Vista Chattiness Is in the Eye (Ear?) of the Beholder

Discussion in 'Industry News' started by Vikingod, Jan 30, 2007.

  1. Vikingod

    Vikingod Int'l Fish Liaison

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    16,226
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Source: eWEEK
    __________
    Some have taken exception with Vista's permission-asking proclivity, but it may be that we've just become too cavalier about making fundamental changes to our systems.

    Among early adopters of Microsoft's freshly minted Windows Vista operating system, the strongest reactions so far seem not to revolve around the system's fancy new looks or its handy search facilities, but rather around Vista's knack for asking permission to carry out operations that require administrative privileges.
     
  2. DudeBoyz

    DudeBoyz banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think you can turn that feature off, can't you?

    If not, they should make it like it is on the Mac. It's not a big deal - I think they found a good balance on OS X.
     
  3. Lelisevis

    Lelisevis Howlin at the moon

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,629
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mind it's stretching it a bit far when you turn on the wall socket and a little voice echoes from the corner 'Are you sure you want to send electricity to your powersupply?'
     
  4. Vikingod

    Vikingod Int'l Fish Liaison

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2004
    Messages:
    16,226
    Likes Received:
    117
    Trophy Points:
    88
    Folks like us, that have a pretty good grip on their machines, it is a pain. The people who ask me for advice at work, at the bar, etc. I think it really is a godsend. It makes an attempt at preventing people to just click 'OK' every time they download something for the internet. It's far from perfect, but you can only combate social engineering so much.

    You can turn it off, so I think the whole debate is much ado about nothing.
     
  5. DudeBoyz

    DudeBoyz banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As long as MS gives users the choice, I think folks will be ok with it. It's when we don't get a choice and get that stuff forced down our throats that kinda sucks and gets ya mad, I figure.
     
  6. Sonata

    Sonata New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That will be the first thing I turn off when I install the final, it annoyed me in a beta version. Come Cisco release a VPN client that supports Vista x64 and I will be happy.
     
  7. craig5320

    craig5320 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,682
    Likes Received:
    226
    Trophy Points:
    88
    It didn't bother me, but I did deactivate while I set up my machine with all my stuff, and I never turned it back on, it's quite good for the average user as it means virus, spyware etc shouldn't be able to install with out the users full permission, as only a mouseclick is accepted on the screen. If it was asking for your password like some other piece of software, that'd be really annoying, but as it stands i think it's a great addition for the home user, but for us power users MS were kind enough to let us disable it, so where's the problem?
     
  8. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    yes you can, and it takes 10 seconds. Another idiotic article.
     
  9. DudeBoyz

    DudeBoyz banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Maybe I'm just to jaded against Microsoft.

    But they've done so much bad and annoying crap, I am flat out tired of cutting them slack, you know?

    How many times can you get kicked in the head before you get sick of it and make a change?

    I went out and spent $2000 on a 24" iMac, but I still end up working in Windows cause that's where all my apps are. Plus, I'm used to the keystrokes that Windows uses instead of what the Mac uses. I just get things done faster and easier in Windows, and until OS X gets more of the kind of apps I want to use, I'm kinda stuck there.
     
  10. Lelisevis

    Lelisevis Howlin at the moon

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,629
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes I can see where your coming from I mean thats obviously all Microsofts fault. How dare they make you buy a iMac. As arguments go that doesn't exactly rank up their with the best.
     

Share This Page

visited