Thermal Pads

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by Trusteft, Feb 1, 2021.

1. Trusteft

Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

In the next few weeks, I hope, I will do some maintenance on my laptops. I believe there are thermal pads on some locations which I might as well replace them. The problem(?) is that from what I know there are different thickness pads and I don't know which to use when the time comes.

Anyone with experience on the matter? I have never done this before and I hate the idea of using the wrong thickness and ending up with worse situation than before.

2. Mr Cairo

Mr Cairo Require backup .... NO

Im not a fan TBH I have only used one once and when the time came to redo the pad I could not get the heatsink off, the pad had welded them solid to point where the cpu pulled out of the board still stuck to the heatsink ... never again for me

3. Judas

Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

until you see the thickness and clearances of the existing pads, it's relatively next to impossible to make a suggestion on what to order.

Personally though, replacing the pads are unnecessary unless they are damaged or weren't making proper contact to begin with. Much like thermal paste rarely is ever a problem unless it's complete garbage to begin with.

4. Trusteft

Yeah, the problem is that if I try to replace the thermal paste of the GPU, the whole assembly has to be removed, which includes parts of the motherboard under said pads.

As for their thickness, I am not sure how I can measure them at such small sizes, plus the whole been squashed to a sheet of paper after many years, is going to help either.
    At least from videos I have watched of other similar attempts.

EDIT: I said thermal pad for the GPU, when it should be thermal paste. Now fixed.

Last edited: Feb 2, 2021
  5. Judas