Radeon Omega Drivers v2.5.90 (8.07 Beta)

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by Omegadrive, Oct 2, 2004.

  1. stealthdiamond

    stealthdiamond New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have been having a general problem with my laptop

    for no apparent reason my video card will lock when i run any game that uses directx 9, this means it will start games like war3 and doom3 but will shortly crash afterwards, it can be anywhere between 2 - 10 minutes

    i ran the directx test and the direct3d test is really screwed up


    under the directx files tab i get this message

    The file directx.cpl is an old version, which could cause problems.


    the video card does not act up besides just these two games, i have restored the computer from scratch and gotten the same message

    any help as to what i can do?

    i have mobility radeon 9000 video card
     
  2. wpritch

    wpritch New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I notice that fsaa "application preference" does not work with many OpenGl programs, using the "normal" OpneGL driver, however when I swap to the older OpenGl driver everything works as in previous versions.

    I have not had any problems in the install.

    Computer:
    Operating System Microsoft Windows XP Professional
    OS Service Pack Service Pack 2
    CPU Type Intel Pentium 4HT, 3066 MHz (5.75 x 533)
    Motherboard Name Asus P4G8X (5 PCI, 1 AGP Pro, 4 DIMM)
    Motherboard Chipse Intel Granite Bay E7205
    System Memory 1024 MB (DDR SDRAM)
    Video Adapter RADEON 9700 PRO (Omega 2.5.90) (128 MB)
    Video Adapter RADEON 9700 PRO Secondary (Omega 2.5.90) (128 MB)
    3D Accelerator ATI Radeon 9700 Pro (R300)
    Monitor Samsung SyncMaster 190T/191T/195T/MagicSyncMaster CX195T(Digital)
     
  3. Nyana

    Nyana New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @ Omega can you please put back the Color-Tab in your next set ?
     
  4. MEABeemer

    MEABeemer C-Groove StreetFighter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried it.
    Didn't work.

    Thanx anyway!
     
  5. NaXX

    NaXX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Will the Omega driver work for my Ati Radeon 9800 XL 128mb???

    or should I just use Catalyst 4.9?

    BTW
    I am new here so, Hi all!

    NaXX
     
  6. Ringosis

    Ringosis New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'd also like to request that the colour tab is replaced.
     
  7. electrohunter

    electrohunter New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    problems since Radeon Omega Drivers v2.5.90 (8.07 Beta)

    Hi,

    just wanna tell you my bad experiences with the omega drivers.

    I installed em cause I got problems with star wars: battlefront (mainly when switching from game to desktop via Alt + Tab).
    But now i have more debug crashes then before, so i wanted to get rid of the drivers. But now I`m not even to isntall any catalyst drivers.
    All drivers tell me that I don`t have a compatible card in my system.

    I deinstalled every entry of my radeon 9800 pro card, used the removal tool from here and now not even the vga standard drivers are installable.

    I get the message: Cannot install the Hardware ... access denied ...

    I never ever had such a problem. Seems the omega drivers really change an important thing that can`t be undone :-(

    Yes, I`m logged in with administrator rights
    Yes, I have SP2 on XP Pro

    didn`t had problems with other things or games since these omega ones :-(

    please help
     
  8. MEABeemer

    MEABeemer C-Groove StreetFighter

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2004
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sounds like a problem similar to mine (on my little brother's rig)!
     
  9. Twysted

    Twysted New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First post...

    I have been using Omega Drivers since the fall of 2000 I think.. or there about anyways.. was a GeForce fan right up intill I bought a 5600. I have also been reading these forums for quite some time.. just never had a reason to post.. untill now.

    First let me thank Angel for all the hard work we enjoy with the drivers. They have ALWAYS been top notch performers.

    Second, I just had to post on the AMAZING performance increase with this last set based on the cat 4.11 betas.

    My previous top Aqua score was just over 44,000 with the exact setup in my sig. Here is a link to what these drivers have done for my rig, http://arc.aquamark3.com/arc/arc_view.php?run=416966810


    Also... I must agree with others here about game performance, FarCry drastically improved in both quality and smoothness, much more enjoyable now.


    I had the install problems with the CP at first but a quick uninstall/delete of everything ATI related, safe mode/driver cleaner, reinstall fixed it for me, just lucky I guess.
     
