Upgrading PC where to start?

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by KaotiK, Jan 30, 2012.

1. KaotiK

KaotiK New Member

Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6002)
    System Manufacturer: Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd.
    System Model: EX58-UD3R
    BIOS: Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU 920 @ 2.67GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.7GHz
    Memory: 6142MB RAM
    Page File: 2676MB used, 9804MB available
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
    Card name: ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
    Display Memory: 3827 MB
    Dedicated Memory: 1012 MB
    Shared Memory: 2815 MB
    Current Mode: 1680 x 1050 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Creative SB X-Fi Sound Card
    850W Corsair Power Supply

There my current pc specs, im trying to improve my setup, and hardware lately so i want to upgrade my pc again, but what should i upgradse first? or what needs to be upgraded. Ive always wanted to overclock my cpu but i have no experience doing it and have always been to scared to incase i fuck something up lol.

2. blibbax

blibbax nahm8

You could certainly consider some overclocking with that build. What cooler do you have?

Your current PC is already very good. The i7-920 keeps up with current generation mid-high-end CPUs for the most part and a 5870 (or even 5850/5830 really) is crazy overkill for 1680*1050. What are you upgrading for?

If the answer is "because I want to", I'd say get a new monitor, possibly an SSD if you don't already have one :)

3. KaotiK

KaotiK New Member

Im ordering a new monitor tommorow, i made a thread here to on that, and had some good reccomendations, so il soon be on 1980x1080? or w/e is for a 23-24 inch monitor.

Im not sure what cooler it is, but its a massive thing on the cpu cooling it lol, not a standard one anyway.