What are you folding with

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by PandaZ3, Jan 29, 2007.

  1. procupine14

    procupine14 Why is it Beeping!?!?!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    58
    my 3800+ X2 is avging like 23s/frame
    but its oced to 2.52
     
  2. Tipstaff

    Tipstaff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Messages:
    9,427
    Likes Received:
    1,025
    Trophy Points:
    123
    From my understanding, technically the GPU client will run faster on the best AMD card out there vs the PS3 running the same WU. However, since the PS3 can work on more varieties of WUs (although not as many as the CPU client), completion time (in direct comparison) are going to vary as the GPU client can only work on a small group of WUs (2-3 types if I remember correctly). But again, running the same WU on the fastest AMD card should be faster.

    To paraphrase the F@H team, "it's [FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]faster than CPU, but slower than GPU, more flexible than GPU, but less than CPU".[/FONT]
     
  3. PandaZ3

    PandaZ3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I am updating my OP again as I have retired the P3-1000 and the 2.4 P4. The P4 was replaced with a EPoX 8RDA6+Pro, 2600 Mobile over clocked to 2.2 so it should show 20 to 25% more efficiency than the P4. The P3 with a ASUS A8N-E and Opteron 148 also at 2.2, but more capable. It is havig problems at the moment though and It might not be till next weekend till I can work on it (Mother board, not recognizing my SATA DVD Burner or SATA HDD, We'll see)
     
  4. PandaZ3

    PandaZ3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Well My ASUS will Post, but not recognize any drive other than the floppy, I reflashed the BIOS hoping it was just corrupted, but it seems more serious. I had replaced the ASUS originally, as I had a problem with my PSU (Seasonic Silencer 460, since RMA'd and a new one at hand) and I think it (The PSU) took part of the board with it when it failed.

    I do have a EPoX 939 board on the way from a E-Bay seller... I did not find a new Abit NF4 Ultra board or Epox for that matter. so E-Bay became the choice and no Abit's there to my liking.

    It will be a week before the Opteron 148 starts producing.
     
  5. PandaZ3

    PandaZ3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I did add a Abit AT8 to my original post and deleted the Asus A8N-E as I have yet to get it running. I have a trick up my sleeve if I can just find the right shirt! :rolleyes: might get the Asus running yet.
     
  6. PandaZ3

    PandaZ3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Well I was not tricky enough the ASUS is bad broke, I am now running the Abit AT8 with the GPU client on a X1800 XT, not as fast as my X1900 XT that folds for a different team, but it is better thab the 5.03 CPU client.
     
  7. amarid

    amarid New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1. Athlon 64 X2 4000+ EE AM2 - standard CPU client running 20 hours a day - everyday on. XP Pro machine.

    2. ATI HD 3870 @ 880 / 2260 MHz - fed by Athlon 64 X2 3600+ EE AM2 - GPU client with 4713 project (a 10 000 frames) - 2277.13 PPD - running 24/7/365 except power shortages / crashes / unexpected problems.
    In night times on other core runs standard CPU client with 120-150 PPD.
    Vista Business machine.
     
  8. PandaZ3

    PandaZ3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I tried that several weeks ago ... GPU client on my 3870, but Vista 64 Ultimate didn't like it..... I'll try again.
     
  9. Al_Vampyre

    Al_Vampyre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Slightly off topic but whats the point of folding to find a cure for disease for a percentage of the population when the resulting increase in power usage will, if you believe the green agenda, accelerate the effects of climate change thereby affecting all the population?
     
  10. PandaZ3

    PandaZ3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    1. Cancer is real

    2. Green is a theory
     
  11. Al_Vampyre

    Al_Vampyre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Don't get me wrong mate...I agree with you but I did stop folding because my PC was pulling huge amounts of wattage...and believe me my electricity bill was real too!
     
  12. Blazer

    Blazer Tweeker

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    For Team 51394

    I am using 2 Asus 3850's in crossfire configuration, and they are both folding independantly !!
     
  13. PandaZ3

    PandaZ3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    No problem! It does take money, that is for sure! And budgets are more real than "if's" I think we all do what we can when we can.
     
  14. PandaZ3

    PandaZ3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    429
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I can't get mt 3870 folding with Vista 64
     
  15. Mekhed

    Mekhed New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Happy to be making a contribution. It is after all a donation. A donation usually has a price attached to it.

    AMD 4800+ x2 3870

    P4 3.2EE OCed @3.6

    And Sig
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 25, 2008
  16. H3X4D3C1M4L

    H3X4D3C1M4L New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Folding with....

    P3 1GHz on a CUV-4X with 1.5GB RAM, my OpenBSD nas/server/PF machine
    Asus F3Sc (T7100, 1.8GHz Core 2 Duo 1GB RAM, runs 24/7 except for the odd battery powered run)
    Athlon XP 3000+ on a DFI LanParty NF2 with 2GB
    Core 2 Duo E6300 @ 2.8GHz (400 FSB) on a P5B with 3 GB RAM
    Athlon K7 600 on an IBM motherboard with 512MB of RAM
    P2 400 with 192MB of RAM, some old Compaq refurb machine I picked up somewhere
    Soon an IBM Thinkpad 390X with a Celeron 400MHz and 64MB of ram (trying to find more)

    With the noted exception of the server machine all run XP.
     

Share This Page

visited