Setup for flight simulator (X-Plane and future msfs 2020) plus Blender modeling

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by arb65912, Feb 25, 2020.

  1. Calliers

    Calliers Side hustle: Mayor of Kenja Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    50,890
    Likes Received:
    3,495
    Trophy Points:
    139
    You know, a lot of people can't find the money for a high end PC and a lot of people don't really need a crazy GPU, but for me PCs and gaming are my passion, my first love, so basically when it comes to building a new machine I spare no expense really lol. :D
     
    arb65912 likes this.
  2. arb65912

    arb65912 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Yes, I know, I was a lucky one but I really worked hard for that money, believe me, hundreds of hours, literally.

    I totally get it Calliers, passion and first love thing, I am quite the same and expenses do not matter as I want the best BUT... there are a hard limits to how much I could spend so I ended up with what you see.
     
  3. arb65912

    arb65912 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Progress report..... installed first "serious" software, flight simulator X-Plane.

    Nvidia Quadro K2000 has problems with higher setting, waiting for my 2080 Ti :D
     
    Calliers likes this.
  4. arb65912

    arb65912 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    43
    See how Nvidia Quadro K2000 struggles and settings are mild in the simulator...;)
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Calliers

    Calliers Side hustle: Mayor of Kenja Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    50,890
    Likes Received:
    3,495
    Trophy Points:
    139
    I've always found that where there is a will there is a way, you'll be surprised at how many mountains you can move if you really want something badly enough.
     
    arb65912 likes this.
  6. arb65912

    arb65912 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Yes, I agree Calliers. :)
     
    Calliers likes this.
  7. arb65912

    arb65912 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Well, I forgot to share something with you...
    I was removing stock cooler and .... see attached.
    I was so worried but all went well. :)
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,922
    Likes Received:
    1,112
    Trophy Points:
    138
    when removing PGA cpus... also get them nice and warm.... then before lifting, gently twist it back and forth before pulling STRAIGHT up...

    luckily doesn't appear any pins were lost.
     
    arb65912 likes this.
  9. arb65912

    arb65912 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Do you mean to run PC first for a bit and then remove? So paste gets warmer too?

    Yes, I forgot about twisting the heatsink .... it was intense but nothing was damaged , it seems so...
     
  10. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    38,922
    Likes Received:
    1,112
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Yes.... the thermal paste is extremely tacky stuff and it's intended purpose is to be the medium in which heat effectively transfers which means it's supposed to fill every crevice and pore it can in order to make it as effective as possible which means that it's akin to being glued down. Warming it up makes it more supple, pliable, soft. A good bit of a heavy cpu load would get the temps up... a shut down after and then a mild twist would break it loose quite easily without usually yanking the cpu out of the socket.
     
    Calliers and arb65912 like this.
  11. arb65912

    arb65912 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Thank you @Judas. I will sure know and apply the knowledge next time. :)
     
    Calliers likes this.
  12. Calliers

    Calliers Side hustle: Mayor of Kenja Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    50,890
    Likes Received:
    3,495
    Trophy Points:
    139
    So, how is the PC doing? It must be a purrin' like a kitten.
     
    arb65912 likes this.
  13. arb65912

    arb65912 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Not yet. This weekend the GPU gets replaced Quadro for EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 GAMING. :D
     
    Calliers likes this.
  14. Calliers

    Calliers Side hustle: Mayor of Kenja Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    50,890
    Likes Received:
    3,495
    Trophy Points:
    139
    I expect pics when it's up and running. :D
     
    arb65912 likes this.
  15. arb65912

    arb65912 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Yes Sir!!! I will post some when it is done. :);)
     
    Calliers likes this.
  16. arb65912

    arb65912 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    43
    I have a question for @Judas and all who would like to chip in......

    I have fans header (all of the fans as it came with the case) plugged in to the mobo.
    @Judas suggested that instead of using fan header with all fans plugged into one mobo socket, I could just plug in fans (2 front and 1 back) directly to mobo headers having independent control over them.

    What would be the advantage of doing that assuming I will not need to change to the water cooler after installing GPU ?
     
  17. Calliers

    Calliers Side hustle: Mayor of Kenja Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    50,890
    Likes Received:
    3,495
    Trophy Points:
    139
    You would be able to monitor the speeds of the different fans. That, and you would have more control over them.
     
    arb65912 likes this.
  18. arb65912

    arb65912 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    43
    That is what I expected to hear. Thank you.

    I guess I am going to wait till new GPU gets in and all runs a while with simulator and other programs and then we will see how CPU temperature holds.
    If it is too hot, I might have to get a water cooler.
    The question is how hot is too hot......:confused:
     
    Calliers likes this.
  19. Calliers

    Calliers Side hustle: Mayor of Kenja Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    50,890
    Likes Received:
    3,495
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Just let us know, although @Judas should be able to tell you. ;)
     
    arb65912 likes this.
  20. arb65912

    arb65912 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2017
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Absolutely!!! :)
     
    Calliers likes this.

Share This Page

visited