sound blaster 5.1 and windows 7 problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Picosierra, Jul 13, 2010.

  1. Picosierra

    Picosierra New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello, I´d installed window 7 32bits, and my soundblaster live 5.1 dead, then I installed kx 3550 drivers and ...........wow, its alive, but in winamp rears speakers don´t work. Testing speakers return me "failed to create sound", but testing in windows panel control all is ok. I tried to change to 5.1 front=rear in sourrander panel but don´t work. In control panel is master mixer the selected playback device.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,774
    Likes Received:
    1,555
    Trophy Points:
    138
    The KX speaker test doesn't work in Windows 7 or Vista.... that's a known issue so not part of your problem.

    Check the speaker setup in Windows audio panel (control panel) It may not be the same as what you have connected.
     
  3. Picosierra

    Picosierra New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you for your reply. I selected spdif/ac3 output In control panel as the selected playback device and surrounder speaker in 5.1-speaker mode and on-surround. All correct, thank you very much.
     
  4. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,774
    Likes Received:
    1,555
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Yeah, it's been found that SPDIF/AC3 works better in most instances than Master Mixer does....... more of a Windows flaw than anything else I think. Glad you got it working.
     
  5. RPGWiZaRD

    RPGWiZaRD New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yea SPDIF/AC3 for 5.1 setups, 4/5 for stereo/headphones IMO, Master Mixer should be avoided on Windows 7.
     
  6. Kermet

    Kermet New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AW: sound blaster 5.1 and windows 7 problem

    Hello,

    i had some problems with crackling noises and the surrounder did not expand stereo-sound to surround-speakers & subwoofer,
    so i just switched the default device from "Master" to "SPDIF/AC3".

    Now the crackling noises are gone and expanding stereo using the surrounder works fine, but now i've got anoger huge problem:

    The device "SPDIF/AC3" is only recognized by Windows 7 as "2 channel" instead of "8 channel" like the "Master"-device, and i can't change the setting as you can see on the attached screenshot.

    As result, i can't get any real 5.1 sound.

    Is ther a solution for this problem?

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Kermet

    Kermet New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,774
    Likes Received:
    1,555
    Trophy Points:
    138
    There is a speaker setup icon on the KX mixer page (looks like a little speaker with a ? next to it.) That should also be set to 5.1....... I no longer have Win7 and don't have surround either so I can't verify anything for you.
     
  9. RPGWiZaRD

    RPGWiZaRD New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I may be wrong but as long as you use spdif/ac3 output and select 5.1 speaker mode in Surrounder+ and set "surround = on" you should be set, no matter what Windows 7 sound settings show you as kX drivers aren't fully compatible with it yet, it's also using 48kHz rather than typical 44.1kHz sample rate in Windows 7 and the option is greyed out and can't be changed for example.

    Just test if 5.1 sound is working properly using some 5.1 demo samples from the net or something.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2010
  10. Kermet

    Kermet New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AW: sound blaster 5.1 and windows 7 problem

    @Tyrsonswood:
    Thanks, but of course i tried every possible setup of the speaker configuration in the surounder, this doesn't affect anything (when using SPDIF/AC3, with "Master" it is ok, but with Master the known other problems occur)

    @RPGWiZaRD: Of cours i testet with 5.1 demo vid and other stuff, i definitley get only stereo sound when using SPDIF/AC3. This stereo signal can be upmixed to multichannel using the options of the surrounder, but that's not real 5.1 sound.
     
  11. Kermet

    Kermet New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AW: sound blaster 5.1 and windows 7 problem

    Hi, are there any news regarding the above mentioned problems?
     
  12. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,774
    Likes Received:
    1,555
    Trophy Points:
    138
    There's been no updated drivers yet..... Seems that's what is going to fix these issues. BTW, SPDIF/AC3 is stereo only...... Master mixer still causes noise.
     
  13. Shadow_Fi

    Shadow_Fi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So, am i able to use "true" 5.1 in Windows 7?

    And when i choose SPDIF/AC3 i have no sound at all.

    Audigy 2 Zs i have. How to configure 5.1?
     
  14. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,774
    Likes Received:
    1,555
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Master Mixer should give you 5.1 if setup properly in Windows speaker configuration..... But as it's been said here and elsewhere there may be some noise problems.
     
  15. Shadow_Fi

    Shadow_Fi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, if usin SPDIF output i hear noise on a background. If i pause video, i hear some "shhhhhhhhhhhhh" for a maybe 15 seconds, and then it goes of and i cant hear anything. What is this?
     
  16. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,774
    Likes Received:
    1,555
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I wouldn't know. I mean obviously it's background noise, but it's source and why it shuts off after 15 seconds I don't know.
     
  17. Dexter81

    Dexter81 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problem.no surround.
    I tried to configure speakers in windows 7 64 but the configure button is not functional.... another soution please?
    And with spdif/ac3 and master mixer is no diference, still no surround :(
    The integrated sound card is rubbish...
    Thx.
     
  18. Kermet

    Kermet New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  19. Dexter81

    Dexter81 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I forgot to say i have a creative live 5.1 digital sound card.
     
  20. Dexter81

    Dexter81 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no solve i guess :(( sounds very good ,the creative sound card...
    i hate the integrated one ...
     

Share This Page

visited