Vista and 7.3 Display driver atikmdag stopped responding error

Discussion in 'AMD Graphics Cards' started by the-bullet, Mar 29, 2007.

  1. the-bullet

    the-bullet Come on you Spurs!

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    With the 7.1/7.2's I was getting the error message "Display driver R300 stopped responding and has successfully recovered" whilst gaming. Now with the 7.3's I am getting an "Display driver atikmdag stopped responding and has successfully recovered" error (Listed as warning in Event viewer). This doesn't occur with the Ati external event utility disabled, and also doesn't happen in XP. Anyone any ideas ?. Thanks....
     
  2. thirtyandover

    thirtyandover New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It was the same for me -
    Only I also randomly get the BSOD saying something about bad-poll-header.

    Even happened with Ati external event on.
     
  3. Welshwarrior

    Welshwarrior New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same problem.
    When i am playing a game i get a blackscreen for a few secs then the error in the taskbar

    With windows XP i used to get ATI Driver has stoped responding but to fix this i used older drivers. (5.2 iirc).

    The vista problem is getting realy annoying. it doesnt allow me to play games or watch videos. without some lag or stuttering, the only way i found to cut down on the errors is to use windows classic theme. ( now its basicly windows xp agian :rofl: )

    gcard : ATI X850 XTpe 256
     
  4. junka

    junka Zex Machine

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Vista + Cats 7.3 = Catastrophe, nightmarish hell and totally wucked up.
    Stick with 7.2 until the release of 7.4

    XP + 7.3= Nice, lovely and everything that is good in the world.
     
  5. the-bullet

    the-bullet Come on you Spurs!

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2003
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I never did (and still don't) get this problem under XP. Some games (eg MTW2, Rainbow 6 Vegas,Prey) play without problems. But other games (eg COD2, Black and White 2) suffer the "Display driver atikmdag stopped responding and has succesfully recovered" error. :confused: No other problems are being reported in the event viewer.
     
  6. Jerrold

    Jerrold New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just got the 7.3 beta update and installed it. Now I have the same problem here with the atikmdag recovery message after shutting down Windows Media Centre. All my BSOD problems have gone, but Half LIfe2 crashes after a few minutes and some games have awful stuttering. I guess the next while will tell the tale. I think we'll be seeing some weird stuff until they get Vista sorted out.

    ASUS Commando
    Core 2 Duo E6600
    2 Gig Kingston PC6400 RAM
    Sapphire X1950 XTX
    Soundblaster X-Fi XtremeMusic
    2 320 Gig Seagate SATA II Drives
    1 Maxtor 250 Gig SATA II Drive
    Pioneer DVD 105s
    GCE-8400B CD-RW
    AntecTruePower Trio 650 Watt PS
    Antec 900 Case
    Vista Ultimate 32 bit
    (many problems)
     
  7. Lunde

    Lunde New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2004
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can't agree with that,i had all sorts of trouble with the new 7.3 drivers on my xp machine
    ati 7.3 is just........:mad: :annoyed:
     
  8. Intelman

    Intelman New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I get this error after quitting FEAR usually, sometimes when quitting C&C 3. I see "Display driver R300 stopped responding and has successfully recovered" more often though.

    And BTW F.E.A.R. needs some tweaking still in Vista, I would like to see major gains in that game please!
     
  9. BrunchMonolith

    BrunchMonolith New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have had this issue, or one similar, since Vista RC1.

    It comprises the system locking up so hard that frequently it is unable to display even a BSOD. Running debugging tools (on the rare occasion that the system is able to write a memory dump) always points to atikmdag.sys as the culprit.

    • If it happens it'll happen within the first few hours of the system being on (could be 5 minutes after bootup, or 2 hours). If it "survives", it'll be rock solid from then onwards.
    • It usually (but not always) happens at the same time the mouse is clicked
    • It will occasionally happen during bootup
    • I also seem to have lost the VPU recover option in CCC, so when it crashes, it's gone
    I have reported this issue to tech support and offered to provide minidumps but got no response. By chance I saw the AMD KB article about this. This article claims that it is due to using a mobo with a chipset that is unsupported in Vista, but offers no other information.

    Pentium 4 3.2GHz with HT
    Abit IS7-E2 mobo
    Radeon 9700
    1GB RAM
    X-Fi Platinum
    80GB SATA hard drive

    The Intel 865PE chipset is supported in Vista by Intel and drivers are provided from both them and Abit.
     
  10. hansolo77

    hansolo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I, too, have this problem. I'm not really interested in having my system working to play high end video games. Low FPS and stuttering in my games is the least of my worries. I've built a custom HTPC for running Vista Media Center as my DVR. I've had the system and hardware now for almost 2 years and never had any problems with it. I got Vista a month ago and have been trying to get it to work correctly ever since. Media Center loads up and runs fine while in the interface, but whenever videos are playing the program crashes. I get the errors of the R300 driver stopped responding and restarted. When I look in the event viewer it points to the atikmdag file as being what failed. I've researched this on multiple forums and tried everything. Reinstalling drivers, disabling the card's secondary device, disabling the ATI event handler, disabling the hot key poller, setting the Vista theme/performance to basics, setting the resolution to 640x480, decreasing the BIOS' agp speed to 4x... nothing works. I read on one forum that this is a problem with compatibility with Vista's rendering of jpg's where it opens a vulnerability to a Denial of Service attack, yet I'm running a hardware and software firewall which should prevent such a thing from happening. I've also read on ATI's site that this is a known issue with certain motherboard chipsets that are incompatible with Vista. This can't be the case either because as I said, everything runs fine within the system until I'm running any kind of fullscreen video. These are my system specs:

