What CPU Do You Use?

Discussion in 'Hardware Discussion & Support' started by JavaFox, Jun 8, 2003.

?

What CPU Do You Use?

  1. AMD

    150 vote(s)
    65.5%
  2. Intel

    79 vote(s)
    34.5%
  3. Transmeta

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. VIA

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. mike2h

    mike2h New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    6,359
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Zardon

    what benchmarks do you favor & consider closest to 'real world'? i have never really bechmarked my computers. i use sisoft & 3dmark 2001 mostly to test my overclocks stability. i am getting a p4p800 in 2-3 weeks with a 2.4c. i am hoping to get some scores that will compete with some of the amd rigs on this forum. though my 3d scoress will suck compared to you guys because of my g4. i am going to have to hit the forums up for advice because i have never overclocked a ddr rig before(i am rambus & pc133). think it will be fun!
     
  2. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Re: Re: Re: zardon

    I smell an ATI hater-- .... :hmm: :( j/k --- but really, ATI isn't that bad man, the drivers work great for me. Even on my slow-@55 system.


    OK, back to CPU discussion. AMD + ATI = fast & fun to crank AA and AF and watch the FPS soar for me.. Hmmm, now all I need is an Nforce 2 and 1700 Tbred that can increase it's default clock by 50% out of the box for 52 bucks!!! I can't wait. :D
     
  3. Vampyromaniac

    Vampyromaniac confutatis maledictis

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,974
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi

    Currently: AMD
    Next CPU: AMD

    Intel's fastest chips may be the fastest overall, but only by a relatively small margin, and I don't need something that fast badly enough to spend that much money on it, anyway. I wouldn't mind having one, but I sure won't buy one. But then I would never spend $400 on a CPU that performs maybe 30% faster than a $100 CPU (but costs 300% more.) I just don't have that kind of money to throw around.

    Then if you look at slightly slower CPU's, comparing the equivalents from Intel and AMD, the AMD's always cost less. If you were buying a car and you saw one with a 3-litre / 245bhp / 200ft-lbs torque V-6 for $32,000, and another with 2.8-litre / 240bhp / 210ft-lbs torque V-6 for $20,000 (the rest of the cars being equal,) which would you buy? Sure, that's not a direct comparison, but you probably understand where I'm coming from.
     
  4. muirplayer57

    muirplayer57 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    isnt the overclockability of the JIUHB 1700+ just great...? :)
     
  5. muirplayer57

    muirplayer57 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    woa your 3dmark score kinda low...
     
  6. peterosesbookie

    peterosesbookie New Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am running Dual AMD Athlon MP 2800+'s

    I have been running Dual AMD for about 2 1/2 years with my Tyan Thunder K7, the first dual made before the chips, and still going strong til the end of the line. I was running dual 1900+'s, then one burned out, and I decided to upgrade to the lastest 2600+'s. At the point the receieved them from the FedEx man, AMD released the 2800's (upset at that time since I would lose $63 + the shipping them back). I waited for a while and then bought the 2800's (hopefully the last of the MP's). I do not have a great videocard so I really cannot join the fastest AMD rig and probably the programs are not dual threaded. So I am off to SiSoft Sandra my new puppies.

    later

    pete
     
  7. mike2h

    mike2h New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    6,359
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    0
    pricing

    up front i would like to say again that amd is a very good value. that said, i would like to point out that amd top of the line xp 3200 is $39 MORE than intels p4 3.0 800. & is slower. now i, like most people here would never pay those prices even if i had the money. but the pricing is... interesting.
    not sure what to compare it to, but i would be real interested to see a comparison between a p4 2.4 800 hp & what ever amd cpu matches up with it. at standard & 'stock' overclocked speeds. that p4 cpu can be had for $173. just not sure which amd cpu you would put up against it. it will be a few weeks before i get my new mthbrd/cpu/ram setup. can not believe how much high quality ddr is. oh well.:)
     
  8. SQUACHY

    SQUACHY I am GOD and you're all BS

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    INTEL WOOT!!!

    all you naysayers DIE!!!! :evil: :evil: :evil:
     
  9. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Re: pricing

    Exactly, but if you factor in the 1700 Tbred that will do a 50% oc- then you have the best value on the planet.
     
  10. mike2h

    mike2h New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    6,359
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    0
    which will what, make it almost as fast as a 2.4c. which has been reliably overclocked to 3gig +.
    if i remeber correctly you can buy those tbred for sub $100. so that is a very good buy.
     
  11. Johnny Chimpo

    Johnny Chimpo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had a
    k6-2 350
    k6-2 533 both on a asus p5a
    athlon t-bird 1 ghz
    athlon t-bird 1.4 ghz both on asus a7v133
    athlon xp 2400+
     
  12. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    73
    well, i just saw this.

    Would that make it faster? I think so- And for avout 60 dollars. Still best deal.:bleh:
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2003
  13. mike2h

    mike2h New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    6,359
    Likes Received:
    69
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no, it is still slower when overclocked. the 2.4c can go much higher than that, + has 800 bus & ht. still, $60 is a nice price.
     
  14. BWX

    BWX get out and ride

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2002
    Messages:
    19,684
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Yup, price is very good- How much is a 2.4c going for these days?
     
  15. Rasta Monsta

    Rasta Monsta Just an Average Joe...

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    1,574
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    2.53 Happiness

    When the 2.53 chip was price cut late last year, I couldn't resist. PC1066 memory bandwidth crushed absolutely everything in it's sight, and I have never had a smoother, more perfectly running rig.

    But, that was then, this is now. . .I am becoming more interested in going back to AMD, especially with bus speeds and dual channel DDR coming on the scene. . .

    :drool:

    rasta
     
  16. tek

    tek New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Soon the XP1700+ Tbred-B DLT3C JIUHB 1.5V (hoping for 2.4ghz) -- bwhahahahahahaa :evil:
     
  17. DriveEuro

    DriveEuro New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    4,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Most of them stop at 2.4, no matter what voltage you put in them. I know people who's chips stop in the 2.4s and won't go faster unless you add like a full .20volts
     
  18. tek

    tek New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, Cereal Killer got one to 2.45ghz ;)
     
  19. DriveEuro

    DriveEuro New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    4,677
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, but most stop in the 2.4s That's what I am trying to say. It's hard to hit 2.5 without a big jump in voltage. Athough when chill with Promethia you can hit 2500mhz with little voltage.
     
  20. thor777

    thor777 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2002
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Main computer in sig.

    Second computer:

    AMD Athlon XP 2100+
    512mb DDR333 memory
    Epox 8K3A
    BBA Radeon 9700Pro 128mb
    Turtle Beach Santa Cruz
     

Share This Page

visited