Rate Catalyst 6.2 (Driver only)

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by HardwareHeaven, Feb 9, 2006.

?

Rate Catalyst 6.2 (Driver only)

  1. 10 (awesome)

    7 vote(s)
    12.7%
  2. 9

    13 vote(s)
    23.6%
  3. 8

    5 vote(s)
    9.1%
  4. 7

    9 vote(s)
    16.4%
  5. 6

    6 vote(s)
    10.9%
  6. 5

    3 vote(s)
    5.5%
  7. 4

    1 vote(s)
    1.8%
  8. 3

    2 vote(s)
    3.6%
  9. 2

    4 vote(s)
    7.3%
  10. 1 (garbage)

    5 vote(s)
    9.1%
  1. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    yes you know the drill by now, vote!
     
  2. Knacki99

    Knacki99 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    6 - again a mediocre maintenance release.

    STILL NO QUAKE 4 ULTRA MODE FIX - come on guys Q4 is a triple A title. If it's no Catalyst issue then inform your users that Raven/id need to patch the game.

    Update: score 7.5 under these circumstances

    The drivers seem to be optimized quite a bit for 1k series. 3DMark06, although its only a sythetic benchmark scores 300 points higher. Details:
    5.13 6.2
    SM2.0 1762 1957
    SM3.0 1820 1998
    CPU 992 994

    Tested on:
    P4 3.2 Prescott @ 3.4
    X1800XT PE
    2048 DDR 2.5 3 3 6
    DX 9.0c Feb 2006
    XP Pro Sp2
     
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2006
  3. buddydog12

    buddydog12 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No problems yet,no performance or image quality improvements ethier.
     
  4. kelticknight

    kelticknight DriverHeaven Knight

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    `didnt see any difference in bf2 with these
     
  5. IamLakota

    IamLakota New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I gave them a 2 they dont seem any different than the 6.1's.
     
  6. Hunt3r

    Hunt3r New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I still cannot publish 3dmark scores, is it just me? :confused:
    It displays my graphics chipset as generic VGA. Here is a Pic of my results, they seem fairly on-par.

    [​IMG]

    Thank You in advance for any input :)

    It was an orb/futuremark issue that was resolved :cool:
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2006
  7. Alien1

    Alien1 Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am not that pleased with these set...

    I give 7

    It mostly benefits X1900 series in some point (i am soon going ot have one or a Geforce 7900)
    and only a couple of game fixes while introducing some new problems in others (not serious ones fortunately)



    I hope ATI release 6.3 soon


    ( And still the 7800GTX 512 with latest forceware remains a very competitive card with the X1900XTX in most games....i was hoping with 6.2 the X1900XTX would kicked it's a$$ :sigh: )
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2006
  8. cswiger

    cswiger New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I gave it a seven, too. The driver seems OK, and I get better benchie scores but I've just updated my RAM, too, so I don't know how much is one versus the other:

    AquaMark: 51181
    3DMark 2003: 9492
    3DMark 2005: 4894
    CSS VST: 84.76 (!) 4xAA, 8x HQ aniso, all options on max except vsync off.

    Sweeeet! I haven't broken 50K in AQ before, and CSS is way up there, too. But I needed to mark ATI down a bit for closing a PR about missing triangles in X3 (something to do with "vertex size optimization" option in X3 1.3.2beta) without actually solving anything.

    "We couldn't easily reproduce the issue" when there's a dozen or more people and dxdiags available is a lame response. Kudos to Egosoft instead for going a bit farther trying to reproduce the issue by producing multiple binaries for those affected to test with.
     
  9. petri1

    petri1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep a 10!!!!
    these are fraps recorded benchmark of a battle in COD2 D-day

    Frames, Time (ms), Min, Max, Avg
    30773, 591801, 20, 105, 51.999

    well 5.13-6.1 didn´t give me this good a gameplay

    so i am pleased with these....actually keep´em until 6.3 comes around hopefully some FEAR COD2 and NFS Mostwanted optimizations since none of these have been maentioned at all in realese notes since they came out so ATI CAt crew do something about these games if possible that is of course:w00t::drool:[​IMG]:rofl:
     
  10. Kiwegapa

    Kiwegapa New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Only two issues with these drivers so far... Setting Mipmap Quality to anything less than Quality results in white screens during the airship test in 3DMark06 on my HIS X1900 XTX.


    In DAZ Studio (www.daz3d.com) the program detects all Catalysts since 5.12 as having no hardware anti-aliasing. It also doesn't detect the 4096x4096 texture capability of the X1900, but that could be the program itself.
     
  11. The_Neon_Cowboy

    The_Neon_Cowboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    16,076
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    73
    That becouse as I under stand the Quake 4 ultra mode problem is "GAME BUG"
    meaning the devolpers probubly need to patch it for it to be fixed.
     
  12. kelticknight

    kelticknight DriverHeaven Knight

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,095
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    worst set of drivers l have used in a while,gone back to 5.13
    getting black screens freezes ,the lot
     
  13. elf-heaven

    elf-heaven New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Remove Video Mode !
    I can't use my TV Out, since 5.11.
    Back to 5.10 :x
     
  14. ezechiele2517

    ezechiele2517 New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, I have a question: I have a X800XT PE, I have installed the 6.2 only drivers and Ati Tray tools I want know If in ati tray tools\Hardware\SmartGart I have all ON : AGP 8x, Fast Write ON,AGP Write ON, AGP Read ON,, PCI Write ON,PCI Read ON...It's ok or I have to disable some of the previous options as PCI Write or PCI Read??? Or I leave alls ON??
    thank
     
  15. petri1

    petri1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well don´t know why you guys hvae issues with so many driver sets since i never get BSOD´s Black screens nada nothin works like charm but perhaps it is a question of wich game we all play i play mostly COD2 FEAR NFS most wanted what i don´t play is WOW and suchs games RTS sure when somethin good comes last i played was Act of War perhaps not the best game but cool

    well hope it solves for ya in the long run

    have a nice day ya all
     
  16. Lowfat

    Lowfat Xtreme

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My vote goes to a 1. All this time I was putting blame on the fact that I switched to a Pentium 4. When in reality is was the 6.2 Cats. I scored a good 800 points in 3dmark05 when i went with the Cat 5.5's instead.
     
  17. twistedpain183

    twistedpain183 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i voted 8 because of the quake 4 deal... wish it was better but it runs decent for meh so i dont complain! :)
     

Share This Page

visited