    ABIT KV-85 Motherboard (latest BIOS and chipset drivers)
    AMD Sempron 2600+ CPU
    2gb DDR2 400mhz RAM (2x1024mb)
    1gb Corsair TurboFlash USB ReadyBoost drive
    Custom Pagefile of 5000mb-15000mb on C:\
    Onboard Audio
    ATI Radion X800 Pro AGP (512mb)
    Sharp Aquos 37" LCD TV (native res 1360x768) connected via VGA cable
    Hauppauge PVR-150
    1x500gb Samsung OEM SATA drive (C:\ is 50gb and E:\ is 450gb)
    1x250gb Samsung OEM SATA drive (D:\ is 250gb)
    Sony DRU-530 DVDR/W Drive
    Vista Ultimate x86 (latest versions of everything from Windows Update)
     
  11. rhyinem

    rhyinem AMD Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey Folks,

    Can some of you with this issue try your system with 1GB of RAM installed and see if there's the same issue? I'm trying to test this theory out...

    Cheers!
     
  12. hansolo77

    hansolo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I actually had this problem when I had only 1 gb of ram. I recently bought 2gb and the readyboost drive to see if ram was my problem. I'm sad to say it doesn't appear to be a problem there. Another thing I was going to try to upgrade the CPU to a 3200+, but thought I'd hold off until there's more progress on this. I also need to report an apology. I mislabeled my videocard as having 512mb ram onboard.. it actually only has 256.

    Here's a direct cut/paste from my error log:

    Event Log->Application (Creates !Error)
    Code:
    [SIZE=1]
    The description for Event ID 1000 from source Application Error cannot be found. Either the component that raises this event is not installed on your local computer or the installation is corrupted. You can install or repair the component on the local computer.
    If the event originated on another computer, the display information had to be saved with the event.
    The following information was included with the event: 
    ehshell.exe
    6.0.6000.16386
    4549b55e
    atiumdva.dll
    7.14.10.144
    45e889e2
    c0000005
    000785f4
    The substitution string for insert index (%1) could not be found
    [/SIZE]
    Event Log->System (Creates !Warning)
    Code:
    [SIZE=1]
    Display driver atikmdag stopped responding and has successfully recovered.
    [/SIZE]
     
  13. Th3_VVr41th

    Th3_VVr41th New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not sure if this will help anyone else, but I was getting all the same errors as well.
    Did a fresh instal of vista, installed the 7.3's, then installed the 7.3 hotfix, still got the ATIKMDAG error in all games.

    Noticed it only happened when the system/driver was trying to change the fan speed on my x1900xtx when the GPU temp started to rise.

    Installed ATI tool 027 beta and used it to set just the fan speed on the card to 100% and I haven't had a problem since.

    I posted this in another thread: http://www.driverheaven.net/1044512-post256.html.

    I just finished playing a bunch of different games, testing it out, and not one crash or driver stop. Maybe it will work for others.
     
  14. Indestructible

    Indestructible New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been having this particular problem since the first Vista drivers I installed (7.1). This only happens when exiting a game and returning to Windows, I played a Supreme Commander match for about 5 or 6 hours one day and it was perfect until I quit the game. Sometimes I get the stopped responding and recovery message, but most of the time the system just goes down hard and reboots. The only way I can get it to stop doing this is to re-install the whole OS and the drivers or disable the Ati External Event Utility (same fix they suggest for the BSOD loop issue with the 7.3s). Disabling that service seems to shuts down Overdrive as a side effect, which sucks but at least the system is stable.

    I'm now on my third installation of Vista, this last run has been stable (about a month) until yesterday this problem started occuring out of nowhere yet again. I've been only using Catalyst 7.2 and 7.3 on this installation and both were fine until now. It doesn't seem like it's anything in particular that i'm installing to trigger this. The last thing I installed was C&C3 a week or two ago and i've been able to play it and quit without error just fine. Unless it was one of the Windows Updates that hosed it again, who knows. I've been trying to figure out the event or sequenece that triggers this to start occuring, but haven't been able to. System Restoring to point where it was working is no help either once the problem happens once.

    I just hope the good people at ATI can get this figured out for 7.4 or it's back to XP for me again.
     
  15. thirtyandover

    thirtyandover New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And exactly where do we find this tool? :)


     
  16. Th3_VVr41th

    Th3_VVr41th New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
  17. hansolo77

    hansolo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I just google searched for it and found it. Didn't seem to work for me. Still crashes or locks up.
     
  18. silvershnoop

    silvershnoop New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I having a similar problem. Mine occurs when using Vista Media Centre (it may occur other times as well but I haven't noticed as I'm building a HTPC so thats its main use). The screen will pause, go black - the cursor will appear indicating the system is busy for about a second before returning to displaying the video. This can happen both during livetv and recorded and it can happen multiple times . Just checked the log and its happened 3 times in the last 30 mins!

    Event Log shows the following Warning each time:
    "Display driver atikmdag stopped responding and has successfully recovered."

    I'm using the 7.3 drivers

    Here are my the system specs:

    Vista Home Premium 32bit Version
    AMD X2 4200+
    Biostar TA690G (Radeon X1250 onboard)
    2GB 677 Kingston Valueram
    Hauppauge Nova-T 500
    Western Digital 500Gb
     
  19. hansolo77

    hansolo77 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm glad to see somebody else is having this problem with Media Center. I was afraid my problem was isolated. Hopefully somebody will get this figured out for us.
     
  20. rhyinem

    rhyinem AMD Staff

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Obviously using ATI Tool is not supported directly by ATI but it does give us some more insight into the problem.

    When running the ATI Tool, are you disabling or modifying any of the ATI system services like the External Event Utility or Hotkey Poller?

    Cheers!
     

Share This Page

visited