Question about dual Vista Dual Boot

Discussion in 'Windows & Other OS Discussion & Support' started by Wavelabs, Apr 14, 2009.

  1. Wavelabs

    Wavelabs New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, the question is this.

    I have One hard Drive internally WD 10,000 rpm drive that is holding the
    Vista x64-bit OS.

    I also have a Hot Swappable Drive by this company.
    Newegg.com - VANTEC MRK-250ST Plastic & Aluminum Alloy 2.5" Black USB 2.0 & SATA External Enclosure - External Enclosures

    this vantec has Vista x32-bit OS.


    So here is the question and the situation im trying to solve.

    When I boot, there is no choice to choose from between them.
    I would like to be able to reboot and then choose which OS I want to boot into.

    I don't know why the computer only chooses the x64-bit.
    When the x32-bit is sitting right there,
    but there is no choices for me to choose which OS I want to boot.


    And YES, they are both Vista OS's, One is x64-bit and the other is x32-bit.
    And the are both on 2 completely separate hard drives.



    I know that I have to do something in the BCDedit.exe within Vista.
    Since Vista does not have the old version of BOOT.ini any longer.


    Can someone detail to me, what I have to put in the BCDedit.exe file to fix this problem..?





    thanks.
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2009
  2. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can't mix 32 and 64 bit OS's in a boot manager.
     
  3. OldBuzzard

    OldBuzzard DH's oldest Geek

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,777
    Likes Received:
    145
    Trophy Points:
    88

    Really?

    I find that interesting since I have: 4x Vista Ult. 64, 1x Vista x86, 1x XP Pro, 1x XP x64, and 2x Win7 beta installs on my system.

    Of course I do use HyperOS to manage all of them, but even then, I've started with an install of XP 32 bit, then installed XP x64, and even before installing HOS on the x64 install, the boot menu still gave me the option of selecting either one. However, these were installed on the same HDD, and one after another, so the x64 install 'knew' that the 32 bit install was there to start with..

    Trying to make two OS's that were installed independently of each other show up in a boot menu, might be a different matter.
     
  4. Mac Daddy

    Mac Daddy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    7,948
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Interesting I have never mixed 32 bit and 64 bit OS's.
     
  5. Cow_160483

    Cow_160483 HH's only cow moooooo...

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,473
    Likes Received:
    1,586
    Trophy Points:
    123
    good question i also have installed vista X64 recently and want to install XP X64 on an external how can i do that ?? is it even possible ??
     
  6. crack1up

    crack1up New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First adjust your bios to tell it which drive to boot first and second. Then, I would try easyBCD as a front end to the Vista boot loader. I am still not sure about a dual vista boot because I started with XP Pro x86 and Vista 64.
     

Share This Page

visited