What cpu do you have in your system..?

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by Asmoday, Jun 29, 2002.

  1. Jaxon

    Jaxon New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi new here,

    Duron 1G @ 1.2,

    AMD was just easier on my pocket at the time.
     
  2. digitalwanderer

    digitalwanderer Colour Commentator

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    5,619
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes the are!

    Those duron's were about the best value around for a long while, they're a great bang-for-buck! I was mighty tempted by them more than a few times.
     
  3. w|red

    w|red New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My main box has a Celeron 700mhz and my laptop has an Athlon4 1.1ghz. Needless to say the laptop overpowers the main box by a longshot :D
     
  4. JavaFox

    JavaFox E Pluribus Unum

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re:

    Pssssh, AMD is always easier on the pocketbook. :D


    As far as my household... 1.4GHz Thunderbird, 1.1GHz Duron, 800MHz Duron, 450MHz K6-2, a P4 1.6A, and a Pentium 66.

    The P66, obviously, was bought a long time ago. It wasn't my choice. And I built the P4 system to sell, not for my own use. :)
     
  5. Dom

    Dom New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Messages:
    12,940
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have two P4 1.8Ghz processors and one P3 800Mhz processor.
     
  6. brc64

    brc64 Zeeky H. Bomb

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re:

    Not always. If you're building a computer from scratch, then yeah, but if you're looking to upgrade, it depends on what you're upgrading. I just paid $115 for a 1 GHz Pentium 3. Show me where I can get a comperable motherboard, DDR RAM, and an AMD certified power supply.. not to mention a CPU all for that price and I'll cancel my order right now. :)

    - Me
     
  7. JavaFox

    JavaFox E Pluribus Unum

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re:


    Shiiit, you aren't trying hard enough!
    ECS K7S5A - $54
    AMD Athlon 1.1GHz - $66.00

    That board allows you to use both PC133 or PC2100. It will take XPs, and I've yet to read a negative thing about it. I've owned two, and they are stellar. As for the powersupply, if you've got one that can drive a P3 1GHz, it'll handle an Athlon 1.1GHz. If you absolutely NEED a AMD certified 300W'er, you can nab one for $27.00.

    So, that's $120 without powersupply and $147 with.

    Don't be lame. If you're going to be an AMD hater, at least be a hater for a real reason. Be like "I'm buying Intel 'cause AMD's are too hot!" like all the other Intel fanboys. :)
     
  8. williamt1688

    williamt1688 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    processor

    althon 1.33 t-bird here...
     
  9. tianqi

    tianqi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    now P4 1.5G
     
  10. alewisa

    alewisa New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2002
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    And for those of us who have more than one system, and perhaps more than one brand of CPU?

    I have 3 Athlons, 2 AMD Kx-xxx, and 8 Intel boxes (PPro, P1,PII, PIII,). Oh, and add a Sun box, trio of Amigas, C-64, TRS-80, and a few others... or do I vote 13 times?
     
  11. brc64

    brc64 Zeeky H. Bomb

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re:

    Well, if I did decide to go AMD (which I probably will when I build my next computer anyway), I would go all out. I don't want no stinking SDRAM holding my system back. Boards that take both are cool and all, but it limits me in terms of future upgrades (I tend to like to have ALL my RAM slots filled :D). As for the power supply, don't AMD boards have a different power connector for the motherboard? Granted, I could probably find an adaptor for my 300W power supply, but once again, if I was building myself a brand new system, I'd rather go all out.

    - Me
     
  12. RadeonMAXX

    RadeonMAXX Made Man

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got a Athlon 1600 @1.4ghz.
     
  13. SnoopyII

    SnoopyII New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have an Athlon XP 1800+ @ 1711, a PIII 600 /100fsb @ 6x133=800 (wife's comp), and this funky PIII in a PII 440LX chipset mobo...

    Funky PIII

    hope it's okay to post a link to another forum...
     
  14. ratso

    ratso New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AMD

    Athlon XP 1500+
    Mac 450 G4

    Ain't life sweet!
     
  15. zzdiesel

    zzdiesel New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    P4 2.53
     
  16. 4thDimension

    4thDimension New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have an XP 1700+ right now but I previously owned a p4 1.7ghz. Both are great chips.
     
  17. Maskclone2k

    Maskclone2k New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Athlon XP 1600+
     
  18. reno

    reno Painlord of Ichor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,606
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    48
    yo tengo

    el pene del toro

    anyway, intel all the way, except a duron/mobo/ram combo I got for 130 bucks on sale. AMD just doesn't have the right *feel* for me, I don't know how to explain it but they just feel different.
     
  19. griff

    griff New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AMD 1800XP.
     
  20. brc64

    brc64 Zeeky H. Bomb

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    826
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: yo tengo

    Hotter? :D

    - Me
     

Share This Page

visited