  10. DJSilverBack

    DJSilverBack New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Laptop Memory

    Hiya,

    Well Ive just ordered my 1GB 400DDR RAM, I hope its gonna be as good as some of you have told me, Ill be testing it tomorrow hopefully and I will post the results. Hopefully increased FPS, would be lovely

    Cheers

    SilverBack
     
  11. JohnnyFu

    JohnnyFu New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    same problem with v2.50.90, i´m using cs opengl driver, vsync on = does not work. uninstalling, cleaning, installing.... stilll the same problem.

    is there no workaround ?
     
  12. PieceKeepr

    PieceKeepr New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I apparently wasn't clear enough. I meant that the extra steps (empty recycle bin, dump Norton protected files, defrag) take less than a minute, not the entire uninstall/reinstall. Since you asked though, I am using the latest version of Diskeeper (8.0.478.0), but I never let my drives get heavily fragmented either.

    Omegadrive, I understand what you are saying and hope that is the case here. It just seems some are putting a lot of emphasis on the cleaning and installing procedures, and I think I did all that right.

    The graphics definitly looked better with the new driver for the few minutes it ran. I will wait for the final version and try again. Thanks for all your hard work.

    MEABeemer, sorry it didn't work. When I uninstalled the graphics card from the device manager and rebooted it worked for me. I am out of ideas.
     
  13. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Hi, your sig is too big.
     
  14. wilflare

    wilflare New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Installed it for a couple of days.
    Worked fine but had a couple of glitches at first.
    Something to do with Radlinker.
    Had to remove all previous custom settings and set them again.

    One note:
    I disabled ATi Smart and installed this set over my old omegas.
    Upon bootup, AGP Acceleration was off.

    Was only fixed after I uninstalled the entire driver.
    And reinstalled the new Omegas proper.
     
  15. lockves

    lockves New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No problems here :) . This new set of drivers are working excellent so far.

    Thanks a lot for mentioning me in Readme. It was a very cool surprise... very unexpected:) :) :)
     
  16. eXtermia

    eXtermia New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :confused: My biggest issue is that my 9600 Mobility (64megs) has a problem where I can not turn off my second display. (external vga or svideo) IT isn't enabled in the main properties (it is greyed out). I can enable it and use it but my problem is that not that but rather that I cant get it to only show one display (no greyed out just one single display).


    I used to play NeverWinter Nights (open GL based game) but only when one dispaly was an option. Now I start it the gmae shows fine for about .5 seconds then all interaction other then the menues freezes. The 2d menus stay but all 3d rendered objects dissapear. :( I used to be able to only activate the internal LCD and no other displays showed up. Once doing this the game was playable.

    does anyone have a clue to why this might be (using the latest build of the Omegas)

    eX
     
  17. swatX

    swatX ba|\|\|ed

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    618
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    damn this thread is going off the roof!!!
     
  18. Arnd

    Arnd New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    i tried the wmv acceleration. Basically the feature works.
    BUT after closing the windows mediaplayer the following effects occur:

    - The system process gets 99% cpu load
    - It is not possible to shutdown the pc
    - The cpu gets hotter and hotter, because of the system process with 99% cpu load
    - from now it is not possible to play a wmv file. It is extremely sloooow


    It seems that a kernel driver is in an endless loop.

    Therefore wmv acceleration is not useable :-(.

    With wmv acceleration disabled everything works fine.

    Also i have the problem with the old versioned directx.cpl. Maybe reinstalling the sp2 helps.

    Regards

    Arnd

    My Configuration:

    Windows XP SP2
    Commell LV-671NSMA
    Pentium M 755 2.0GHz
    ATI Mobility Radeon 9600 (64MB)
     
  19. quakerjtf

    quakerjtf New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    These drivers are awesome. With 3Dmark2005 1.1, I got a 5049. Got it on normal AI, no installation, or post installation problems.
     
  20. MindlessOath

    MindlessOath New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you must install windows media player 10 this can be aquired from microsoft, or www.windowsupdate.com (using internet explorer of course).

    if this doesnt help, disable WMV accleration in the options of the control panel section. its suppose to lower your CPU usage using the new media player and only the new media player, this is what the feature was made for, tho obviously this is a bug, the installer itself should check the registry and decide based on the users settings (if they have WMP 10 installed) to have the checkmark checked or not, and a note in the read me or something.

    (hint hint omega :p just a suggestion, shouldnt be hard to do, nor does it have to be, but it would help with all the support questions etc).

    but keep in mind it is a beta driver still guys.
     

Share This Page

visited