The Elder Scrolls IV Oblivion (TIPS and HELP and HARDWARE Thread)

Discussion in 'Gaming Discussion' started by ViRuS2k, Mar 23, 2006.

  1. SFOSOK

    SFOSOK 939 Goin Strong

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmm. never even heard anything like that. I believe I am born in der the sign of the thief as well. I really can't say. You were clicking on the center one yes? Maybe you need to start some of the main quest
     
  2. nicnik

    nicnik In the Land of Snow

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it has happened to my murderer/assasin, and keeps happening all the time. Looks like the gods don't favor those that have murdered maybe?
     
  3. SFOSOK

    SFOSOK 939 Goin Strong

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well thats not true, because I've murdered a lot of people, I mean like 50
     
  4. SFOSOK

    SFOSOK 939 Goin Strong

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks a bunch, I can't find uNumdepthGrids=3 though anywhere in the ini
     
  5. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,766
    Likes Received:
    1,432
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Do a search for this section in the INI: [Water]

    Under there you should see the listing for uNumDepthGrids (should be the 2nd last line under that section).
     
  6. SFOSOK

    SFOSOK 939 Goin Strong

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't have it
     
  7. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,766
    Likes Received:
    1,432
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Which INI file are you editing? The Oblivion_default.ini in the game folder, or the Oblivion.ini file inside the My Documents\My Game\Oblivion one? The reason I ask is that the "uNumDepthGrids=3" line is only in the Oblivion.ini file which is created by the game, and is responsible for all ingame settings (everything from screen rez to controls). If you check that one you should see that line.
     
  8. SFOSOK

    SFOSOK 939 Goin Strong

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not doin the one in my documents. Should I be doin that one?
     
  9. SFOSOK

    SFOSOK 939 Goin Strong

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    0
    allright I figured it out, now how do I install the better water mod or what ever.
     
  10. Rawr

    Rawr New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Extract the .esp files into this folder..

    C:\Program Files\Bethesda Softworks\Oblivion\Data\

    and you should be good to go..

    When you boot up the game before you hit play there is an option called "Data Files".

    Click it and you will see the list of .esp files you just added.. check them off and you're done!
     
  11. Pluvious

    Pluvious Elisha = hottie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The better water mod is indeed amazing.. much better water and I didn't see any hit on framerate.
     
  12. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    2,713
    Trophy Points:
    153

    I missed this post entirely. Sorry for the delayed response. :(

    If I'm not mistaken, this situation has nothing to do with having a bounty. You may simply have to talk to a priest.
     
  13. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Does anyone know where I can find a list of quests for certain area's?
     
  14. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    2,713
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Such as?

    I'm not sure I understand the question. Mainly because the quests for each guild/faction/whatever can take you to the same areas as quests for others. So, if you're wanting a list of quests for only one of the guilds, that might be possible. But, if you're not in a particular guild, you won't be able to do those quests restricted for other guilds even if you were able to see a list for all the guilds.
     
  15. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    So you can only belong to one guild?

    I'm asking because I want to be sure I just about everything done in the Imperial City.
     
  16. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    2,713
    Trophy Points:
    153
    No, you can belong to all the guilds at the same time. Presently, I'm in the Fighters, Thieves, Mages Guilds and the Dark Brotherhood.

    Belonging to as many guilds and groups as possible makes the game more interesting and opens up many more quests.

    You can possibly do a lot of side quests that aren't related to guilds at all by talking to people who may ask for your help. So, those are additional quests.

    I don't think you can accomplish everything possible staying in one place. You'll have to travel and explore.
     
  17. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    That is what I'm doing. Just I don't want to leave a place for a awhile, and find out I missed some thing. BTW, sorta related to GDF's issue. What happens if I prolong my wait to do the main quest?
     
  18. SFOSOK

    SFOSOK 939 Goin Strong

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    7,005
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    0
    usually nothing but I dunno. I posted a thread in another forum and this guy had it happen to him to
     
  19. ka713

    ka713 Deceased

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,
    My system is show below and I was wandering at what settings could I run this game at and what will it look like?
     
  20. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    2,713
    Trophy Points:
    153
    I would think that you can play very nicely at 1024x768 or even a bit higher. The main thing would be to NOT use AA. That's the 'killer' for FPS right now.

    If you want to know what it would look like, take a look at some of the screenshots in our other thread:

    http://www.driverheaven.net/showthread.php?t=102003
     

Share This Page

visited