Overclocking both CPU AND GPU!!! :D

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by CrunchDude, Mar 2, 2008.

  1. CrunchDude

    CrunchDude New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey everyone... I've never overclocked any one of my current or past machines. I know, I know. As a self-proclaimed gadget geek, I should be hung upside down and beaten with a hammer.

    I have a T7600 Core 2 Duo 2.33GHz. Ideally, I'd like to put a T9300 Penryn into my baby, but the T7600 is the fastest I was able to get for my motherboard. :rolleyes:

    What about the GPU? Can I manipulate anything there except for drivers?

    Thanks! :D:D
     
  2. Neshi

    Neshi HH's cuddly Blue Bear

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    Messages:
    5,225
    Likes Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    108
    cpu overclocking is best when done in the Bios. There is software out there that will allow cpu overclocking while you are in windows, but it won't be as stable as doing it in bios. I'm not familiar with that particular cpu that you have got, but I'm sure there is some kind of overclocking guide somewhere on the internet. You could try google.
    But basically it is a matter of increasing the FSB and increasing the Voltage to the cpu for stability issues.

    as for overclocking the gpu. you could use AtiTool, or Atitraytool. It can automatically find the maximum your card can do.

    Only downside is that it's running in a laptop, and overclocking brings along more heat then usual and could be an issue, because it is alot harder to cool and dissipate then a regular computercase.
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2008
  3. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    175
    Trophy Points:
    73
    hi there!
    I see that you are planing to oc your laptop. Word of warning that laptop's cooling systems arent build to cope with overclocking.
     
  4. CrunchDude

    CrunchDude New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks guys...Awesome. Well, I can temporarily overclock the CPU and GPU, right? I want something that's undoable. And thanks for the warning. The T7600 is a powerhouse anyway, so I don't really have a need for it. I think I'll buy one of those cooling pads. Overclocked or not, the GPU gets crazy hot when rendering Bluray's.

    :cool::cool:
     
  5. CrunchDude

    CrunchDude New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Neshi, oops, it wouldn't let me install the driver, as it's not signed properly. A Vista x64 thing. A friend of mine has a workaround though, so I'll get it from him. I haven't needed it until now. I see you're running XP, so you don't have that problem. :)

    temeteus82: I see you're running x64. Do you have whatever it is to get unsigned drivers to work? If not, I'd be happy to send you whatever it is I'm getting lol...

    I tried it on my other T60p, which is running my old x86 install. It installed fine there, but I got a BSOD real fast, as I don't know what I'm doing. When I execute the tool, it comes up with a set of numbers. When I clicked on Set Clock, it said it was already overclocked! :confused: And what's with the 3D thing and the one function where it runs "without errors" forever and ever. I stopped it after 5 mins. Should I let that go until it stops? :confused: :uhoh:
     
  6. Blitzen

    Blitzen New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i see you have a firegl card. those are more made for rendering than they are for gaming or video so if you're looking for a good gaming machine replacing that with a high end radeon or geforce would be you most cost effective buy and i've heard the 3870s have come down in price a long ways since i picked mine up. as far as OCing your video card you can get tools from Ray Adams ATI Tray Tools (ATT) and the Catalyst Control Center (CCC) has some options depending on the card.
     
  7. Blitzen

    Blitzen New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    in hind site you're a renderer. better stick with a the FireGL (i've never known of a laptop to have a FireGL... how did you manage that? is it replaceable?)
     

Share This Page

visited