Roadee's Fastest Rig Competition Discussion Thread

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by WildChild, Mar 18, 2004.

  1. Asmoday

    Asmoday Demonic

    Joined:
    May 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,157
    Likes Received:
    41
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Oh crap! My bad....sorry petri1, he's right dx10 card is not allowed in stock. I totally forgot this, it has been a long week for me. Unfortunatly I will have to remove your avatar, once again sorry but you should have read the rules before entering.
     
    Just Learnin' likes this.
  2. Just Learnin'

    Just Learnin' New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Doh! [​IMG] I foresee some wicked nasty rep headed my way... [​IMG]
     
    Asmoday likes this.
  3. petri1

    petri1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well i didn´t find any intel stock for DX10 cards well well i still got a pretty good score ok i had my 15minutes of fame heheheh

    i did for the fun of it anyway

    is there any DX10 stock i can enter?

    forgot he he right is right if DX10 can´t enter stock then i did wrong no one to blame but me adn in any of the other classes i wouldn´t stand a chance :)
     
  4. Zelig

    Zelig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Got pcmark05 working...

    My visual settings weren't set to "Best appearence", but to "Custom", because everything was checked, I didn't think to check that until now.
     
  5. Just Learnin'

    Just Learnin' New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you get in your score in time to lose that stalwart looking avatar you are using now??
     
  6. Zelig

    Zelig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Nope, Bart1987 has it until next Sunday at least.

    Heh, the avatar I have now is a photo I took of myself and then ran through one of the default filters in the gimp.
     
  7. ChaosMinionX

    ChaosMinionX USB 3 dot oh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,899
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0

    You have more than a chance at getting an award for one of the other classes. However you wont be getting anything without some extensive overclocking.
     
  8. ChaosMinionX

    ChaosMinionX USB 3 dot oh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,899
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Soon as I get my quadcore.... I will be shooting for a score of about 16K :)

    EDIT: Lets see some more entries people! :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2007
  9. brutusmaximus

    brutusmaximus New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    some serious scores in here......
     
  10. Just Learnin'

    Just Learnin' New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    0
  11. ChaosMinionX

    ChaosMinionX USB 3 dot oh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,899
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Haha no way! ... Actually all that stuff seems to be based on driver revisions and what OS your running.

    For instance HD2900XT 1GB version benches alot better in Vista it seems, XP 32/64bit performance isnt there in terms of 2d transparent windows, and 2d graphics memory tests its severly lacking compared to 8800s in XP... But soon as you goto vista its a different ballgame, will be posting the comparison here shortly when I get vista ultimate x64 and my quadcore :)


    EDIT: Futuremark needs to release an x64 edition for vista/xp and same with x86..... The drivers from each company seem to be optimized better on one platform than another. What are you running now Just Learnin'?
     
  12. Just Learnin'

    Just Learnin' New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually right out of the box that card had issues! It had a squealing sound and artifacted. Since there isn't anything yet to beat it I am waiting for XFX to send me a new one. Got a message that it was faulty and will be replaced, am waiting for the old "A rep will contact you shortly to work out the details."
     
  13. ChaosMinionX

    ChaosMinionX USB 3 dot oh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,899
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ahh good stuff, now you need to go quadcore so we can compare the 2 cards in realtime programs :)
     
  14. Just Learnin'

    Just Learnin' New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sheesh! Save me a buck and drop in a dually 'k? :eek:
     
  15. ChaosMinionX

    ChaosMinionX USB 3 dot oh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,899
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can keep my dually in for benching :)
     
  16. Just Learnin'

    Just Learnin' New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If I went Quad I'd be looking at more exotic cooling to do any benching as well.
     
  17. ChaosMinionX

    ChaosMinionX USB 3 dot oh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,899
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Exotic, like using glacial water in a watercooling rig? :D

    EDIT: On a side note, should we have another category for those running quadcore and above? There is a clear advantage in 2 of the 3 benchmarks we use to determine this. Any thoughts?
     
  18. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    i agree! hmm....but some of those guys with QC might not be running DX10 cards though....a possibility. then, that would require four additional categores for each intel and AMD from what is currently available.

    so....single dx9 card quad-core intel, single dx10 card quad-core intel, dual card dx9 quad-core intel, dual card dx10 quad-core intel. and the same pattern would follow for AMD once they have their quad-core processors out in the mainstream market.

    wow, if this follows suit then this competition has evolved quite a bit since it first came about.
     
  19. Just Learnin'

    Just Learnin' New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    0

    For a quad? Methinks LN2 from the South of France might take the edge off. :D
     
  20. ChaosMinionX

    ChaosMinionX USB 3 dot oh

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,899
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, because quad dominates PCmark05 and 3dmark06.... they are optimized for quad.... There may be a need for more categories, but I think we need some more entries before we get new categories so it doesnt look like we just give the spots away :)
     

Share This Page

visited