Outrage Continues Over Vista Upgrade Program

Discussion in 'Industry News' started by Iria, May 10, 2007.

1. Iria

Iria New Member

Source: Yahoo! News
    ______
    Julie Marto of Medfield, Massachusetts, purchased a Dell Inspiron notebook running Windows XP last October. Through a program called Express Upgrade, she was promised a free copy of Windows Vista when the operating system became commercially available. It's been five months since Vista went on sale January 30. Marto is still waiting and steaming mad.

"I've done everything I can to get my Vista upgrade including e-mailing a request to Michael Dell himself," Marto says. She says she never received a reply from Michael Dell.

2. studbagel9

studbagel9 Rolling the Hard Six

3. zaim

zaim Well-Known Member

they always tell you what you want to hear when you buy it...... but when it comes down to it! BAM! lights are off.

4. Judas

Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

Being a system builder, i was told this by my supplier as well, however i've yet to receive the upgrade disk and my supplier is fighting to get them as well.

5. GutterPunk

GutterPunk I = Greatest Dood

MODUSLINK really dropped the ball. We have had several calls on this. We have done our best to contact the company as we publish bullshit things like this in our publication. We state how they act and if we get it solved. They have truely been jackasses. They are having COA numbers getting screwed up in the system, and people aren't getting discs. These vendors really sucked lol.

6. Zeph

Zeph New Member

MODUSLINK actually went through with my upgrade without me sending in my proof of purchase. I was freaking out after a random place took money out of my bank account and a few days later I got the upgrade.

7. GutterPunk

The more I think about it... the high range of call ins/emails for our pub had been people with the free upgrade coupons...

8. Tipstaff

Tipstaff Well-Known Member