Subpar performance w/X800XT?

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by Borealis, Mar 11, 2005.

  1. Borealis

    Borealis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I just picked up a Visiontek X800XT today. I ran drivercleaner, installed cat
    5.3's. Set everything accordingly and ran a couple benchmarks. Scorea are as follows:

    3dmark05 - 41xx
    3dmark03 - 7492
    aquamark - 56,xxx

    Setup is as follows:
    A64 3200 @ stock
    Visiontek X800XT @ stock
    1GB corsair value pc-3200
    DFI Lanparty UT nf3-250
    etc. etc. etc.

    Anyone have any ideas what might be causing this? I also reinstalled my chipset drivers and tried fastwrites on and off in bios. I also tested with 128MB and 256MB AGP aperture with no difference with any of the above settings.

    Ideas? Help me!
     
  2. redsolar

    redsolar Off duty

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,236
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How clean is the OS ?
     
  3. sc3000

    sc3000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    whats are your specs, and most important what kind of memory do you have? If nothing works, reinstalling XP always works
     
  4. Borealis

    Borealis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I formatted it a couple months ago. Pretty clean though otherwise.
     
  5. sc3000

    sc3000 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Most gamers do it every cat driver release to keep their fps high
     
  6. Borealis

    Borealis New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I did something. Guess with the kid and the cat attacking each other behind me and having to mediate between them I did something that fixed it.

    Wish I knew what I did but I just ran 3dmark05 and it went up to 5586, much better. :)

    I'm one of those that are too lazy to format once a month. I'm just glad I'm back in ATi's camp and out of nVidia's beta guinea pig program.
     
  7. davidnsibs

    davidnsibs 9500pro Forever

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you're kidding right? _most_ gamers format their HDD once a month :confused:
     
  8. The_Neon_Cowboy

    The_Neon_Cowboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    16,076
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I do some time 2-3-4 times a mouth :sigh:. 1nce a month is when it starts getting time to format.. or you can wait for the inevatable unexplainable problem or performonace drops...

    A knowledgeable person with alot of tweaking and cleaning can keep it going fine a few mouths ... but t just easier to reformat more frequently unless somethin makes that not plateable like a bunch of data to save or a tone of software but the latter isn't much of an excuse
     
  9. ChoGGi

    ChoGGi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    why not make a clean image to restore when it starts going off?
     
  10. e v o

    e v o New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,037
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    have u installed the lastest nforce 3 chipset drivers? ive heard that helps a lot

    Ben
     
  11. The_Neon_Cowboy

    The_Neon_Cowboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    16,076
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    73
    alot of people do hat too but my setup, drivers, config, etc change all the time
    so its far easier for me to format and reinstall...
     

Share This Page

visited