What CPU Do You Use?

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by JavaFox, Jun 8, 2003.

?

What CPU Do You Use?

  1. AMD

    150 vote(s)
    65.5%
  2. Intel

    79 vote(s)
    34.5%
  3. Transmeta

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. VIA

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. JavaFox

    JavaFox E Pluribus Unum

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We had a poll like this a while back, and the results came back overwhelmingly in favor of AMD. I am interested to see if the tides have changed at all, with the P4 having struck back in such a powerful way.

    So... what CPU do you use in your MAIN rig?
     
  2. eyeguy616

    eyeguy616 ZZzzzzzzzzzz...........

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AMD = bangbangbang

    I use AMD mostly becuase of the high bang/buck. I got my 2500+ w/hsf for $96 !! :w00t: :w00t:

    Although, the more I read about VIA's new C3 Nehemia processor, the more it makes me want to get one and make file server / PVR / DVD / Audio player out of it. Here is a great site that features "projects" involving VIA's tiny C3 mobos. Super-sweeeet.... :drool:
    ~eyeguy616
     
  3. MikeDaMan

    MikeDaMan New Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I agree with eyeguy. I'm still using AMD mainly because its a lot cheaper than Intel and just as fast, if not faster.
     
  4. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    73
    AMD- much better price/performance ratio.

    I have a trusty 1800xp palaminonow- showing it's age. My "upgrade" will be a lower rated 1700xp, funny kinda- But with a new N force 2 the 1700xp (tbredB- JIUHB) OC'd will give me all I need for a year if not more.
     
  5. JavaFox

    JavaFox E Pluribus Unum

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah. My 1700+ is humming along at a toasty 2900+ (2.33GHz) right now. Sweet. ;)
     
  6. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I know man, that is SO awsome- Just think, what will you get for 60 bucks in an Intel chip? An old pentiumIII maybe? No one can argue with the amazing value and performance of many of AMD's chips. ;) I'm sold on them.
     
  7. JavaFox

    JavaFox E Pluribus Unum

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You could get a used P4 1.6A for $60, I suppose. But while those are pretty decent overclockers, I can't say I remember them hitting 2900+ to 3200+ speeds as easily as the new 1700+s.

    Well, at any rate, as far as new products go, AMD's value cannot be understated. I mean, come on, P4 1.8As are still well over $100 -- you can get 2500+ Bartons for $90
     
  8. fornicatarachnid

    fornicatarachnid Clanless

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AMD Athlon XP2400 @ 2.05 Ghz ;)
     
  9. JLP

    JLP New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2002
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AMD

    All of my systems use AMD Athlons (1200MHz - 2100+). And they are all working great and give you the most for the money you spend.
     
  10. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    I used to be primarily an Intel man, ive still fond memories of my Pentium 120 and playing mechwarrior.

    Since the thunderbirds ive been sold on AMD, mainly as everyone says, price to performance ratio.

    currently im running a barton 3000+ @ 2500mhz (around 3500+ on current AMD figures).

    They make awesome processors, hopefully they can continue to keep making them.
     
  11. kernel

    kernel Guest

    Always AMD

    I've always used amd and still do, my main rig has 2500+ barton, I got amd in all 5 of my other machines too, all the way down to a slot A athlon (code name argon ;) )
     
  12. Stuart_Davidson

    Stuart_Davidson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    5,843
    Likes Received:
    188
    Trophy Points:
    73
    I have one of each... XP2000+ and a P4 2.53...but the 2.53 is in a machine running 2k3 server for some coursework i'm doing so my main rig is the AMD. Now i have a 2600+ arriving sometime this week....can't wait.

    Stu
     
  13. nForcer

    nForcer Twice the fun!

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    1,404
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Diehard Intel fan. Built systems using both - had best luck with Intel systems. You get what you pay for.
     
  14. Veeoh

    Veeoh New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2002
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    AMD Athlon XP 2400+ running at 2.076ghz :)
     
  15. Y2Stu

    Y2Stu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i am a built by Intel Man :)
     
  16. tek

    tek New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Right now AMD Athlon XP2100+ at stock (Palomino)
    Soon - AMD Athlon XP1700+ Tbred-B JIUHB 1.5V

    Btw: INTEL BLOWS DONKEY BALLS
     
  17. choppy9er

    choppy9er New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What CPU Do You Use

    I have four systems now(addicted!!),1 2400+,2 2100+,1 1700+.I really like the Thoroughbred AMD chips because of their speed and value.I have them all running 2.2 gig and over.Choppy
     
  18. Jamboguy

    Jamboguy New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Imo Intel CPU's are far superior and are a lot more stable. Cost is becoming a lot closer too.
     
  19. Stafford

    Stafford New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2002
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I won't even really consider Intel now.

    Still using an Athlon 900@1Ghz though:tears:

    I'm considering the Athlon XP 2500+ (Barton) w/ 512K L2 cache on an Abit NF7-S.
     
  20. The_Neon_Cowboy

    The_Neon_Cowboy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2002
    Messages:
    16,076
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    73
    barton 2500+ ... amd rules
     

Share This Page

visited