Radeon Omega Drivers v2.5.58 (Cat 4.7)

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by Omegadrive, Jul 17, 2004.

  1. BMG_Cya=-

    BMG_Cya=- Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Kind of off/on topic here.

    I aven't had a chance to try these out yet...but I notice that in NFSU for PC...the Menu screens won't AA...yet the game
    itself will. Is this a problem with the game...Cats...Omega 4.6's?

    I doubt if it's the card driver's fault...but just wanted to clarify I guess.

    BTW...appreciate your work Omega...Have a good one.
     
  2. Nond

    Nond New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Pretty happy with my results from 3DMark03

    from 4050 (Catalyst 4.7) to 5712 (Omega 4.7)
     
  3. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,827
    Likes Received:
    1,731
    Trophy Points:
    138
    well omega.. i might be willing to do bittorent and FTP servering for a bit soon.... After numerous calls to shaw.... alot of complaining on my part.... and finally some people that paid attention to me.... they finally realized there is something wrong with my connection.... i'm currently running at 1/50th my potential.... however... i splurged and got a booster... now i'll be spitting out 400 times what i'm doing... My upload is now going to be flipping fast....
     
  4. MindlessOath

    MindlessOath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this is a game problem. i do know that when u use turbos AA doesnt work, and hell it should be dissabled. i just wouldnt use AA for that game at all.
     
  5. tornado=[GSW]=

    tornado=[GSW]= Compulsive HW Monger

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2003
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I never thought I would say this but I am skipping the Omegas this once, I am comfortable with the Unians they are sooo good, anyways good work Omega as always and hope to see ur 4.8s first :)
     
  6. psychlone

    psychlone M3A32-MVP GURU

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    MAJOR problems with 4.7 Omegas

    I just downloaded the 4.7 Omegas (have ALWAYS used Omegas, back to the 3.1's)
    After installing as usual, and rebooting, I have encountered a strange problem...
    The desktop, icons, and EVERY folder I open, opens like a 56K dial-up surfing the web...seems that everything the card tries to render, it renders VERY slowly! - Also, tried to open ATITool and rithdribl, to a DX error, saying that I have a limited functionality card in my system (??) Same with 3DMark03...some DX Error.
    Did a System Restore back to earlier today, and everything's back to normal. (After, of course, reinstalling 4.7's and uninstalling them, then reinstalling the 4.6's) This is probably some rogue registry setting left behind...that's why the System Restore fixed it.

    Maybe someone has an idea?

    Psychlone

    Windows XP Home +SP1 +SP2
     
  7. Omegadrive

    Omegadrive Drivers? What Drivers???

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: MAJOR problems with 4.7 Omegas

    See the important notes in the readme. ;)

    BTW, your SIG is too big, please fix this, read the forum rules.
     
  8. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Maybe you need try tuneup stuff ;) hehe
     
  9. Bracol7

    Bracol7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am running 3.0Ghz, 1 gig ram, radeon 9600 mobility.

    Many people had this problem in the last release so I just went back 1 set in hopes that this next release would fix the problem... which it obviously hasn't. When I try to play a video the audio will play and the first second of visual. Then player window will lock up but audio will continue. I cannot close the window. If I attempt to end task the whole computer freezes. By turning my hardware acceleration down about three notches I am able to watch the video without the freezing but it looks fairly bad, with most seperate images with a sort of white mask around them. Reverting back 2 driver sets completly fixes this problem.
     
  10. Omegadrive

    Omegadrive Drivers? What Drivers???

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,526
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, some people have reported this very same problem several times, and it seems to be a bug in the Catalyst version (4.6 and 4.7) of the drivers that is causing this since it also happens to people using the Mobility Modder with the normal ATI drivers.
    I can't reproduce the error since I don't have a laptop to test it, but those of you having this problem, please type in your system specs to see if I can nail it down or to see if it is a specific problem with one type of Mobility card.

    Thanks!
     
  11. Suxor

    Suxor New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Cool thx time to install then :D
     
  12. DyceFreak

    DyceFreak Whooshinator 2000

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Perfect, as per usual.

    Thanks omega drive, ill spread the word.
     
  13. MindlessOath

    MindlessOath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: MAJOR problems with 4.7 Omegas

    use drivercleaner and read the directions (link in my sig) see if that helps any. i would also suggest to install your motherboard drivers, as they usually have the AGP port driver (or whatever).

    hope that helps ya. EDIT:
    here is what it says in omega's thing....
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2004
  14. DosCervezas

    DosCervezas New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I do not benchmark so do not ask for scores. Here is what I have noticed:

    1. Install was seamless.
    2. TAA is farking amazing. Still messing with different AF/AA settings to see how high I can go without loosing FPS.
    3. IQ is best yet.
    4. Tested on RTCW and COD. Both look amazing with TAA enabled. No loss of fps with TAA enabled.
    5. Normal Windows IQ seems a bit better.
    6. Overall I would say this is Omega's best work to date. Gotta give ATI kudos for supplying the base, but Omega sure does know how to make a good driver even better.

    GG Omega!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  15. AshG

    AshG Gadget Life Owner

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  16. SchwarzeFeen

    SchwarzeFeen New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Man ive been waiting for this! I want to thank you for the awesome drivers, and i want to know why ATI hasnt offered you a job for helping on their drivers?!
    Also, I love your sig psychlone!! ManoWar is awesome! haha:D
     
  17. CrapolaJola

    CrapolaJola The Great DaK

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Windows IQ seems better? Ahh I love the placebo effects.
     
  18. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
  19. psychlone

    psychlone M3A32-MVP GURU

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Re: MAJOR problems with 4.7 Omegas

    SIG Fixed.

    Now, to the issue at hand...
    I've read and reread everything in the ReadMe, and tried #8 (Mobo AGP Drivers) several different ways, to no avail.
    I've tried DriverCleaner (Safe-Mode and Windows) after each uninstall/reinstall and still have the same problem.
    Looked at SmartGART tab EVERY time and it defaults to 8X, just like every other Omega driver I've used...Also reinstalled the 4.24 nForce drivers multiple times, retested EVERY time (this has been hours of work!)
    I'm back at the 2551's without ANY error whatsoever.
    So, any OTHER suggestions?
    I really like Omega drivers better than any others, and I've been a faithful user since the 3.1's (first ATI card) and definately think that these are the best out there...but I can't use the newest ones for some resason or other.

    HELP Please!

    Psychlone
     
  20. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    when was last time you format bud?
     

Share This Page

visited