Upgrading to SSD

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by dltre, Dec 23, 2010.

1. dltre

dltre New Member

Hey Guys, I'm new to Hardware Heaven, but I've been coming here for reviews for a few months now.

I currently have a 250 GB Seagate HDD in my computer and it appears to be dying. So I decided I want to get an SSD. I'm looking for a 60-128 GB with a price range below $250 and a w/r speed of 200/100. I did a little reading about some SSDs, such as some have Samsung chips or Intel chips in them, but I don't know what is better, could someone please help me choose a good SSD? BTW, I live in Canada and Boxing day is just around the corner. I'm hoping to find some good deals.

--Thanks

Last edited: Dec 23, 2010
  2. dltre

dltre New Member

I was looking around at SSDs, and I found a boxing day sale list:
    Corsair Force 60GB - $80
    OCZ Vertex II 60 GB - $90
    OCZ Vertex II 120 GB - $180
    All three of them have w/r speed of 285/275..
    I think thats pretty good...
    I might get the OCZ Vertex II 120 GB...any thought?
    Is this a good SSD?

3. mkk

mkk Well-Known Member

It's a good option and being bigger also means that in practice the write speeds will be a bit better. If you want an SSD and need a 120GB sized one then I'd say go for it. Personally I'm fine with a 60GB drive (happens to be the Force 60GB btw) for OS and programs, but a bit more space can always be useful. Both Corsair force and OCZ Vertex 2 uses the Sandforce-1200 controller and are virtually identical products. That controller has had its problems but drives sold today should have the latest firmware which has been problem free for me. Another great drive around the same price point is the Crucial C300 series. Let the price decide.

4. synthesis204

synthesis204 New Member