The official "I got an HD5000 series card" thread

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by kris23, Oct 30, 2009.

  1. OmegaRED

    OmegaRED Relapsed Gamer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I could always keep the GTX 285 for Physx...nah I'll just sell it :p
     
  2. CJLMTLCA

    CJLMTLCA Ti > IT

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Congrats! I will probably be ordering one soon too. What Catalyst did you install?
     
  3. OmegaRED

    OmegaRED Relapsed Gamer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I'm using Cat 10.6 but I traded the Vapor-X for a Sapphire 5970 OC.

    Jesus this thing is huge, not as quiet or cool as my Vapor-X but it sure packs a lot of power. Was able to run Metro 2033 at max settings (well no tesselation or Dof) very smoothly.
    [​IMG]

    Before anyone asks, I traded the 5870 away because I loved it and figured I should get another one but it was actually cheaper to trade with someone who had a 5970 and my MB has a 16x/8x Crossfire setup so adding a second card would be slightly crippled whereas a dual pcb would not be.
     
  4. anonemus

    anonemus 80 Plus Certified

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^ now that's one huge e-penis, OmegaRED :D
     
  5. isaak

    isaak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Good for you Omega :)
    I am very jealous...
     
  6. Satans Arse

    Satans Arse Dreams Of Sleep

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Had the Sapphire HD 5850 TOXIC 2GB version for a little while, very nice. Upgraded from a 260GTX which I now have running my Physx. My 3DMark and Vantage scores are a bit disappointing though. May need to do a nice clean install and try again with the 3.7A betas.
     
  7. dacunha

    dacunha New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi
    I am new - have used the mobility modder on dell and acer machines
    it's amazing

    Have a new Acer Timeline 4820TG super with Windows 7

    However I desperately want to use XP also - so I have a separate disk with XP - it works - but I can't get the Radeon 5650 to work:confused:

    Any help?? do we have the modder going for the 5000 series?

    Best of luck and keep going

    Frankie:cool:
     
  8. isaak

    isaak Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,302
    Likes Received:
    93
    Trophy Points:
    58
    This may not be the best place for that question dacunha... try here and make your own thread
     
  9. YnHDaRkMaN

    YnHDaRkMaN Image of the invisible...

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Giving new life to this old thread by posting I'm now an XFX HD 5770 1GB Single Slot owner and I'm impressed by its power!!! :drool:

    Very happy with the purchase :D
     
  10. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,804
    Likes Received:
    1,608
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I just got a HD5770 from XFX as well, the standard model...... To go with the ATi 5770 reference card that I already had......... Crossfire, Man! ;)
     
  11. blibbax

    blibbax nahm8

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    73
    What games have you got lined up for it?
     
  12. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,804
    Likes Received:
    1,608
    Trophy Points:
    138
    For mine? Driving games, DiRT2, Grid, I just picked up Need for Speed: Shift, and Burnout Paradise, box set. Should be able to run just about maxed out settings with the eyefinity setup. :)
     
  13. blibbax

    blibbax nahm8

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Do I remember rightly that you were upgraded from a P4 rig by HH prizes, and didn't play games at the time? :p

    If so, and that wasn't some other guy, nice to see you enjoying your winnings :p
     
  14. iPlayer

    iPlayer Filled with noobsauce

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,330
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    0
    He's made many modifications to the rig since at that. :D
     
  15. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,804
    Likes Received:
    1,608
    Trophy Points:
    138

    Yeah, That was me...... The driving games are..... You know, to "test out the rig!"........ "Yeah! That's the ticket" ;)

    Yes, a few...... :cool:
     
  16. Syidi

    Syidi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    lot of Radeon here...
    I'm gonna get a 5770 Vapor-X to replace my current 9400 GT, but a lot of problems I saw that the PC did not detect the card and users have to clean install back their Windows in order to use the card. Is this problem will happen from every new Radeon that put inside the system and how to solve it without reinstalling windows?
     
  17. iPlayer

    iPlayer Filled with noobsauce

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,330
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You don't need to reinstall windows. o_O
     
  18. Dyre Straits

    Dyre Straits 10 Grandkids -2 Great-grandsons

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    19,702
    Likes Received:
    2,739
    Trophy Points:
    153
    If you're going from an nVidia card to an AMD card [Radeon] just first uninstall the drivers for the nVidia card per their documentation. Usually, just the Uninstall or Change option from My Computer. Once you do that, go to the Device Manager to the Display Adapter option and Remove the card by ALSO checking the box for "Remove Drivers." Once done, shutdown the system. Remove the nVidia card and put in the Radeon. Boot back into Windows and let Windows detect the new card and install the Native VGA drivers for it. Once done, if prompted to reboot, do so. When you have the new Radeon detected, install the latest AMD Catalyst drivers designed for your card.

    As stated above, no need to reinstall Windows to do this.
     
  19. Syidi

    Syidi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks man...
    now I also got an HD5000 series card
     
  20. Mousey

    Mousey HH's Official Rodent

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,902
    Likes Received:
    510
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Picked myself up a 512mb Asus Radeon HD5770 and very impressed with it :)
     

Share This Page

visited