Strange thinws with the AC97 inputs (SB Live)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Bricolo, Jan 20, 2004.

  1. Bricolo

    Bricolo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when absolutely nothing is wired in the kx dsp, I can still hear the analog inputs activated in the mixer->ac97

    I can record from the input selected as ac97 in the mixer->ac97, but when I connect the analog output in the dsp directly to xrouting->Rec I can't hear anything.

    I can't hear anything coming from an ac97 input in the rear speakers, even if I connect the analog front directly to the prolog->ac97




    Is this normal?
     
  2. Daniel Drummond

    Daniel Drummond New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, that's expected behaviour.
     
  3. Bricolo

    Bricolo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there no way to fix this?
     
  4. Daniel Drummond

    Daniel Drummond New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No. It seems (based on previous discutions on this topic) that this is the way the hardware works. It does that automatically if the software doesn't tell it to do otherwise....
     
  5. Bricolo

    Bricolo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And how do I set the software to do it otherwise?
     
  6. Daniel Drummond

    Daniel Drummond New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Loading whatever plugins/connections you need in KX dsp window. Just set it up the way you want it to work...
     
  7. Bricolo

    Bricolo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did this. In example: the prolog isn't connected to xrtouring, I still head the line in
     
  8. Eugene Gavrilov

    Eugene Gavrilov kX Project Lead Programmer and Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,146
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    48
    you should NOT enable any ac97 source on the ac97 page, but just select 'ac97 source'
    this is described in the help file (search for the signal path)

    /E
     
  9. Bricolo

    Bricolo New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The problem is that I need:

    -to have the aux in activated (to head it in the speakers)
    -the microphone as the recording source, but I don't want to hear it in my speakers


    Do you see another solution that
    -having the aux in activated in the mixer->AC97
    -microphone being the AC97 source
    -AC97 activated as the only recording source
    ?
     
  10. Nando Dominguez

    Nando Dominguez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2003
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

Share This Page

visited