SSD vs Hybrid vs RAM upgrade - video editing

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by Sboarder1964, Jun 20, 2013.

1. Sboarder1964

Sboarder1964 New Member

Hello all, I'm a recreational video editor looking how to best invest ~$100 towards my new laptop. I recently purchased an HP Envy 17 without any HDD or RAM upgrades since those are usually the easiest/cheapest to do yourself.

Specs:
    Code:
    [SIZE="2"]HP ENVY 17t Quad
    • Windows 8 64
    • 4th gen Intel Core i7-4700MQ CPU
    • NVIDIA GeForce GT 740M GPU
    • 8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
    • 1TB 5400 rpm Hard Drive[/SIZE]
    Bare in mind that I'm a complete noob with recent technology; 2 days ago I didn't know what an SSD was. Through my research, I found out that Sony Vegas's main bottleneck is the CPU, but it could still benefit from having more RAM or using an SSD as a "scratch disk" (for caching video and project files I think, remember I'm a noob). Which option could benefit me the most?

1) SSD/HDD Hybrid - Seagate Momentus XT 750 GB 7200RPM ($100)
    2) SSD - Samsung 840 w/ 120GB ($90) or Crucial m4 64GB ($80)
    3) 16 GB RAM ($110-$130)

-----------------
    My thoughts: At first, I thought the Hybrid would be the way to go, since I could also stand to benefit from the 7200RPM aspect. However, there is a 2nd HDD bay, and the 1 TB HDD is already paid for. I really don't need more than 250 GB of storage, let alone 1.75 TB. Also, Judas had a really informative post in the "Discuss: Hybrid drives vs SSDs" topic (link below). Basically, for the same cost, SSD is the way to go unless you really need the storage (for which I already have the 1 TB HDD). He also touted up the Samsung 840 SSD, which is by far the cheapest I've found for the capacity. Another downside to the hybrid drive is the NAND would essentially be reserved for start-up and program launches, so there wouldn't be much benefit to the video editor?

-----------
    "Links" (hyperlinks not allowed < 15 posts.)