What can i do?

Discussion in 'Overclocking, Benching & Modding' started by Shwompy, Dec 27, 2004.

1. Shwompy

Shwompy New Member

I got a brand new computer for Christmas, and i bought the game half life 2 and a Tv card. I intalled the tv card has some problems, but finally got it fixed. Then i installed half-life thinking it was going to be great, after fixing some problems with that i finally got to play. Maybe my graphics card is bad, because the damn game skips like no other. I mean this is brand new 3 days old, and its top of the line HP. Here are my Specs.

530 Intel Pentium 4 3.00GHz
    512MB Pc3200 DDR Sdram
    200GB HardDrive
    Dvd+rw/CD-RW Duble Layer
    Cd-Rom Drive
    Intel Graphics Media Accelerator With 128Mb shared video Memory
    800MGz Front Bus

Can any1 tell me what the next thing i should do to this computer, Its pretty nice now, but i cant play the game, im not sure why..

Thanks

P.s IF you didint know yet i am a noob at this.

2. drakesteakn

drakesteakn boo!!!!

i dont think the graphics card is bad. just has slow performance.

3. Logla

Logla Well-Known Member

Make that very slow performance. The shared memory is going to have a big hit on performance because it is borrowed from the system memory. That will knock you down to 384MB of RAM.

The best solution is to see if you have a spare PCI-express slot (I'm asuming this pc has PCI-express) and then go buy a new graphics card.

Problem with the HP machines is that they often take away the ability to upgrade certain components.

4. CDsDontBurn

CDsDontBurn AMD & Petrol Heads Mod

because the system is running DDR400, i think it might have an AGP slot instead of a PCI-E. I could be wrong of course. But yea, that integrated graphics w/128Mb of shared video is what is killing your performance for HL2.

5. >GSXR<mrbusa

>GSXR<mrbusa MY BIKE vvv

congrats on the new system.