The offical "I got a 8800 GTS/ GTX" thread

Discussion in 'NVIDIA Graphics Cards' started by HardwareHeaven, Nov 9, 2006.

  1. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    yea. she didn't. she was busy doing her homework to admire what it is that she has right now.

    and cook....:lol: you're funny :rofl:.

    her machine just lacks one thing.....more RAM. w/that powerful card that she has now, Black & White 2 was still quite a bit choppy, especially when you zoomed out. Dark Messiah would lag for a little bit when a new level or new area would load up. haven't benchmarked it yet though, so dunno how that will turn out.

    I found out that she'll also need a new drive as her C:\ drive. her 36Gb raptor is quite small and only has about 5Gb of free space. She still has about 4.8Gb more space than me though on my 36Gb Raptor :lol:
     
  2. Vampyromaniac

    Vampyromaniac confutatis maledictis

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There's the man. What brought on this generosity?
    Do you have some new, better goodies planned for yourself soon? Or are you taking it easy for now, and wanna let her get her gaming on?
     
  3. josh2thad

    josh2thad New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    man there should be any lag on a machine with a gb or ram?
     
  4. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    What brought on this generosity? It started off as an x-mas present :p. At first it was just new MoBo, CPU, gfx card. The 8800 was done rather cheaply through the EVGA Step-Up program ;). I fear that her current PSU isn't good enough for her new card and other components. So in about a week or so i'll be purchasing something better than what she currently has. Afterwards, it'll be a 20ish in. monitor w/1680x1050 res. Lastly, two new HDDs, 74Gb raptor and a 250Gb. Both drives will be upgrades from her current drives. She won't be getting the 2Gb of RAM upgrade until i upgrade my machine though :p.

    As for myself, yes, i'll be buying me a whole new set up come this summer ;). I plan for something along the lines of e6700, 2Gb RAM, 8800GTX & EVGA 680i or r600 & intel 975, x-fi sound card, 2x150Gb raptors, OCZ/Tagan/Enermax/PCP&C or similar 750w PSU, Lian-Li case, Dell 2407 wfp monitor. At least that's what i'm planning. I'll have to see what out by the time i go purchase my new toys of course.
     
  5. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    right guys , i just upgraded my radeonx1900xt to geforce 8800gts , i jus did a reinstall of windows vista and anything seems to be working now my question is should i get the whql drivers from nvidia or the beta ones???
     
  6. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    whql. beta is beta, but should still work.

    AFAIK, the latest betas are the 101.41s.
     
  7. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry mi ignoracnce, but how can u check the cards temp??
     
  8. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    if you have an NVIDIA chipset MoBo you can use NTUNE. otherwise, i think RivaTuner will work. not too sure about RivaTuner as i've never used it before.
     
  9. Chaos

    Chaos Number Nine

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    5,260
    Likes Received:
    95
    Trophy Points:
    0
    NTune will install on any system that has a NV card or mobo chipset. If you use a non NV chipset it will not install those parts of the application

    ATI Tool will also show your temp for the GPU or an app like Everest Ultimate will give you more detailed info
     
  10. Mousey

    Mousey HH's Official Rodent

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,902
    Likes Received:
    510
    Trophy Points:
    138
  11. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok guys thanks , i run 3dmark06 and i got 7903 without overclocking my card, is that ok for my system . or is it my processor bottlenecking big time??
     
  12. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i also watch alot of dvds and videos on my pc as well as gaming how do i use nvdia pure video , is the decoder free??i hope so cuz the graphics card just cost me a kidney
     
  13. Lelisevis

    Lelisevis Howlin at the moon

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,629
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Your processor shouldnt be affecting the scores that much but im sure your about 500 points down, mind that might just be my memory but im pretty much positive when I run my processor at 2.8ghz I get 8500.
     
  14. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    my sister scored 22.4k on 3Dmark03.....haven't gotten around to testing any of the other benchies
     
  15. Lelisevis

    Lelisevis Howlin at the moon

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,629
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Woohoooooo, i've added a second BFG 8800GTS OC to my PC or at least it's sitting on my desk till the 11th (my birthday). I couldnt help myself, the first one looked so lonely sitting on it's own. Thats the final component in my planned build, this rig is all set for the next 3 years now, time to start making use of it..........well maybe when those Nvidia drivers mature and the DX10 games arrive.
     
  16. Lowfat

    Lowfat Xtreme

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Bought myself a eVGA 8800GTS 320mb Superclocked today :) Couldn't play silly ATI waiting game anymore.
     
  17. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    now use the step-up program for a 640Mb or a GTX model ;)
     
  18. Lowfat

    Lowfat Xtreme

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    4,246
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    0
    we will see how the 320 will do. If i can play oblivion @ 1680X1050 fine, i'll be happy for now.
     
  19. CDsDontBurn

    CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    25,596
    Likes Received:
    476
    Trophy Points:
    123
    it will do well, but don't you want better? ;)
     
  20. Xtreme_ego

    Xtreme_ego New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    EVEGA 8800gtx !!!!!!

    love this thing. and it stays cool yay for EK waterblocks
     

Share This Page

visited