Roadee's Fastest Rig Competition Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by WildChild, Mar 18, 2004.

  1. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    well, you might have a shot at beating me. it's mid-summer here, and hot as hell. I doubt i can't OC pretty high because of the heat. also, i haven't done any OCing of my machine for benchmarking in like a year, so i don't know how well my machine will be able to OC now.

    i did OC my machine shortly after getting my OCZ sticks just to see how well it would do, and that's how i found out they were crap compared to my corsair sticks w/TCCD chips ;).

    what would you like to benchmark me against? let me know and i'll compete w/you :cool:
     
  2. Lowfat

    Lowfat Xtreme

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I feel your heatwave pain too :( I was hoping for a 4GHz benchable speed here, but with 35C weather it just isn't possible anymore :(
     
  3. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    yea, 35c is a bit warm. that's been the average here for the past week or so with the exeption of two days where it was ~30c. but, it's not even the hottest part of the year here in my area. that's still to come.

    can't wait for august, nothing but heat! [/sarcasm]
     
  4. RoyBatty

    RoyBatty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    115
    Trophy Points:
    73
    OK, here are some scores. I don't have a pcmark05 score because I can't get it working properly...
    I did the benchamarks with Hyperthreading enabled/disabled. Everything runs faster with HT enabled except 3dm06, which is actually slower.

    3dmark05 cpu score - HT on/off: 4413/4267
    3dmark06 cpu score - HT on/off: 814/1015
    3dmark05 score - HT on/off: 4445/4391
    3dmark06 score - HT on/off: 1913/1972

    And finaly one real world benchmark - Blender rendering
    Download test.blend (101 KB): http://www.eofw.org/bench/test.blend?PHPSESSID=18192144167476764d322789d0f9d686
    and SSE2 optimized Blender (11.8 MB): http://www.graphicall.org/builds/builds/showbuild.php?action=show&id=419
    It doesn't need to be installed and it uses its home dir only. Just extract the archive and run.
    Open test.blend, set Threads to 2 and hit F12.

    My render time is 1:54.80.

    BTW, the weather here is hot too. Todays temps are ~35°C, should be 38 tomorrow. I have 28°C in my room right now and it's getting hotter :dead:
     
  5. ChaosMinionX

    ChaosMinionX USB 3 dot oh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,899
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    T-3days until my scores arrive :)....quadcore to come on the 22nd :)
     
  6. brutusmaximus

    brutusmaximus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    wow, nice avatar lowfat. :w00t:
     
  7. ChaosMinionX

    ChaosMinionX USB 3 dot oh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,899
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah low, Im thinking that will look good myself :p:rofl:
     
  8. Asmoday

    Asmoday Demonic

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,157
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Come on guys the first trophies are handed out, now lets see some more enterings in the other classes too, and some challengers to the current holders. :)
     
  9. Zelig

    Zelig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    58
    PCMark05 fails the transparent windows test, can't figure out why.

    Clean boot, no programs open, latest non-beta WHQL drivers, and it doesn't give any error messages, other than displaying as "failed" in the summary. :(
     
  10. ChaosMinionX

    ChaosMinionX USB 3 dot oh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,899
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    bad overclocking can make it fail as well.
     
  11. Zelig

    Zelig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Fails with everything at stock as well.

    I'm real picky about stability in any case, spent about a week solid running tests on my current config to verify stability.
     
  12. ChaosMinionX

    ChaosMinionX USB 3 dot oh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,899
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thats odd that it keeps failing.... I have never had that happen, only fails audio/video compression when i dont give the proc enough juice and its running above 4ghz.
     
  13. Lowfat

    Lowfat Xtreme

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try to take it :) I can always try and clock higher.
     
  14. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    my latest 3Dmark scores are in my siggy. i haven't run these benches ever since i first got my x1950pro. i haven't run it w/HT turned off though. i also need to run the tests you provided me.
     
  15. petri1

    petri1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is it allowed to disable postprocessing in 3dmark05 and 06 and also in 06 to lower resolution to 1024x768 for me it seems fairer as both 03 05 uses 1024x768 and 06 1280x1024

    i haven´t enterd any of this kind before i mean isn´t the thing to get a high score so wouldn´t be allowed to tweak 3dmark as well?

    well i´m not sure but i guess everything has to be default to get a valid entry?

    i have no orb account and so on never cared to create one do i need that aswell?
     
  16. Asmoday

    Asmoday Demonic

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,157
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Tampering with any settings in the benchmarks isn't allowed, and yes you need an Orb account.
     
  17. petri1

    petri1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok got it

    i´ll try and see what happens
    :)
     
  18. petri1

    petri1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @Asmoday since it is my first try and go i entered the INtel Stock competition can you check that my entry is valid so i haven´t spent all day testing and at the end it is all i vain?

    like i said it is my first go at this :)
     
  19. Asmoday

    Asmoday Demonic

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,157
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    58
    You have posted the wrong links to the results mate.
     
  20. petri1

    petri1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how do i post the right ones?

    edit:

    i think i got it now i checked and they linked to the results i intended to
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2007

Share This Page

visited