SSD Performance

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by isaak, Mar 13, 2010.

  1. isaak

    isaak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Hey guys, as some of you may know I've got an OCZ Vertex Series SSD.

    I have been very happy with this drive so far, but tonight I ran a quick benchmark of the drive and came up with some disappointing results:
    [​IMG]

    This is compared to a previous benchmark I ran when I first got the drive...

    [​IMG]


    Does this happen to everyone?? It's only about one or two months old.
     
  2. Liqourice

    Liqourice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,837
    Likes Received:
    339
    Trophy Points:
    93
    I don't know much about SSD's but won't fragmentation hurt performance on those as well so a defrag might fix it?
     
  3. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,745
    Likes Received:
    1,517
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I don't think SSD's can be defraged........ Seems I read that somewhere, maybe in one of Lowfat's posts. (I may be wrong about that, memory is not what it used to be ;) )
     
  4. isaak

    isaak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Tyrons is right...I heard defragging was actually bad for them.

    I knew performance would drop over time, but would it really be this sharply? I'm just wondering if I'm missing something....
     
  5. ExitiosuS

    ExitiosuS Simian Masterpiece!

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Messages:
    357
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A defrag means nothing to an SSD, there is no such thing as a fragmented file on a SSD, there are no rotating platters fetching locations, etc...

    And yes, a defrag is bad for an SSD because the lifespan of an SSD is based writes, not spindle hours. There really is no need to place files in a logically "connected" order, causing a large amount of writes and re-writes on areas that do not require it.

    Though, after two months, the performance drop seems quite large. There is probably something to it. On my SSD, I've had it for about a year now and I've not seen any performance drops. I'd say to keep an eye on it, check three months from now. It might be coming into its own, now... but, maybe someone more experienced might have something more insightful to say with regards to that performance drop.
     
  6. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,717
    Likes Received:
    1,362
    Trophy Points:
    123
    I think I should ask the obvious questions since there is no mention of it: which operating system are you using, isaak? And, what firmware version are you using?
     
  7. isaak

    isaak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Windows 7 64bit, firmware 1.4
     
  8. Stuart_Davidson

    Stuart_Davidson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Update to 1.5 This thread has the 1.5 FW update for Agility and Vertex drives

    Then that night logout your system to the user prompt and leave it to idle overnight. The improved garbage collection in 1.5 will then kick in and should bring your performance back up. (1.5 is also faster than 1.4 from what I remember anyway).
     
  9. dipstick

    dipstick New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,609
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Another thing you could try in addition to the advice given is to kill hard drive sleep in windows. With sleep enabled I noticed my WEI score/benchmarks were dropping over time so I disabled it completely. Everything went back to normal within a couple of days. Worth a try imho
     
  10. isaak

    isaak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Just a question before I flash the drive: does it erase all the data on it? if so I'm really not keen to do this during my exam time so I may have to postpone this for around 2 weeks. I've never done this before so if there are any handy tips anyone has I would surely be grateful : D
     
  11. mkk

    mkk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    There's always that risk. There's been so many firmware mishaps with SSD's that it's best to assume that the drive will be emptied even if the instructions do not clearly say so. You could always image the drive before to be safe, but with much work to do I say wait a little. I'm sure the drive still is pretty fast in real practice in spite of the difference in numbers. :)
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2010
  12. Stuart_Davidson

    Stuart_Davidson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I agree with Mkk. If you are doing something important and the flash is not critical, wait.
     
  13. dipstick

    dipstick New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,609
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1.5 should not be a destructive flash but you should prepare for the worst like already mentioned. Its would be a good idea to skim through their ssd forum too. Lots of info buried in there
    OCZ Flash Support And Discussion Forum
     
  14. isaak

    isaak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Thanks for the help guys. Would an .iso image be the best way to back up the computer and then run from that after the SSD has been flashed? as I said I've never done something like this before.
     
  15. Stuart_Davidson

    Stuart_Davidson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Windows Backup And Restore allows you to create an image (which you hopefully wont need)
     
  16. isaak

    isaak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    58
    I'm done with exams now and ready to do this. I read through the OCZ flashing guide - am I correct in saying that I'll need to install Windows onto my other HDD to boot from, install the jumper on the SSD, switch to IDE mode, then boot into windows on the secondary harddrive and run the FW update?
    I have a feeling thats the old way...
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2010
  17. isaak

    isaak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    58
    OK. Update done and I am up and running on 1.5

    Here are the new speeds...still not fully back but I'll try what Veridian suggested and leave my system logged out for the night.

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page

visited