Uninstalling Vista

Discussion in 'Windows & Other OS Discussion & Support' started by Sephiroth_KMFDM, Feb 1, 2007.

  1. Sephiroth_KMFDM

    Sephiroth_KMFDM New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Basically I just bought a laptop (Presario C500) and I uninstalled Vista and I tried putting XP pro back on it and it can't detect the SATA hard drive. Any ideas what I should do?Thanks guys for your time.
     
  2. pr0digal jenius

    pr0digal jenius Delete Me

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    14,526
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    you may need a floppy drive with the text mode driver files for the controller if they aren't included in the windows libaray on the XP disc.


    that usually only happens for raid controllers, but HP/COmpaq has done mroe bizarre thigns before.

    check the website for XP driver files maybe?
     
  3. Sephiroth_KMFDM

    Sephiroth_KMFDM New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Already checked Comcrap's website they aren't supporting any drivers for XP on my C500 series. =\
     
  4. pr0digal jenius

    pr0digal jenius Delete Me

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    14,526
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    my suggestion is don't go to XP then, cuz in laptop's enough stuff is manufacturer dependant, without their drivers, you're SoL
     
  5. Sephiroth_KMFDM

    Sephiroth_KMFDM New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have all the drivers for XP (video, network, wifi, ect) Because compaq likes to use the same hardware on almost every computer so thats not big deal. The issue is just i guess trying to find a way to load SATA drivers so XP knows what to do :p
     
  6. Sephiroth_KMFDM

    Sephiroth_KMFDM New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If anybody can come up with any ideas please post them. I'm going to be for 5 hours before i have to be back at work.
     
  7. pr0digal jenius

    pr0digal jenius Delete Me

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    14,526
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what happens when you load the XP Boot Disk...does it tell you it can't find a valid hard drive and ask you to press enter to quit?
     
  8. craig5320

    craig5320 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,682
    Likes Received:
    226
    Trophy Points:
    88
    You could try finding out who the actual SATA controller manufacturer is and the chipset and go directly to them, but usually that involves taking a peek at the motherboard, but in this case you prolly aren't gonna be able to do that lol.

    EDIT: Just been looking and can't find the chipset used in the laptop, perhaps if you contact support not asking for the xp drivers but the board model/sata model so you can find them yourself?
     
  9. Sephiroth_KMFDM

    Sephiroth_KMFDM New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Compaq won't give me any info on the SATA drivers or who makes them. Like it some sorta lock and key info. Well i can always pop it open and if i fuck it up just take it back to Best Buy before my 14 days are up :pYeah, as long as i find the SATA drivers i'll be a-ok.Thanks guys for your time.
     
  10. pr0digal jenius

    pr0digal jenius Delete Me

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    14,526
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    restore it back to Vista and use the device manager to figure it out ;)
     
  11. MrSpock2002

    MrSpock2002 Because I said so!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And this is why we keep you around.. Even if it is in the dark... cold... icky... basement... *tosses a bone in* good boy! :taste: :D
     
  12. pr0digal jenius

    pr0digal jenius Delete Me

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    14,526
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
  13. Sephiroth_KMFDM

    Sephiroth_KMFDM New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I deleted the partion :p
     
  14. pr0digal jenius

    pr0digal jenius Delete Me

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    14,526
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    oh....oh dear :p


    if you open it, and BB finds out, they don't take it back...so be careful ;)
     
  15. Falstaff

    Falstaff Old Codger

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2002
    Messages:
    20,553
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    123
    isnt there a rescue partition?...oh yeah...you deleted it right? I have Dell, and very happy to say that all the problems have been resolved by tech support.
     
  16. Sephiroth_KMFDM

    Sephiroth_KMFDM New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll just keep my ubuntu boot up cd in there :p They won't know. Best Buy isn't to swift when it comes to that.

    But yeah, I've been running ubuntu still can't see my SATA drive but i'm working on it still. Friday i'm gonna muster up the balls to crack opent he case and get the chip set #'s :)
     
  17. clicker666

    clicker666 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would just take it back to Best Buy, look at the clerk and shrug your shoulders, and say it doesn't work. If they have restore CDs they'll likely just set you back up again, or give you another one. Play dumb.

    (Given all the negative Vista stuff, they'll probably fall for it)
     
  18. coin

    coin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the exact same problem with my compaq c500, if you disable SATA in the bios, xp should instantly see your HDD and install fine. Downside: if you turn SATA back on in bios after installing XP, it will not boot, until you disable SATA again. Hope this helps!
     
  19. steez

    steez New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    ran into the same issues, but disabling the SATA native-mode in bios did the trick.
     
  20. MitchRapp

    MitchRapp a.k.a. pepiman

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Messages:
    969
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    laptops that come pre-loaded with Vista most often will have driver issues when putting XP
    This is why I left Vista on my girlfriend's laptop even though she hates it ... HP Pavillion laptops that come with vista ... well some don't even have XP drivers available and some of the parts are so gosh darn impossible to figure out what they are !
     

Share This Page

visited