Rate Catalyst 5.3 (CCC only)

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by redsolar, Mar 9, 2005.

?

Rate Catalyst 5.3 (CCC Only)

  1. 10

    4 vote(s)
    7.4%
  2. 9

    4 vote(s)
    7.4%
  3. 8

    10 vote(s)
    18.5%
  4. 7

    9 vote(s)
    16.7%
  5. 6

    6 vote(s)
    11.1%
  6. 5

    2 vote(s)
    3.7%
  7. 4

    7 vote(s)
    13.0%
  8. 3

    1 vote(s)
    1.9%
  9. 2

    4 vote(s)
    7.4%
  10. 1

    7 vote(s)
    13.0%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. redsolar

    redsolar Off duty

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You all should know how to do this by now. On the scale from 1 to 10 with 1 being worst, 10 being best rate the latest and greatest Catalyst 5.3 (CCC only)

    Download Catalyst 5.3 (CCC) here
    Please only rate if you have installed it, and have a reason to rate it the way you did :).
    Discuss anything besides your ratings here
     
  2. Warpy

    Warpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,762
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Were is the news for these drivers?
     
  3. farmeunit

    farmeunit New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. LDBlues

    LDBlues New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So.......is it worth downloading.....or should we stick to regular control panel (I have a feeling that the ccc still blows).
     
  5. Rosco[CoF]

    Rosco[CoF] New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Rock solid, the CCC even helped me get a 99.74fps in the CS Stress Test!:w00t:

    The 5.3 drivers and CCC are the best yet!
     
  6. J0rs

    J0rs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The CCC couldnt install correctly on my computer for some reason.
     
  7. farkas

    farkas IT Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I like 'em

    So far so good, the best one since 4.12 which I found were mostly stable and fast.

    I gave it a 6, and that's good, it just needs more work IN general.

    About the contreversial memory or speed impact, well this one is probably the best so far, and the only one that does not seem slugish since my fav's 4.12 as well.

    Since my card does not have much headroom for OC on air, I have been looking for a version of Driver/CCC that has overall good image and stability with decent performance to stick with.

    This version (5.3) seems like my 1st adoption of CCC :)

    PS : I have been using .NET 2.0 Beta ever since it's been available alongside ATI's CCC different versions.
     
  8. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,716
    Likes Received:
    1,361
    Trophy Points:
    123
    7 for now.. until I can figure out what registry setting effects the CCC now that ATI has moved everything around. There are almost 10+ exact registry instances of a certain setting now, and they are all over the place. Not centralized like before... oh well.. when I do.. maybe an 8.

    - Tip
     
  9. Chocolla

    Chocolla New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    HMM~. The Theator Mode(in CLONE mode) still can't work when Display Rotated 90゜.
    But, i am use "Extend Main to TV" to Playback Film (DUAL mode) is worked perfect ..

    I Hope Next Ver of CCC will have much HOTKEY of TV-OUT MODE.
    SUCH as Toggle TV overscan or not , Video Mode or not & "Enable Extend Main to TV"(not only Enable Clone mode)

    I also Want the Display2 (TV) can automatic playback the fullscreen overlay movie (such as NV-Driver).
     
  10. UnTouchAble

    UnTouchAble New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Argh, I'm voting it 2 because the gamma is STILL not fixed, source(hl2) gamma does not go back to desktop gamma!

    fix this plllllzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz!
     
  11. Robert McClelland

    Robert McClelland I'm An Uncle for 2nd time Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    15,327
    Likes Received:
    255
    Trophy Points:
    108
    I'm giving them a 6 because OD doesn't work on my video card still errrr
     
  12. farkas

    farkas IT Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Changed my mind

    I would of put a 4 if I would of known that NFSU2, RTW, Farcry seem slower.

    Basically it's like if it is sluggish
    Image quality is noticeably lower with AI vs using Radlinker to toggle it.

    Aside from that, the interface is slightly cleaner and improved for loading speed, but it's like if CCC could use a dual core CPU to run smoothly along a game. in 2D it's fine but 3D, makes my gaing experience less enjoyable.

    My last pet peve is CCC seems inconsistent. I never had problems installing it (to my knowledge) but it seems like one version runs smoothly but keeps crashing cause of the driver bundled, or the CCC runs nicely in games with the driver, but adds some sort of weight to the GPU when in games.

    regards
    farkas
     
  13. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,716
    Likes Received:
    1,361
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Are you using the DVI connection? If so, by default the ATI drivers (at least with this one) check on both 'Reduce DVI frequency...' and 'Alternate DVI mode' in the Digital Panel Properties/Options panel. Uncheck them both, and see if that corrects thing. 'Reduce DVI' SHOULD NOT be on at all unless you have a problem with your LCD, so I'm still trying to figure out why ATI has it 'ON' by default.

    - Tip
     
  14. UnTouchAble

    UnTouchAble New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ahh will try, thx
     
  15. popeye

    popeye New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is new to me. I have the DVI connection, why should I uncheck these? What will it do? What kind of problems could there be? Thanks for the info! Advice appreciated.

     
  16. Son_of_Thunder

    Son_of_Thunder New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,441
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lower game performance was the reason i uninstalled the 5.2 ccc, w/ them i actually had drops down to 32 fps in cs:s, w/out the ccc it only dropped to about 80 in the same spot.

    so thank you, now i know not to upgrade to this new one yet.
     
  17. redsolar

    redsolar Off duty

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There should not be any, unless you are running display resolution 1600x1200@60Hz and above or 1280x1024@75Hz, yet even then problems happen pretty rarely (I run mine at 1280x1024@75 and have no issues unchecking them). The problem is - when your cable quality is not high enough, you will be experiencing display corruption. So those settings reduce the load on the cable to eliminate such artefacts.
     
  18. LDBlues

    LDBlues New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I really don't like the ccc. I installed the 5.3 driver with it and found out it's doing the same thing since the 4.11 version.....in cod:uo it studders when playing multiplayer. While playing it see like a series of lag spikes....but it not the connection...it's caused by the ccc :hmm: I know this because the same driver version works great with the regular control panel...but with the ccc i get this erratic game play. Like I said, it's been this way since 4.11, I don't know if it has something to do with punkbuster, but this is very annoying :mad: I give this version of the ccc a 2....it has plenty of potential....but from my experince it doesn't get the job done as well as the tried and true regular control panels. Why ATI decieded to go this way with their drivers I'll never understand. When ATI deciedes to make the ccc manditory...I'll be throwing this 9600 in the trash and I'm gonna buy a nvidia card :(
     
  19. Jitter

    Jitter Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    This version seems to be the best that I used, although I got rid of .NET 2.0 beta and reinstalled 1.1.43 so I dunno if thats why or not? It still takes a while to load up,but this version hasnt crashed on me or anything yet. I still dont think this is very useful and a waste of space and memory. I still prefer ATI tray tools though and will prob go back to that.
     
  20. popeye

    popeye New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks. New to LCD monitor. Is it better to run the monitor at 60 or 70 mz? Thanks.

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

visited