Radeon Omega Drivers 2.6.61 (Cat 5.8)

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by Omegadrive, Sep 12, 2005.

  1. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Strange- on my x800xl AGP- either the drivers or ATi tray tools is setting my memory clock speed wrong on boot up. It is always either 4 or so mhz slow or a couple mhz fast.

    Also my GPU temp seems to be a lot hotter.. (3 or 4 c) Not sure what is going on. Seems like it should just read the default speed off the video card bios?

    Every re-boot it seems to be different. I will have to keep testing to see what happens.
     
  2. AlexM105

    AlexM105 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've played Battlefield 2 for a while already with these drivers. There's no/less stuttering at the beginning. Overall it runs a bit smoother.

    Mirror
     
  3. danked

    danked New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Hmm, I don't know what's going on.. I lost 1030 pts in 05'...

    I don't expect huge gains, but to lose 1000+? Something must be wrong.

    -seems like the ATT and the Driver CP are fighting each other- when changing a setting in one, it doesn't register in the other, etc.. I'll try to reinstall.. Seems there are some bugs or something unfortunately.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2005
  5. scottyk87

    scottyk87 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I ran driver cleaner and followed the instructions for safe mode and all. Installed the omegas and played bf2.

    I noticed some stuttering but diden't think anything off it. Then I press tab to show scores and everything is all mesed up like scrambled which I have never seen before. Kept playing and then my computer just restarted. A dialog came up that said it recovered from a crash when it rebooted and wanted to submit it microsoft and said it was driver problem.

    So I didn't mess with anything to see if it would happen again but it didn't although I am noticing more stuttering than usual wondering if its the server or the driver. If I get that scramblled stuff again and a restart I am reverting back to the omega v2.6.42 which I had before and worked fine.

    If anyone else has this problem please post so I know I am not the only one.
     
  6. ViRuS2k

    ViRuS2k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    8,337
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Omega can you please do a Windows Xp Pro X64 Edition of these drivers.
    i dont use Windows XP Pro x32 anymore...

    64 Bit version would be sweet ....... pritty please :D
     
  7. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I got really bad scrambling of the desktop after the initial installation- had to reboot to get rid of it..
    I do also notice horrible stuttering in all the games I have tested. RBR is really slow and stutters a lot.. Weird because usually Omega's are much smoother. I think it has something to do with ATT.. That program seems not to let the driver CP make adjustment to basic graphic settings.. I lost 1000pts in 3dmark 05 and 01.. with same gfx settings and clock settings.. I am going to reinstall.. but before that run DC again.. I sure hope it solves all these problems.
     
  8. scottyk87

    scottyk87 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Let me know if that fixes it because I will do the same. I also just tried clearing my BF2 cache because i noticed after I installed the drivers and loaded it up it did that optimizing graphics thing so I will see how this works.
     
  9. Kid2

    Kid2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Having a weird issue myself. It seems the clock speeds on my card are messed up too. After playing around 2-3 hours of CoD tonight I went into ATT and my Clock Speeds were about 100 or so mhz below what they should be. I then checked the Temp via Overdrive it returned back as a 0*C so I then looked at the mobo temp monitor I have, it reported it at 32*C

    I'm not sure what is going on..

    Something weird.. only happened once so far.
     
  10. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    My clock speeds are never correct until I set them to default with a separate program. They are off by only 2 to 6 mhz though.. But still.
     
  11. scottyk87

    scottyk87 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It seems clearing the bf2 cache helped some. For people that don't know its in My Documents\Battlefield 2\mods\bf2\cache and then delete the contents of the folder in there. Do not delete the folders just the contents of them. Each folder is 1 profile I believe.
     
  12. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,434
    Likes Received:
    2,355
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Just got home and just saw the new updated drivers. Downloading now......


    Since reading through the posts I'll wait to install these until a few more people get a chance to try them out. I'm not eager to deal with miscalculated timings and other conflicts tonight. :sigh:
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2005
  13. Canon20d

    Canon20d New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    anyone got some good comparisons, lotta work for like .5fps :) i might wait till omega 5.9/6.0 =D
     
  14. Dannyb0y

    Dannyb0y New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've got that issue with the Control Panel and ATT not registering with each other aswell.. kinda annoying as i normally do everything through ATT.
     
  15. AwOsReN

    AwOsReN New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i've been using the official 5.8 drivers because i've been waiting for the new omegas and now that i've tried these out i have to say there is a huge improvement with these ones.. in counter-strike: source on the official 5.8 drivers i was getting 119.80 FPS and now with the new omegas i'm getting 146.89 FPS with all setting up to the highest.. and every game including battefield 2 runs even smoother.. great drivers omega, keep up the good work!!
     
  16. FnF

    FnF New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Anyone having some real benchmark results from BF2, and then DHZer0point 5.8 Beta vs Omega 5.8 vs official cats?
     
  17. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I totally cleaned out my drivers for a second time- although the new driver cleaner leaves some CCC files behind I found.. Some of the CCC themes and the file they are in. I cleaned them out.

    DC on safe mode- etc etc... Reinstalled Omegas and I didn't get the artifact after installation..

    I ran a few quick tests and now my 3dmark score are only 50 points slower instead of 1000... They look smoother though. I will have to test out some games to see what's up.. 3dmark means nothing unless it's WAY off like it was.

    One more thing, the clock rates are still off.. If I use Ati Tool it complains that alternate pixel center is turned on too.. That is without loading ATI Tray Tools..

    Something is still going on, not sure what.
     
  18. Partizan

    Partizan Fun loving criminal

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,180
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Omega thanks for the drivers, been waiting for them for sooooo long.

    Regards, Partizan

    P.S. Advertising links on your site are screwed Omega. I always get an error message:
    Microsoft OLE DB Provider for SQL Server error '80040e57'

    String or binary data would be truncated.

    /includes/addHits.asp, line 91




     
  19. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,434
    Likes Received:
    2,355
    Trophy Points:
    153
    OK....I couldn't hold off and went ahead and installed these. :)

    I ran 3DMark2K5 and got almost the EXACT same score as with the official CAT 5.8s. In fact, without overclocking, my last three scores have been: 4871, 4872, and (with Omega's) 4871. I don't ever recall getting such consistent scores over a period of time like this.

    Compare link for this test: http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm05=1213981
     
  20. zerra

    zerra Bikini Bottom Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    same here with 3dmark05.
    5686 points with the ati 5.8 set
    5688 points with the omega 5.8 set

    but i have to test some games too.... :)
     

Share This Page

visited