Symantec: Microsoft won't give us key Vista tech

Discussion in 'Industry News' started by Vikingod, Sep 28, 2006.

  1. Vikingod

    Vikingod Int'l Fish Liaison

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    16,226
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Source: ZDNet
    ___________
    Symantec has accused Microsoft of withholding key information about its upcoming Vista operating system in an attempt to gain an advantage in the security market.

    The security specialist said this week that Microsoft is refusing to hand over the application programmable interfaces (APIs) for Windows Defender, the spyware product that will be included in Windows Vista. Without the APIs, Symantec contends that it's unable to ensure that its own security products are compatible with the update.
     
  2. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    175
    Trophy Points:
    73
    You see M$ is trying to force customers to use their security products!!!
     
  3. Tinkerhell

    Tinkerhell Not all fairies are nice.

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    990
    Likes Received:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No one is surprised. They wan't to profit from every angle of the computer monster. Eventually, if they get their way, they will make the damn leds that light up the caps lock indicator on your keyboard & they will be proprietary and probably built with internal flaws so every six months you have to replace the bulb for $129.97
    And 95% of the world will continue to buy their products because everyone makes everything to work with it & because it's what everyone else has.
     
  4. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    175
    Trophy Points:
    73
    But there is hope EU is giving M$ hard time because of this.
     
  5. Matt

    Matt Techy Bloke Wasting Time

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why would Symantec even need the APIs for Windows Defender? They have there own anti spyware, surely all they need to know is to turn it off?
     
  6. Erroneus

    Erroneus Get off my lawn!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    13,727
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    103
    It's more like: Symantec can safe alot of money with those API's, because without they actually have to code something advanced and then they cant rush something out the door like they use to.
     
  7. SFOSOK

    SFOSOK 939 Goin Strong

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thats because u suck symantec and ur products are hogs, almost as bad as AOL
     
  8. ChrisW

    ChrisW New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Symantec sucks. They are just trying to find a way to get their garbage trial software preinstalled on evey computer. How come you don't hear all this complaining from the other security companies? Gee, I can't imagine why Microsoft would not share software with a company that hires and encourages virus writers and hackers.
     
  9. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    175
    Trophy Points:
    73
    ok, must say that I'm Symantec's beta tester. So far newest NIS beta uses 25 Mb of ram ... So is that too much for you??
     
  10. Erroneus

    Erroneus Get off my lawn!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2002
    Messages:
    13,727
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    103
    25 is still to much, but mem usage is not everything, i/o slowdown is also a typically problem with symantec's bloated software. But maybe they are starting to learn, about time.
     
  11. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,427
    Likes Received:
    2,350
    Trophy Points:
    153
    The last time I used Symantec security on my computer, it hogged so much control over the system I no longer felt it was my own. After fighting for control I finally removed the insidious monster from my system, re-formatted and reinstalled Windows and decided from henceforth and forevermore to leave that monster alone. I will never touch another Norton-related product.

    And, THEY complain about Microsoft. :evil:
     
  12. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    175
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Dyre, well I must say that I havenä't encounterd probles that you describe here...
    Erroneus, take a look how much svchost.exe process eats mem ;)
     
  13. bug77

    bug77 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    But that's exactly the point. If M$ doesn't expose their API, everybody else has to do it all over again. That's why you think their products use too much RAM. Because without the M$ API they have to load the same stuff into memory again, while M$ happily loads it at Win startup and you think their software actually uses less RAM.
     
  14. SFOSOK

    SFOSOK 939 Goin Strong

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Two wrongs don't make a right.
     
  15. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so they can help your system runs better.
     
  16. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    175
    Trophy Points:
    73
    What you mean by that?? On my fres installed system svchost.exe eats up to 50 Mb of ram ....
     
  17. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it means just that. beneath the svchost (Generic Host Process for Win32 Services) there are services/drivers which registered in the process. these services uses system memory, and some of them are required as critical components of the Windows system.
     
  18. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    175
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Yeah, but also it has non critical services like Windows Time, Windows Firewall/Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) and Terminal Services for example...


    But anyway when we are talking about programs the fact is they use ram. So there is as many point of views than there are humans using the programs...
     
  19. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i knew that. so that means you know why svchost processes eats ram?
     
  20. Teme

    Teme Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    8,496
    Likes Received:
    175
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Yeah, and ZoneAlarm vsmon.exe eats 20 Mb + zlcient.exe eats 6 Mb... and that's the free firewall only... So when the new NIS 2007 beta eats the same amount of mem you get AV+firewall ... :evil:
     

Share This Page

visited