Torrent's Mess Up My Router!!

Discussion in 'General Software Discussion' started by thingsthings, Dec 16, 2005.

  1. g35x

    g35x Hellhound Pilot

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,101
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    uhhhh dont use bitcomet.....use utorrent or bitspirit......bitcomet sucks
     
  2. thingsthings

    thingsthings New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you reckon it could be a problem with the torrent downloaders I am using rather then the router? I've tried Bitcomet and Azureus and get the same result. I will however give the two mentioned by g35x a try and see if there is any difference.

    TnT (not the dangerous kind)
     
  3. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Well there are a lot of settings in Azureus, did you tweak that and try? Maybe lower the MAX connections to under 200- it is a lot higher by default I think. Also limit your upload to 1/2 you max upload and see what happens. Maybe limit your download as well.

    Also when you say your net is gone, does it come back if you shut the torrent off? Do you have to reboot the router or does it come right back up?

    edit- just saw that......
    Anyway- I would just get the netgear, I bought that one you mentioned for my parents and it has been working for a year or more no problems. I have used it for torrents too, and it worked.

    Make sure you use Safepeer though.. anyone who downloads stuff using torrents without it is nuts.


    I have an Netgear RP614v3 (no wireless) and after a year it stopped working correctly.. I think I killed it though, it was really hot all summer and I had a lot of torrent going for quite a few days once, and then it stopped working right, it would lose connection after a few hours no matter what..

    I have an older Linksys now that seems to be working better than my netgear ever did.. so who knows. Some cheap routers just cannot handle the 500+ connections that torrents use sometimes. I heard of a problem with a certain model netgear than couldn't handle more than 200 something connections at a time. I can't find the article though.

    I bet if you got that netgear it would work fine though. For the price you should anyway, I got a real good deal on the one I bought too, like 28 bucks or something.. 20 after rebate.
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2006
  4. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    hyg

    set max outbound to 1
    [​IMG]

    max up to 50 to 70 % of you upload speed..
    max global connections to something low like less than 20 0, and try less if that doesn't work..
    [​IMG]

    If that does work then, you know your router is dying, if it doesn't, your router is dying.. or maybe just cannot handle the load.
     
  5. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    triple post :p


    http://forum.portforward.com/YaBB.cgi?board=Routers;action=display;num=1105547016


    You aren't the only one.. Has this router ever worked with bit torrent?


    EDIT- your router sucks.




    http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,11855394
    <--link in quote is old.. doesn't work.

     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2006
  6. thingsthings

    thingsthings New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for all the info BWX. I'll have to invest in a netgear then. Will I need to get a netgear wireless adapter for the second wireless pc or will the current actiontec on do?

    TnT (not the dangerous kind)
     
  7. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    If it's just an 802.11b or whatever it should work.
     
  8. thingsthings

    thingsthings New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I managed to resolve it. All I had to do is disable DHT.

    Thanks for all the help.

    TnT (not the dangerous kind)
     
  9. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Dht?
     
  10. riles9262

    riles9262 Driverheaven brewmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    4,809
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    distributed hash table. As i understand it, it allows connections to a torrent without a central tracker. More info about it is found here
     
  11. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Oh yeah I know what that is- I thought it was some setting in his router.
    I can't see how that would make a router lose sync though.. that's crazy.
     
  12. riles9262

    riles9262 Driverheaven brewmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    4,809
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hehe sorry bwx. I know what you mean though. I'm not sure why the router would have issues with that either.
     
  13. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Maybe it just overloaded the capabilities of his router.. I think it does use a lot of connections to keep track of everything.. Not sure though.
     

Share This Page

visited