This is a really cool driver and here's something for you older sb 2 card users.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by darknezz19, Sep 12, 2013.

  1. darknezz19

    darknezz19 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The piece of software known as kX by Eugene Gavrilov is amazing. 'How did the author achieve this' was my first thought upon reading about it's capabilities.

    That being said, it's my hope to get 5.1 games upmixed into 7.1 since a lot of them lack the feature. Not sure if that's even possible but still trying and so far got my sb0423 10k2 modded for analog 7.1, without those 4 pole camcorder cables, here's how. this looks rough atm but is just a proof of concept and you can always make it more neat.

    hxxp://i.imgur.com/T8B48v2.jpg
    (i'm a new user so change the xx to tt)

    Now, my next hurdle is to get the dsp tackled. If we clear the dsp window, should we still get sound in windows? My fear is mine's not working because it doesn't do anything after following the dsp tutorial written by Lex Nahumury.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2013
  2. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    http://www.hardwareheaven.com/general-discussion/32655-still-get-sound-when-dsp-cleared.html

    Note: That tutorial is old, and some things have changed since then. But, it should still give you the basic idea of how things work. Also, the bundled version of ProFX is old and buggy and should not be used. The current version can be found here: http://www.hardwareheaven.com/effects-dsp/70261-new-profx-3538-update-incl-mx6-ac97.html#post569877 3551 version: http://www.hardwareheaven.com/effec...3538-update-incl-mx6-ac97-27.html#post1416109 (Note: there is no 64 bit version of ProFX)
     
  3. darknezz19

    darknezz19 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Appreciate the reply Russ. I'm running 64 windows 7 so ProFX is out of the question then. Tried to route FXBus0 and 1 directly to different Epilog outputs but the sound still only comes out of the front left and right speakers.

    I'm running version 3551 and using the 32bit mixer mostly, but also tried the 64 version with the same results.
     
  4. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    If you are using the 32 bit kxmixer, then you might be able to use the 3551 version of ProFX.

    When trying different epilog pins, are you starting with a blank DSP with only FxBusX and epilog loaded (and no other connections to epilog)?
    What do you have set as the default playback device for Windows?
    Depending on which device is set as the default, then the audio may not use FxBus 0/1 at all (there is a bug with the routing of stereo only audio with kX on Vista/7 when using Master Mixer). For testing purposes (stereo only), I would suggest setting the default device to AC3/SPDIF. For 5.1 stuff you have to use Master Mixer but note that the routing of stereo only audio will not be right.

    For multi-channel stuff with Master Mixer:
    FxBus 2/3 is Front L/R
    FxBus 4/5 is Rear L/R
    FxBus 6/7 is Center/LFE

    See the tooltips for each pin on epilog to see what each pin in used for (also note kX's Swap Front and Rear setting on the Main page of kxmixer).

    Tracing the connections in the default DSP config can help you get an understanding of the DSP.
    Other useful info:
    http://www.hardwareheaven.com/effects-dsp/79582-xrouting-info.html
    http://www.hardwareheaven.com/3-d-audio/55041-surrounder-explained.html
     
  5. darknezz19

    darknezz19 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Setting the default sound device from Wave Out HQ to SPDIF worked. The DSP is now responding to different routings. When the default as Master Mixer is used there is no sound. Rolled back from 3551 to 3550 and Master Mixer works for this version.

    The only issue I'm having now is that my front left and right also play the side left and right channels. I have the DSP route only FXBusX2 and 3 to Epilog Out0 and 1 but when playing a sound test side left and right are coming out of the fronts. Tried to swap front and rear toggle with the same results. Also tried to send it through Surrounder+ with 7.1 set and got the same thing.
     
  6. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Wave Out HQ is a different thing all together. It does not use FxBus. It bypasses the DSP, but can enter the DSP via the p16v plugin for applying effects that will get mixed in with the bypassed signal, etc. For your purposes I would stick with Master Mixer (or AC3/SPDIF for testing). Note: Only Master Mixer and Wave HQ are multi-channel capable, so for 5.1/7.1 stuff, etc that is what you have to use (the rest are stereo only).

    The bug with Master Mixer causes stereo audio to get routed to one of the other sets of FxBus pins (e.g. 2/3, 4/5, or 6/7), so testing with stereo only audio using Master Mixer can be confusing. Connect peak plugins to each FxBus pin to determine which bus it is using.

    As for the side outputs, I would guess that something is wrong your modification. Maybe you are using the wrong pins or there is a short between pins.
    The ring assignments for the jacks are:
    Line Out 2
    Line Out 3

    From your picture it looks like you might be soldering directly to the board, I do not have one of these cards so I cannot verify which pins on the board are the correct one's. Double check that you are using the right one's and that you did not accidentally short two or more pins together.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2013
  7. darknezz19

    darknezz19 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When 3551 version was loaded with Wave Out HQ set to default the sound test played correctly on all channels. How would I use p16v to map Wave Out HQ through the DSP if I go back to 3551? Tried to load the default DSP and route the p16v in1 and in2 to left and right but got silence.
     
  8. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    None of my cards have Wave HQ so I am not completely familiar with it.
    It is configured through the 24/96 router.
    The following post from Maddogg6 explains the p16v pins:
     
  9. darknezz19

    darknezz19 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for all the help Russ. After messing around for a while found this DSP setup that effectively upmixed 5.1 into 7.1.

    hxxp://i.imgur.com/m56JUnk.png (change xx to tt please)

    Not sure if the Prologica is giving a center mix of the two channels or if that is even possible. At the least it combines the two and you can use Mixy4x2 to adjust levels since sliders on plugins with default GUIs are bugged.

    My other question is if 3550 provides a superior Master Mixer than 3551?
    Was this always the case with the driver on windows 7 or was this introduced in 3551?
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2013
  10. Tyrsonswood

    Tyrsonswood HH's curmudgeon

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    13,761
    Likes Received:
    1,534
    Trophy Points:
    138
    The bug is actually a Win7 issue. 3550 and 3551 are the same in this regard. 3551 seems a little more stable for me. (at the moment I don't have a KX system running but they were the heart of my studio)
     
  11. Russ

    Russ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    5,722
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Right, the problem is related to the changes made for Vista/7 compatibility and exists in both 3550 and 3551a on Vista/7. It still works correctly in Windows XP.

    Your image link appears to be dead so I cannot see what you did to upmix to 7.1. A basic way to do it would probably be to setup Surrounder+ for 5.1 with the (so-called) side speakers wired as sL/sR (rear channels on Surrounder+) and copied to the rear speakers with some added delay.

    e.g.
    Surrounder sL pin -> epilog Side Left pin
    Surrounder sL pin -> Delay -> epilog Rear Left pin

    Surrounder sR pin -> epilog Side Right pin
    Surrounder sR pin -> Delay -> epilog Rear Right pin
     
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2013
  12. darknezz19

    darknezz19 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Whoops had an extra 't' in the link, it's fixed now Russ. Surrounder+ was giving me an output issue with the left channel for some reason. It wasn't too difficult to come up with another routing possibility thanks to your guy's help.

    As for the *poping* and clicks this only occurred in mediaplayerclassic-homecinema when watching video with a 24 bit 48hz audio track. Games are fine so far, clear and crisp with whatever DSP route needed. Found a channel mapping option in mpc-hc that could do what was wanted for the side speakers. Set default audio back to Wave Out HQ and the pops and clicks in the playback are gone completely.

    Whoohoo, it all worked. Even though this driver has a couple kinks here and there she pulled through in the end:)
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2013

Share This Page

visited