The offical "I got a 8800 GTS/ GTX" thread

Discussion in 'NVIDIA Graphics Cards' started by HardwareHeaven, Nov 9, 2006.

  1. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Well im sure you read our review and many others. These cards kick ass. Share your thoughts if you bought one. Happy? Disappointed? Discuss !
     
  2. IamLakota

    IamLakota New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    :drool: I picked up my new 680i Evga board and a new 8800GTS today,...:drool: :drool: ,..all I have to do now is try and patiently wait another two week's till I get paid again,so I an pick up my new memory then I can sit down and get this new rig off the ground,until then I'll just hold the boxes and drool!!!
     
    CDsDontBurn likes this.
  3. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    remember to register both products within 30 days!
     
  4. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Hmm think this calls for a fishing pole, some high quality ram, and your address. Then cast, ring, and laugh.
     
  5. IamLakota

    IamLakota New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I registered both the board and the card with evga and also signed up for their "RMA" special,just incase there is a problem with either one.I also had a nice suprise,Fry's sold me the board instore for 299+tax and frys website listed the board at 269,I made a trip by frys today with my reciept and was refunded the difference,I also did the same with my E6600,as their website list it for 20 less than the store. I only have one question if any one can help me with it I'd appreciate it. Is it better to run dual channel memory using just two memory slots? I seem to remember that with my old P4 Asus P4C-800E-Deluxe there was a performence hit if you used all 4 memory slots instead of only 2 slots.I was wondering if this was still a problem with dual channel memory boards.
     
  6. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    the 680i board from eVGA will take a performance hit if you use all four dimms. it will run the memory at 2T settings.
     
  7. IamLakota

    IamLakota New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank's CdsDontBurn,that bit of info helps me plan my memory purchase out.
    I'll get two gig's of ram instead of 1gig now and 1 gig later.I wonder why using all four dimms causes this problem??
     
  8. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    Another thing to watch out for with the 680i board is if you run DDR 533/667 the board will run the memory at 1T (if using just two dimms), but if you use pc2 800/pc2 1000 (and pc2 1200 SLI ready memory), the memory will default to 2T timings regardless even if you use 2 dimms.
     
  9. RUIN

    RUIN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got me a sexy eVGA 8800gtx
     
  10. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    cool! please be sure to register it :).
     
  11. ProGamer

    ProGamer New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm having my MSI 8800GTX already for a wekk now. I'm a bit disappoint about the driver support. I normally use Windows X64 and sometimes Vista RC1 64bit. For both Systems I don't find a driver. I think this is *****. I paid for the card 600€ and can't use it.


    I installed Windows XP Pro in the 32bit Version and then the card really rocks, now I think about a new CPU. My Athlon64 X2 at 2,71Ghz seems to be to slow for this card.
     
  12. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    yes, that is true. AFAIK, even the e6700 bottlenecks this card quite a bit.
     
  13. IamLakota

    IamLakota New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    CdsDontBurn,with the latest drivers installed (got my system up finialy)
    it only has 60hz as the refresh rate for my monitor how do I get it 75hz,
    do I need and older driver??I'm new to nvidia hardware.
     
  14. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    The only official driver available right now is the 97.02, which is designed specifically for the 8800 series cards. The only other driver available that i know of, is the beta driver that came included in the CD of your EVGA card.

    and check your PM :)
     
  15. RUIN

    RUIN New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have registered it :)

    Was wondering about the 60hertz thang also, not that its a problem.
     
  16. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    AFAIK, on LCDs, the refresh rate doesn't really matter at all, it's on CRTs that it matters. the refresh rate on a CRT would be similar to that of the response time in an LCD, but the response time is set by the LCD already.
     
  17. IamLakota

    IamLakota New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    RUIN,I revieved a reply from eVGA,the optimum refresh for our moniotr is 60hz,they also explained to me that if your using the DVI instead of the anolog connections (running didital) 60 is all you need 75hz doesnt increase or decrease anything seen on the screen or in games. I never knew this but eVGA has so far provided me with EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SUPPORT,..Oh and a Big Thanks toCDsDontBurn,he the Man!!
     
  18. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    lol....i don't deserve all the credit, my team at work does ;)
     
  19. Rasta Monsta

    Rasta Monsta Just an Average Joe...

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,574
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got one from BFGTech, it is awesome.

    rasta

    PS Hey, Spamela, you have 8 of 18 posts in this thread alone!
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2006
  20. zaim

    zaim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    58
    i've sold my 7900gtx and getting an 8800gts in a coupla weeks!! so far so good in terms of reviews and compatibility when it comes to the GTS.. but i've come across some guys having driver issues with the GTX?
     

Share This Page

visited