Prey Demo

Discussion in 'Gaming Discussion' started by Pluvious, Jun 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. niceguyrichy

    niceguyrichy c c c COFFEE

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    9,548
    Likes Received:
    1,037
    Trophy Points:
    138
    cardboard cutouts worth 5 hours of my time??? :confused:

    can't find a download faster than 21kbs (open to suggestions ;) )

    whats the idea anywho??
    from screeny's it looks like a cross between turok and quake
     
  2. MIG-31

    MIG-31 Old time Member.. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,960
    Likes Received:
    2,700
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Don't know what you're speed id but file shack were around 300 - 400 kbs this morning.

    http://www.fileshack.com/file.x?fid=8998 I'm sure you know the (free) registered servers are quicker.
     
  3. Mr Cairo

    Mr Cairo DREDD do You require backup .... NO

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,578
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Trophy Points:
    138
    its doom with a splash of alien v predator ( from the Alien POV) nice though i did enjoy it :D
     
  4. ViRuS2k

    ViRuS2k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,337
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    48
    hehehe, downloaded the demo @ 640kb :p
    just installed it,

    going to try it now...
     
  5. ViRuS2k

    ViRuS2k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,337
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    48
    WOW this game is cool hehe, if you suffer from motion sickness though dont play it lol

    those alien guns and little bug creature with the 3 legs that you can toss in the air hehe
    but dam this game taxes my graphics system

    runs completely smooth at max everything at 1280x1024 with 4xaa and 16af the problem is im getting graphical tairing in this game...... might need to install ati tool to up the card cooler lol
     
  6. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Funny I thought the same thing, i beat the demo glad it was over tbh. and the engine could do with a few tweaks here and there.

    i quite liked the multiple level idea in warp holes, I had that idea a long time ago and was surprised it took such a long time to become a reality. (well virtual reality). Although after walking through a view the novelty wore off and I would much rather have traded some better looking and handling aliens than the ones in this.

    I dont think ill be buying this, I was bored after 30 mins :( ah well back to rise of legends.
     
  7. MIG-31

    MIG-31 Old time Member.. Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Messages:
    75,960
    Likes Received:
    2,700
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Great Game so far. The graphics is decent enough,and perhaps a little like what doom should of been.

    This has a strong resemblance to Turuk with Doom graphics.
     
  8. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    turn on vsync in game options, its a huge issue with this title.
     
  9. ViRuS2k

    ViRuS2k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,337
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    48
    hehe m8 im talking about actual graphics tairing from the memory getting to hot im guessing.

    then again when i upped the cooler i dont get that problem anymore, my card must have been slightly overheating...
    but the x1800XT`s have been known to overheat understress, they have a pritty shit stock cooler and even the fans on them dont go over 50% untill there like 70-80c lol

    might be needing a new cooler for this card.. its toasty today :D

    -----

    Demo was fun though :)

    Its hot down here,
    [​IMG]

    anyone for a bug,

    [​IMG]

    game looks a lot better in motion though, images from tif to jpg, quality loss lol..
     
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2006
  10. Sandok

    Sandok New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    9,259
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just played the demo to see what the game was about... The shifting wormholes and gravity are cool but honestly, I have seen stupider AI in lemmings...
     
  11. SFOSOK

    SFOSOK 939 Goin Strong

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I long for human weapons : (.
     
  12. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    incidentally anyone playing this on SLI, copy the prey.exe into the same folder and rename it to doom3.exe - doubles the frame rates. im sure the same works for crossfire, havent had a chance to install it on the X1900 CF rig yet, but it runs massively better on the 7900GTX sli rig at 1920x1200 with AA and AF.

    For widescreen support, just like quake4 and doom3 before it,

    alter

    seta r_customHeight "1200"
    seta r_customWidth "1920"

    in preyconfig in base folder for 1920x1200.....
     
  13. Nforce2XP

    Nforce2XP New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OMG!! this game rocks even in my poor 9800 xt (modded), ot look so nice had some slowdown on place with a lot of light,smokes and shadows but man it is so nice graphics looks better than the one Doom 3 showed.
    Well the engines its realy nice now that its all tweaked and companies knows now how to use them!... this game is a must.
     
  14. ViRuS2k

    ViRuS2k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,337
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    48

    WOW thats a shit hot tip i never acctualy tryed that before lol
    im not on sli but do you think becuse this game uses the same engine that the doom3 uses there for changeing the pray.exe to doom3.exe would then let catylist use the same doom 3 optimizations for pray....

    then again this game uses doom 3 so im guessing tweakguides guide on doom 3 would work on this game aswell..
     
  15. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    well i havent compared frame rates in single card, however it is perfectly feasible if ati have programmed optimisations for doom3/quake4 into the driver that they will improve performance in prey.

    many people dont know this but ati work on the same driver profile principal as nvidia. meaning the driver reads an EXE name and applies any preprogrammed optimisations for the game. this can be seen clearly in crossfire for a game like ghost recon advanced warfighter, if you rename the GRAW.exe to 3DMark03.exe performane almost doubles as it is applying the same dual card rendering method -- they arent always compatible but it is the first thing i do when i get a new game - copy the exe into the same folder and rename it to a few titles and record frame rates in fraps to see any possible gains.

    ati kept this rather quiet and detailed initially about how they didnt need driver profiles, however this is not the case.
     
  16. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Yeah the game is really cool I think.. very original stuff going on and it looks awesome.

    I forgot- how do you do a spoiler tag? I want to post some screens.

    Edit... some screens.. 1600 x 1200 original, and downsized a little..


    Damn I guess spoiler tags do not work at DH? Oh well... it's just a demo..

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG][​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2006
  17. Dark Lord

    Dark Lord Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Messages:
    5,910
    Likes Received:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    58
    you know, theres nothing greater then walking through this place and all of the sudden you hear Heart playing.
     
  18. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]




    Back to go finish the demo.. Hey- it's almost as long as HL2 Ep. 1!

    I put this in an autoexec.cfg - it works..

    seta g_fov "87"
    seta g_showPlayerShadow "1"
    seta com_showFPS "1"
    seta s_useEAXOcclusion "1"
    seta s_useEAXReverb "1"



    edit--
    Damn that post got all garbled.. strange.. And duplicate images. Oh well.. fixed..
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2006
  19. Pluvious

    Pluvious Elisha = hottie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the FOV command.. I was too lazy to look it up. :)

    Here's a shot of my maxed Poker session:

    [​IMG]

    And here's a few bugs I found .. anyone else see this:

    Looking up while old fart is yammering -

    [​IMG]

    Then I just slightly move my mouse and it snaps to this -

    [​IMG]

    And last, this one shows a black box instead of seeing into it.. was that normal? -

    [​IMG]
     
  20. ViRuS2k

    ViRuS2k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,337
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I found a bug and forgot to say anything about it lol

    did anyone else notice this bug or was it just me.....

    when your in that indian area of the game and you meet that guy that died... the sky was beutifull.
    well when you go from under a rock to view the sky the sky transitions from dull to normal they dont switch properly like seemlessly.... its quite a big bug becuse the sky is beutifull untill you go under something then dull and back out bright again but its the way they change.... very weirdly hehehe not like the way VALVE does it with HL2 eps1

    anyone else notice it ?


    EDIT:

    ahhhh Pluvious you found the bug im talking about lol in your pics 2 and 3
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

visited