Overclocking E4500 2.20Ghz

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by LilRazor, Dec 17, 2008.

  1. Bolletje

    Bolletje New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Coolermaster V8 isn't that good and is very expensive. A Z600 is often better for a lower price. It's never the best possible air cooler. (yes I know him, my friend got it and reviewed it for a website). I don't know exactly if it's loud or not...

    My recommendations:
    Low-budget: AC 7 Pro
    Silence + performance: Scythe Mugen
    Great performance: Z600 (+ 1 or 2 120 mm fans)
    When you don't care about money: get a WC :)

    Maybe you can even run that system on a 300/350 watter. When the 12V+ rails are good, you are fine. Your Enermax could easily feed that components, even when you put a extra 8800GT in it (but you don't have a SLI motherboard :p).
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2008
  2. comp_ali

    comp_ali Sniper

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Messages:
    10,427
    Likes Received:
    281
    Trophy Points:
    108
    So . Is there a way to overclock E4500 to 2.5 ghz with stock cooling only and without increasing the voltage .
     
  3. Bolletje

    Bolletje New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is this a sentence or a question?

    It differs whetever you have the L2 or M0 stepping.
     
  4. LilRazor

    LilRazor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Whats L2 And M0?? LOL =D
     
  5. Bolletje

    Bolletje New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The stepping / Revision:

    Click! (they were whining about 'You shall not steal' :'))
    Left = L2
    Right = M0

    M0 is better (less heat and overall beter overclocking)

    You can also which stepping your CPU is when you have the batch or sSpec number. You can find this on the box.

    Or you can download CPU-z, run it and see what is says :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2008
  6. LilRazor

    LilRazor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    28
    i dont really get it but how do u tell if its M0 or L2?
     
  7. Mousey

    Mousey HH's Official Rodent

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,902
    Likes Received:
    510
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Google is your friend, CPU-z, download, run
     
  8. LilRazor

    LilRazor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    28
    owh mine is m0 heh
     
  9. CyberpowerUK

    CyberpowerUK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Considering it beats the TRUE which was the previous top air cooler I'd say it's pretty good, the Z600 is certainly not as good as the V8

    Mike
     
  10. Bolletje

    Bolletje New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Beats? Not as good? Well, how do you explain this?

    The V8 isn't bad, but considering it's price I would avoid it...
     
  11. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
  12. Bolletje

    Bolletje New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, compared to the hardware that is used in that configuration, some decent fans aren't so expensive :p

    But yet again, a WC-set is often the choice with such hardware and when you are planning to overclock.

    You are still running that air-cooling system with you system?;)
     
  13. CyberpowerUK

    CyberpowerUK New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
  14. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Yes I am and funnily enough even though it looks like it would be a whirlwind of noise, im getting a rating of 23db with the 280 GTX's on auto fan control, you can barely hear it. Watercooling is always a better option, but I wanted to prove a point with that build.....

    Unfortunately with 3 280 gtxs in SLI when gaming you need to crank the fans and then its audible but for other tasks its not far from silent.

    To be fair, its an expensive air cooling configuration with the most expensive fans you can get, but it is possible. The Thermalright black coolers, I still rate as the best for air and ive tried them all.
     
  15. Knight_Breed

    Knight_Breed New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    An interesting cooling discussion and Zardon as a long time geek here that Skulltrail cooling setup is sweet :)

    On the Coolermaster V8 impressive numbers Mike although I haven't tried one out myself .. still running my Hyper212 here and very happy with it.

    On the Zalman stuff well I always found it a bit overpriced myself and prefer heatsinks with aluminum cooling fins .. but hey to each there own and they seem to perform well.

    On the Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 I have one sitting here in the bottom drawer of my desk if anyone wants it. All they have to do is replace the stupid fan you cannot electronically or physically change the direction on or change its position on the cooler. Not the cooler for me I am afraid :(

    Anyway just some feedback and I am enjoying reading along here !
     
  16. LilRazor

    LilRazor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    28
    i still have not get a aftermarket cpu cooler so im currenly using stock

    i cant seem to find any good cpu coolers here but zalman ... and some random cheap useless coolers

    does anyone knows how would zalman 9700 run with q6600 Oc to 3.0ghz?
     
  17. Mousey

    Mousey HH's Official Rodent

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,902
    Likes Received:
    510
    Trophy Points:
    138
    You can't really ask what limits you can push your system to on the net because there's so many countless variables. For starters there's voltages, ripples off the PSU, temperatures, cases, airflow, ambient temps ect. ect.
    But i reckon it should do fine :)
     

Share This Page

visited