To Catalyst Crew. Ugly theatre mode since 5.11.

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by dwarfy, Dec 9, 2005.

  1. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
  2. elf-heaven

    elf-heaven New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    N E E D F I X
    E
    E
    D

    F
    I
    X

    6.2 don't fix Video Mode + Theatre
     
  3. dwarfy

    dwarfy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Here we go again ...

    And still no answer. When did they stop to make fun of us ?

    (I haven't personnaly tested 6.2. My computer's psu is down at the moment ... but je te fais confiance :))
     
  4. dwarfy

    dwarfy New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We still need a fix. March is coming ... Still nothing ...

    Maybe menwhile the march madness.
     
  5. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I bought a 7800GTX.. I think a video in separate card would be the best bet at this point.
     
  6. AndyMutz

    AndyMutz Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i don't know if this is the problem that the creator of this thread means, but i recently discovered something awful about the tv out on my x800 card. i mostly watch widescreen movies, so i didn't notice this, but when i lately watched a fullscreen movie, it appeared somewhat squeezed on the tv, like i would be watching a 1,66:1 widescreen movie.
    this really sucks, and now that i saw that problem once, i see it always.. even widescreen movies appear squeezed to me now, like when i watch a 2,35:1 movie, it looks more like a 2,6:1 movie.
    is this what you were talking about, dwarfy?
    i will start filling out catalyst crew reports now until this gets corrected..

    -andy-
     
  7. GeneralClaymore

    GeneralClaymore Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2004
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    28
    or a Montior that has a component,s-video or compsite connection on it like mine. I use the Compsite connection on my montior to watch tv.
     
  8. gunnerhkjp

    gunnerhkjp New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I wonder if they will fix this ever...
    6.4 still has the same problem.

    And I want to be able to switch off overscan.
     
  9. Crash Override

    Crash Override Banned

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I highly doubt they will fix the issue.


    ATi is just gettin plain unresponsive these days.

    I've been an ATi customer for nearly 20 years and even I'm about to switch to nVidia at this point. :(
     
  10. Freddy2

    Freddy2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello all,

    not to revive an old thread... ;) but I am really interested in the status of this problem: were there any changes... improvements... :p after Catalyst 6.4, because this thread hasn't been updated since then?...
    Thanks in advance!

    Freddy
     
  11. Freddy2

    Freddy2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello again,

    I take it that the problem has been solved apparently, :w00t: since no one is answering this one... :confused: or am I being too optimistic here!?... :p

    Freddy
     
  12. Rasterize

    Rasterize New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using the Omega 3.8.252 (believe it's cat 6.7) and still have squashed aspect ratio on movies on tv out (PAL). I have resorted to play my movies in VLC without fixed aspect ration and then tweak the ration by hand, til it looks right on the tv.

    Waiting for Omega cat 6.11 to try my luck with new drivers
     
  13. Freddy2

    Freddy2 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello Rasterize,

    and thanks for the answer, even though it wasn't what I had hoped for!...
    Omega 3.8.252 is based on Catalyst 6.5 by the way! The latest Omega drivers (3.8.291) are based on Catalyst 6.9.
    Thanks again and please let me know your findings with newer drivers, as soon as you try them!

    Freddy
     

Share This Page

visited