Swap Meg for H50

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by Bolletje, Dec 20, 2009.

  1. Bolletje

    Bolletje New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi there,

    So at the moment I have a Prolimatech Megahalems, one of the best CPU air coolers out there..

    So a while ago I saw an ad where a guy wanted to exchange his Corsair H50 for a decent air cooler (TRUE, Megahalems, NH-D14).

    Is this a good deal? Or do you think that I shouldn't do it?

    Please explain. I'm quite charmed by the H50, but maybe the deal isn't that good (I still need to pay like 15 euro's I think, because I need to ship it).
     
  2. Lowfat

    Lowfat Xtreme

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No. The Megahalem is a better cooler in almost all circumstances.
     
  3. Optix

    Optix Slave To Technology

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Lowfat is right. Stick with your Megatron. Besides, a fan is easier to replace than a proprietary pump.
     
  4. Bolletje

    Bolletje New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm, thanks :)

    I think I will keep it. Although it's still overpowered (it's cooling an E5200 atm :p)
     
  5. Optix

    Optix Slave To Technology

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If it's overkill the chip isn't overclocked far enough. ;)
     
  6. Bolletje

    Bolletje New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Comes from the guy whose CPU is @ 3,0 GHz :p

    Nah, it's fine @ 3,75 GHz. No need to overclock it more (performance increase is null)
     
  7. Optix

    Optix Slave To Technology

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey now, I'd go for 3.6 if my dodgy chipset wasn't holding me back...plus a complete lack of good cooling isn't helping.

    3.7 is a might fine OC. :cool:
     
  8. isaak

    isaak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    58
    What temps do you get for that OC Bolletje?
     
  9. Bolletje

    Bolletje New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dunno, it's only 1,35V in BIOS, so it isn't getting hot.

    Too bad the sensors of the E5200 are corrupt, so I can't really do a readout :annoyed:
     
  10. isaak

    isaak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    58
    I don't get how people say only 1.35v.... mines 1.2v and it idles at ~45*C average across the 4 cores. Mind you this is an Australian summer, but making the jump to 3.4 requires 1.3v which raises temps just too high..
     
  11. Bolletje

    Bolletje New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1.35V for 3,75GHz Prime stable (6 hours)?

    I don't know what you're running, but this isn't bad for a E5200.

    I can run 3,3 GHz for like 1,15?
     
  12. isaak

    isaak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    58
    I've got a Q9450 at 3.2GHz 1.2v 24/7 with a xigmatek achilles S1834
     
  13. Bolletje

    Bolletje New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And if you run it @ 3,75 GHz, how much V do you need then?
     
  14. isaak

    isaak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    58
    I'm not sure, I haven't been that high, max I've been game to do was 3.4. I would go for more because I know I can get more except the temperatures are worrying.
     
  15. Optix

    Optix Slave To Technology

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The joys of living in Canada. :p
     
  16. isaak

    isaak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    58
    It's a max of 30*C today, but I hear South Australia is getting up to 45*C.

    [sarcasm]

    The joys of living in Australia

    [/sarcasm] :(
     

Share This Page

visited