Routing the kXSynths to kXASIO inputs

Discussion in 'Effects and the DSP' started by unaHm, Apr 28, 2012.

  1. unaHm

    unaHm New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dear all,

    I am attempting to make use of the kXProject drivers with an Audigy 2 ZS as an internal hardware sampler.

    I'm trying to route the wavetable outputs of the kXSynths (namely Synth 1) to the ASIO inputs so that I can eventually record the audio from the Synths into the DAW that I'm using.

    How would it be best for me to set up the FXBusX module, and the kXDSP?

    I'd really like to make use of the soundfont engine on the card, so I can alleviate some 'stress' on the CPU, which can in turn then be used for VST effects, applied to each track.

    My first thought was to use FXBusX to use a routing scheme like this:

    kXSynth 1, channel 1 -> FXBusX 1&2 -> ASIO 0&1
    kXSynth 1, channel 2 -> FXBusX 3&4 -> ASIO 2&3
    kXSynth 1, channel 3 -> FXBusX 5&6 -> ASIO 4&5
    kXSynth 1, channel 4 -> FXBusX 7&8 -> ASIO 6&7
    kXSynth 1, channel 5 -> FXBusX 9&10 -> ASIO 8&9
    kXSynth 1, channel 6 -> FXBusX 11&12 -> ASIO 10&11
    kXSynth 1, channel 7 -> FXBusX 13&14 -> ASIO 12&13
    kXSynth 1, channel 8 -> FXBusX 15&16 -> ASIO 14&15

    I've tried this, created a channel in my DAW to receive MIDI signals from my USB keyboard and route it to kXSynth 1, and then create another channel using ASIO inputs 0&1 to test the first two channels. So far I've not heard any sound, or seen any activity, which means I've probably done something wrong :)

    Please let me know what the best way of achieving this configuration would be. Thanks in advance!

    unaHm
     
  2. peate

    peate Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Just wondering, did you load a sound font in kX?
     
  3. unaHm

    unaHm New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did, yes - thanks for checking though!

    Although, with the 'default' configuration of the DSP and FXBus routing, I couldn't get any sound from the SoundFont either. Is there a known bug with the drivers and the Audigy 2 ZS? I noted that there were some problems with the card on the website, but it didn't mention anything regarding the Synths.
     
  4. peate

    peate Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I can only think of the synth slider on the main page of the mixer being muted, other than that, I'm not sure why you get no sound. Did you test with your USB keyboard or with a midi file?
     
  5. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,749
    Likes Received:
    1,521
    Trophy Points:
    138
    What OS are you running?
     
  6. unaHm

    unaHm New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2012
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Windows 7 32-bit.

    I managed to get the routing to work properly, by updating to version 3551. However, I'm running into other problems which I'll start another topic for.

    Thanks for your help!

    Dan
     

Share This Page

visited