Overclocking E4500 2.20Ghz

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by LilRazor, Dec 17, 2008.

1. LilRazor

LilRazor Active Member

Hi
    Im New To Overclocking And Stuff
    Well Is There Any Side Effects May Happen While Overclocking ?
    Couse I Dont Want To Spend Like RM599 For A C2D E8400 3.0Ghz
    Heres My Spec

Asus P5kpl/1600
    3Gb Kingston
    C2D E4500 2.20Ghz
    XFX 8800GT 512Mb DDR3
    Coolermaster 690
    Windows Vista Home Basic
    CPU Cooler Coolermaster x Dream 4
    150GB HardDrive
    120 External HardDrive
    Enermax 535W

I Was Thinking About Ocing Up To 2.8 - 3 Ghz
    Thanks..

2. LilRazor

LilRazor Active Member

41 views still no reply?

3. mkk

mkk Well-Known Member

Instability is the main problem to combat when overclocking. I'd start looking at getting the system stable with a FSB of 266 over the default 200. The CPU might need just a little bit of higher voltage to remain stable but otherwise that should be a straightforward affair in your case. After having run with that for a while (don't rush things) to verify that the system does indeed remain perfectly stable in every situation you could try to go for more. If you are unsure of what the FSB is then have a look at some basic overclocking guides.

blibbax likes this.
  4. Mousey

Mousey HH's Official Rodent

Side effects can include, Damaging hardware, killing hardware, losing your eyebrows and frying your PSU in the process but that's only if you go too far at a time.
    So happens i've got that exact same CPU and i've hit 3.08GHz stable :)

The best way to do it:

(once you've handled all the cooling and everything) increase the FSB 3/4 MHz at a time, boot into windows and run a stability checker such as OCCT (Overclock Checking Tool, google it) for an hour to see if it's stable.