PCI Latency tool - Post your results here regarding ASIO performance after trying it.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JGSF, Jul 21, 2005.

  1. JGSF

    JGSF New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't know if this will solve ASIO clicks and pops, but try it out and post the results here so we can reach a conclusion:

    note to start: Some folks say to ONLY set the AGP/video card latency to 64 with this tool and leave the rest, and it will improve the performance.

    I haven't done enough testing to know yet.

    If you reboot your pc without checking "apply on startup" everything will be back to normal, so don't be afraid to try.

    version 2.3:
    http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=951


    version 2.6: http://www.esi-pro.co.kr/spboard/board.cgi?id=FAQ&action=view&gul=36&page=1&go_cnt=0
    (rename the file named "PCI" to "PCI.zip" after you download)
     
  2. JGSF

    JGSF New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Answering myself:

    So far I haven't found any significative differences playing with 2,67 ms latency, I've set all to 0 except the video card (set it to 64). I can go up to 1,3 ms but it's not usable for multiple sounds. 2 ms has some pops from time to time with multiple sounds.

    Very rarely, at 2,67, there was a slight "pop" in the sound (only perceptible while playing home), so far with this settings I got none, but then again I haven't played enough hours to be sure.

    Also, take a look at this thread about the program:

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=121190&perpage=25&highlight=&pagenumber=1
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2005
  3. TravelRec.

    TravelRec. Alternative Audioproductions

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,710
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried it and came to the same conclusion, not a difference for any settings I made, the only thing that makes a difference for me is to give the sequencer a higher system-priority (in Win2000 or XP), so the asio latency can be a step lower than as usual.
     
  4. Nando Dominguez

    Nando Dominguez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    >>to give the sequencer a higher system-priority

    I can't find this parameter, TravelRec. Do you mean within cubase or somewhere in windows?
     
  5. Maddogg6

    Maddogg6 Tail Razer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,027
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I experienced no change - or at least the instructions implied that if settings are below a certain point, they're probanly not settable.

    Mine were all set to 16 already. I have decent latency (5ms is fine with me as I dont monitor fx)

    P4 3.0Ghz. (630) 2x 512MB DDR2 CAS2.5 / Intel 915 Chipset - intel mobo, Audigy 2zs plat (SB0350) PCIe 6600 video w/nvidia reference drivers (latest) KX 3538h.
     
  6. TravelRec.

    TravelRec. Alternative Audioproductions

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,710
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Run the sequencer, then open the task-manager, go to processes tab and give the sequencer application a higher base-priority (one step above than the current). Then close task-manager and run your project. In some cases the priority is re-set by windows or the application itself, so you are unable to set the priority for your own.
     
  7. JGSF

    JGSF New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is it bad to give it "Realtime priority"?
     
  8. TravelRec.

    TravelRec. Alternative Audioproductions

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,710
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If your system locks up, than it´s bad - "higher than normal" or "high" is good enough.
     

Share This Page

visited