Photoshop 7.0 problem...

Discussion in 'General Software Discussion' started by e-Seeker, Aug 5, 2002.

  1. e-Seeker

    e-Seeker AKA *e-Seeker*

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I recently encountered a problem with PS and I'm really confused :duh: (something similar happened a while back, but I managed to resolve the issue with a reinstall of PS)

    Namely this error message pops up after the process line saying 'Measuring memory..':

    [​IMG]

    Please, any/every feedback's VERY appreciated, as I cannot work without PS!!

    TIA! :bleh:
     
  2. e-Seeker

    e-Seeker AKA *e-Seeker*

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmmm...

    Well, I've just installed PS6.0 and it works fine; still want my 7.0 back, though... :uhoh:

    I just don't understand why it terminates after 'measuring memory'...does it have to do with phys. RAM or swap?
     
  3. Jeff

    Jeff Yarr... I be blind!

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,191
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    48
    What version of windows are you running?
     
  4. e-Seeker

    e-Seeker AKA *e-Seeker*

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re:

    Hmm, yeah, need to add that in my sig... :rolleyes:

    XPpro, build 5.1.2600; all p's in NTFS...
     
  5. iceboy

    iceboy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2002
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    might be instability due to your o/c cpu.
     
  6. e-Seeker

    e-Seeker AKA *e-Seeker*

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re:

    Thought so, too... underclocked it and tried running PS with no effort... Reinstalled it with the CPU U/C-ed and it didn't work even then... Don't know what's wrong, but PS 6.0 seems to work flawlessly... :duh:
     
  7. Malus

    Malus BSD SMASH!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have a problem either. I don't know what to tell you. Your best bet may be a clean install of Windows, since a clean install of PS doesn't seem to help.
     
  8. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    there is a known issue with some fonts and photoshop7, I for one had issues with a couple of typefaces. if I disable certain fonts on loading PS7 then load them from extensis suitcase9 when PS has loaded, I dont have the problem.

    Try loading PS7 with the bare minimum of fonts, just as a test. if this stops the internal error, then its a matter of finding the offending font(s).
     
  9. e-Seeker

    e-Seeker AKA *e-Seeker*

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re:

    Will give it a try, thanx...
    |did once have a prob. with PS6; too many installed fonts :)|
     
  10. e-Seeker

    e-Seeker AKA *e-Seeker*

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re:

    Somehow I don't have the strength to go through it again! Did too much clean installing trying to bring the Audigy back to life... :duh:
     
  11. Malus

    Malus BSD SMASH!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe the Creative card is the source of your problems. . . :hmm:
     
  12. e-Seeker

    e-Seeker AKA *e-Seeker*

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re:

    Nope... I was doing the reinstalls not knowing some facts |take a look in the Audio Forum|... Now I have a new Audigy, and PS was working with the Aud. inside, but doesn't anymore... aw...
    Dunno, I'll se what I can do...
     
  13. e-Seeker

    e-Seeker AKA *e-Seeker*

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ummm?

    Somehow PS came back to life, after I decided to give it one more chance and reinstall it again... Hmmm, now I don't know how come, but it works perfectly...

    Maybe it just needed some rest to recover from hard work; been bashing it endlessly :D
     
  14. e-Seeker

    e-Seeker AKA *e-Seeker*

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    GRRR...

    It's dead again... I just don't know anymore... Maybe my installation's bad (referring to the CD)... Will try a different copy...
     
  15. RA321

    RA321 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    dude the same problem happened to me, and it was because of this: I had PS6, i upgraded to 7.0, i deleted the old 6.0 registry keys and it said that. So if you are doing that by any chance dont, and if not, check that something isn't deleting your registry keys of photoshop
     
  16. e-Seeker

    e-Seeker AKA *e-Seeker*

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re:

    Nope, it's not that...
    I've tried with a clean install of XP on a different disk and PS worked fine after numerous reboots, and then it just gave up...?!?!
    Nah, don't have any nerves left, I'll just stick to 6.0.1 ...

    Thanx anyway... :)
     
  17. Malus

    Malus BSD SMASH!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you applied the patch to PS7?
     
  18. e-Seeker

    e-Seeker AKA *e-Seeker*

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re:

    Not yet, I have to download it...
    ...but, will it resolve that issue I'm experiencing?
     
  19. Malus

    Malus BSD SMASH!

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's worth a try.
     
  20. e-Seeker

    e-Seeker AKA *e-Seeker*

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    btw. any chance of a new version coming out any time soon?
    I haven't had a chance to try out the 'new' Corel 11 suite, but it looks promising...
     

Share This Page

visited