What Brand of Memory do you use?

Discussion in 'Polls' started by Stuart_Davidson, Nov 9, 2007.

?

Which brand of memory do you use?

  1. Corsair

    77 vote(s)
    29.7%
  2. Crucial

    20 vote(s)
    7.7%
  3. Geil

    12 vote(s)
    4.6%
  4. Kingston

    30 vote(s)
    11.6%
  5. OCZ

    52 vote(s)
    20.1%
  6. Supertalent

    5 vote(s)
    1.9%
  7. Other

    63 vote(s)
    24.3%
  1. sovietdoc

    sovietdoc New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am using OCZ 4000 Plat EB because it's the very best DDR1 ram you can buy. If I was to upgrade now, I'd be running Dominators even though they burn out in 2 months.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2007
  2. magicius

    magicius New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wheres Mushkin??? :annoyed:
     
  3. H3X4D3C1M4L

    H3X4D3C1M4L New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    6,793
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OCZ these days. Great prices and always had rock solid performance and reliability from them. Any warranty concerns I have had were taken care of swiftly. Before that (back in the PC100 days) it was Samsung or Kingston.

    Just research... I look at what's available, then research my options then pick what I think is the best then usually buy my 2nd choice due to lack of money funds :lol:
     
  4. gdug@sbcglobal.net

    gdug@sbcglobal.net New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    G.Skill . Strictly for the over-clocking.
     
  5. Blazer

    Blazer Tweeker

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I use OCZ, it was the cheapest with heat spreaders when I purchased it, + it has a lifetime waranty which I have already taken advantage of once, and their support is second to none.
     
  6. Satans Arse

    Satans Arse Dreams Of Sleep

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
  7. Shaga

    Shaga Intelligent Life Form

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Kingston HyperX DDR434. There wasn't any ocz/mushkin/corsair/geill or crucial memory sticks available in here.
     
  8. serez

    serez New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    personally use crucial balistix
     
  9. sushrukh

    sushrukh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2006
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I 'm currently using Transcend 1GB DDR2 800 Value ram with no heat spreader.Costed me $150. :eek:
     
  10. werty316

    werty316 BANNED

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am currently sittin' on some phat DDR2-800 Dominator sticks.
     
  11. Yousaif

    Yousaif Allergic to WiFi

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
  12. hasher

    hasher if u got some ,pass it around

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    mushkin fastest at time plus greet quality
     
  13. Shike

    Shike Official Cyberpunk ^_-

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Mark me down for Mushkin too, they make some excellent stuff really.
     
  14. dipstick

    dipstick New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,609
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I recently saw some some G.Skill 2GB sticks on sale and couldn't resist. It's my first time running this brand but I have been impressed. They OC very well and run at very low voltage which is nice because my Patriot ram at 2.2v was scorching at times.
    4GB(2x2GB) for $129 was just too tempting not to get two sets:)
     
  15. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dipstick,
    What happen with the G.Skill's and the Maximus Formula? Can you now use all 8 GB on the board?
     
  16. dipstick

    dipstick New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,609
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just had a couple of bad sticks. I got them replaced and its been running great since. Nice cheap ram tho, they oc well and run on low voltage (1.9v is enough for four sticks on this board). They've also dropped to $115 per 4GB since I bought them, I wonder how low they can go lol.
     
  17. PangingJr

    PangingJr Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,989
    Likes Received:
    56
    Trophy Points:
    0
    thanks for the reply Dipstick. it’s best that you found out the problem with the RAM stick itself so quickly.

    there're more odds things can happen when populating all 4 DIMM slots, and it's most likely a compatibility issue with some certain RAM sticks and some certain board.
    in the case of the compatibility of RAM sticks, with an RMA request, G.Skill might help you locate ones that's compatible with each others.

    there's a chance of a BIOS bug also, i used to run into a problem, which i found that it's an odd BIOS bug, i mean i tried all the identical RAM sticks in the house, tried populating just one, two and all 4 DIMM slots and in any combination, i would get same error at the same stage. i had to reflash BIOS back to previous version and then reflashed back and forth a few time until i sure it's a BIOS bug and a compatibility issues.

    anyways, good to know that those sticks are working well for you, i will try it myself soon.
     
  18. dipstick

    dipstick New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,609
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No problem. The ram is cheap, it feels cheap, but it runs like advertised with low voltage. Can't ask for more than that. I did get four bad sticks out of six but they do run well on the Maximus and the P5K Deluxe.
    I know that using four sticks makes some boards flip out but I've had extremely good luck on the P35 and X38's -my old P5WDH(975x) doesn't like to OC much with all slots loaded.
    For testing memory I use the MS memory test on my Vista install dvd. If the memory passes overnight extended tests its good to go. First thing I always do is check each stick individually so its easy to find the dead ones. No point in continuing if they cant run alone;)
    I will say however that I miss the P5k, not only is it a better OC'er than the Maximus but its the best OC'er I've ever owned. I could do 485x7 on it with everything on auto, but I seem limited to 425x8 now. The x38 needs too much voltage and runs way hotter.
     
  19. Sic Puppy

    Sic Puppy Live from the Energy City of NZ

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    53
    G-Skill. First time user of it and quite surprised with performance/price ratio. Great stuff!
     
  20. kris23

    kris23 Going Insane.....

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    5,984
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Transcend AxeRAM 1200MHz

    pretty good stuff for the cash. like em

    P.S. old thread huh?
     

Share This Page

visited