Overclocking AMD 2500+

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by Warpy, Jul 22, 2003.

  1. Warpy

    Warpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ok i am back! :hmm:

    I have increased my FSB now to 190 and it seems to be holding well........... left Prime95 on last night for 7.5 hours under torture test and the temp stayed at 43

    I think i am going to leave things be now........... CPu is at 3200+

    Thanks all for ya help. Will do some benching today when my mate brings back my 3dmark disks!
     
  2. DTC

    DTC New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Check your sig, "AMD Athlon XP-A 2500+ @ 3200Mhz" 3200Mhz that would be a 4200+ or something like that :D

    Did you try to set up the FSB to 200 ?
    To raise the FSB is always better then raising the multi for your CPU power.
    Which multi do you have now ? 12,5 ?
    Which temperature do you have under load?
    And which voltage do you have on your CPU ?

    Nice to know....

    Have a nice day, DTC

    and run 3dMark 2k1 and 2k3 and post the results :)
     
  3. Warpy

    Warpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Hey DTC

    I am runing the following:

    Not adjustment to CPu Voltage, - coz i dont know what to set it too?

    FSB: 190
    Mem Volt: 2.8

    CPu Load Temp: 51
    CPU idle: 34
    CPU multi: 12.5

    What do you reccomend to lower the temp and increase the speed?
     
  4. DTC

    DTC New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can only reduce the the temp by purchasing a new cpu cooler or by reducing
    the cpu voltage, because you use the standard voltage of 1,65V for a Barton and your cooler has reached his limit.
    To increase the speed you have to raise the FSB or Multi, but you have now 2375 Mhz, I can't belive, that this machine runs stable with standard voltage.

    But however, if you raise the multi or the FSB and the system is not stable, you have to raise the CPU voltage from 1,65V to 1,7V then to 1,75V etc., but this means that your temperatures will increase also, so always watch your temps with motherboard monitor or something like that.
    Try to increase the FSB as high as you can, because this will improve the most speed, if you get problems, try to increase the mem voltage to 2,9V and lower the timings for the memory.
    If you can't increase the FSB and multi anymore, buy new memory, if you have the money, but 2375Mhz is also very good.

    DTC
     
  5. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Colour Commentator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,619
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had some good luck at 12x175FSB last night, I'm running nice & stable at 2.1Ghz with stock cooling. :)
     
  6. Warpy

    Warpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Nice one... thanks for the info guys.

    I have ordered a GB of Multi RAM i think its called. SOmething to do with running in sync? Well i will be putting some of the new PC3800 i think it is?(The guy said it was the fastest anywaz) so i should get me overclocks happening a bit better. :)
     
  7. krazy1

    krazy1 Live from the Dungeon

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the xp2500 and it is OCed and to keep the temps down I have found the best solution for cooling is the the Thermalright SLK-900. I have this matched with a Thermaltake Smartfan 2. My temps under load are no higher then 93F. I couldn't ask for any better air cooling then this. :D
     
  8. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Colour Commentator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,619
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    SLK-900 on an A7N8X? Did you have trouble fitting it on? I thought it was too big for that board?
     
  9. krazy1

    krazy1 Live from the Dungeon

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I will say it is TIGHT :eek: :eek: I only had to push 2 caps over a tiny bit (moved them maybe .100). Other then that it is fine. Just got to push them with little pressure......:)
     
  10. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    mitchelson, so? how's it going?? any latest benchmarks???
     
  11. tek

    tek New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    great overclock bro, 12.5 x 190 = 2375MHz, THAT IS A SWEET FUXING OVERCLOCK BROH!!!!!

    run benchies now.. bet you'll blow my 12,500 3dmark01 out of the water :D
     
  12. Warpy

    Warpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Sorry to have to report this chaps but the punk at work that has my 3Dmark Cd's is ill! So i'll be picking them up tomorrow. I cant wait to see how 3Dmark01 drives, not a fond lover of the 3Dmark03 though.

    Is it possible that my CPu fan could be cutting out if there aint enough voltage? my probe software for mb mojnitoring occasionalyl alerts me to say it is at 600rpm and then boots back up to 4800?

    It may a bug in the software, coz my temp dont move any higher :hmm:
    I thought since all my oc and no adjust to voltage it may be lacking in power? I have also lowered my mem voltage to 2.6 from 2.7 :bleh:
     
  13. tek

    tek New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what

    PSU you got brother?
     
  14. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i bet you score more than 17500!!! in 3d2k1.......anyway, have you Oced you card???
     
  15. Warpy

    Warpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I'll be heading off to the sack now i think.. knackered.

    I'll be doing some serious burnin tests tonight whilst i sleep. Got my hands on PCMark Burin test which is wicked :D and at the same time I'll run prime95 just to give that AMD chip something to work on whilst me gets some shut eye :sleep:

    Cya ppl

    Be back tomorrow with some 3dmark01, 3dmark03, cameloeon, pcmark and XLSMark scores
     
  16. Warpy

    Warpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Just before I go........ saw ya post there Maxxypoos.

    Yup she sure is oc...... i have my FX5900 sitting on 480 core and 910 memory and she has been tested too with some seriosu burn in times 7.5hrs to be precise. Not bad for stock cololing. anywaz must go bye :sleep:
     
  17. Warpy

    Warpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    48
    3Dmark01 score has been uploaded with stock settings apart from CPU.
     
  18. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    great score, man.........3000 onions incresements......cool~
     
  19. Warpy

    Warpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I am dying to break the 17000 mark.
     
  20. Kgentatszu]

    Kgentatszu] New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ~LOL:lol::) me too.....~LOL:lol::)
     

Share This Page

visited