF AC3 decode - and only found a bunch of forums with un-resolved questions regarding this, but found 1 guy that said; in theory - using winamp and winamp version of AC3 filter and wimamp set to use its input plugin - *should* work. But I don't have a DD DVD to try it with so I can't confirm or deny this at this time.
    My *digital* cable never seems to output any DD content - I *used* to see TV shows advertising they were broadcast in DD, but I don't see that anymore - figure its all for HDTV only to entice viewers to move to HDTV.. ??
    But I don't have a know DD SPDIF to feed to my PC right now in any case.
     
  7. chunkt

    chunkt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm from Germany and the 'main' channels send (at primetime) in DD.

    Do you know anything more of this idea? I installed WinampAC3 but can't find where to set up spdif inputs...

    By the way 3537 seems to work better
     
  8. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    3537 doesnt support my A2 very well - so I will stay with 3538M (which did improve AC3 decoding since 3538H - btw)

    Anyway - I have a input plugin that allows routing sound from a physical input into winamp - presumably for external DVD players of record players (remember vinyl - me either :D )

    So with a physical input set as winamps 'input' - and AC3 filter decoding AC3 - theoretaically you can decode AC3 that way..
    The linein plugin Im trying is:
    http://home.hccnet.nl/th.v.d.gronde/

    No success for me, but I havent got AC3 filter working either for MP3 playback yet.. ?? I'll need to look closer at this.
     
  9. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AC3 filter for winamp seems to only function for *.AC3 files - or maybe ac3 encoded MP3 Files - it won't upmix - I'll have to find more 'surround' files to test that - but I can't get the Line In plugin to work for any physical inputs.

    I'll keep playing around with it tho see if I cant figure it out... ??
     
  10. chunkt

    chunkt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK, with Line_in Plugin I got Winamp to accept the signal from spdif. But I can just hear strange sounds (like you unmute spdif for playback in KX Mixer).
    AC3-Filter does not take and decode the signal.

    We have to 'make' AC3-Filter an output plugin of Winamp ;)
     
  11. chunkt

    chunkt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you seen http://forum.videohelp.com/viewtopic.php?t=190946&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0 ?

    I've succeed to caputre the stream of my spdif and decode it. I did it as described in the last post of the link. AC3-Filter does not accept the original recorded stream, you have to use 'BeSplit' and the option for "Converting a Dolby-Digital-WAV into standard AC3 file".

    I capure in wave therefore I have to convert to AC-3. I think the stream is 'real' AC3 but now we need a realtime filter.
     
  12. chunkt

    chunkt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AC3-Filter v. 1.20b is out!
    The changelog says " + SPDIF input support".

    But I have not yet succeed to get it working. There is also less information of this new feature. Hope this will change.

    Anything new from you?
     
  13. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thats becuase its not implemented yet

    Na, me either
     

Share This Page

visited