What Firewall do you guys use?

Discussion in 'General Software Discussion' started by tek, Jan 15, 2005.

  1. Sandok

    Sandok New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    9,259
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Router firewall and MS ones... :rofl:
     
  2. ToP3koms

    ToP3koms Respect Human Rights

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2002
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sygate Personal Firewall Pro has been working great for me.
     
  3. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    hardware for me.

    Netgear Dual Band Wireless Firewall FWAG114
     
  4. Necrosis

    Necrosis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,794
    Likes Received:
    111
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Firewall in my router and McAfee Desktop Firewall.
     
  5. DarkFoss

    DarkFoss Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Router firewall and Nortons IE 2003 here, mainly for the parental control feature for my daughter. I know while you can't protect kids from everything on the net every gambling&porn site pop-up you can block is still a plus.
     
  6. Louiemaster

    Louiemaster Masto Commando

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    26
    Sygate Personal Firewall 5.5 Pro
     
  7. Geminiwave

    Geminiwave I Have lovely Breasts

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use the HOSTS file built into windows to block most pop-ups. I can target specific IP addresses or websites and just completely block them.

    I also use it to reroute sites like www.spl.com or www.kcls.com to their .org areas that I intent to go to(I sometimes go on autopilot when wanting to get to the library sites. the .com sites are porn...and with the kcls.com it actually opens up so many windows that your comp crashes. at least if you're stupid and use IE instead of firefox. :D )

    edit: Oh yeah and I use the Motorola 850G built-in firewall and McAffee firewall updated to whatever the newest version is. It works very well actually. I am impressed at how many things it catches over stuff like ZoneAlarm(which catches almost nothing)
     
  8. md5

    md5 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    McAffee is kind of crap... what kind of things does it catch ?
     
  9. tek

    tek New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Zonealarm > McAfee

    What have you been smoking Gemini?
     
  10. Powercolour

    Powercolour New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i use zone alarm non-pro
     
  11. Geminiwave

    Geminiwave I Have lovely Breasts

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    actually in the last 2 years mcafee has made huge leaps in firewall tech(mainly because they aquired some company that use to make firewalls. a very good one but the name escapes me).

    Zone-Alarm non-pro tends to be really buggy and it never blocks the crap that I want it to block...in fact in all the time that I've had zonealarm, it has never blocked anything.

    and before you start with suggestions on how I've screwed up with the firewall, I havent. I know how to set these things up. Zone-alarm NP just isnt very good. Most of the people I know who use to say its wonderful just hadnt ever used it(they simply red reviews) but after using it, most of my friends have either switched to Keiro(sp?) or McAfee.

    McAfee may not be the best, but it is extremely good. Besides that, its super simple to open and close ports on the fly and it allows traceroutes on all things accessing your computer(this works really well if the person attacking you is using a proxy)

    Best of all...McAfee isnt a friggin memory hog like Norton or Zonealarm(neither of which I can run on my laptop because of memory constraints).
     
  12. tek

    tek New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How about ZoneAlarm Pro... is that up there with McAfee in your books?

    Just wanna make sure I got the best going....... but I never liked McAfee so thats not an option.

    Also, are router built-in firewalls worth it? Do you have to add EVERY SINGLE app that uses the internet to the allowed list for that firewall?

    I'm thinkin about enabling my routers firewall too but not sure... I havent got the patience to add all my apps/ports to the allowed list.
     
  13. dipstick

    dipstick New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,609
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hardware firewall only here

    What's wrong with that? A true hardware firewall is tons better than software. I've been running a Netgear FR328s router/firewall and have yet to find a test that tells me there is a way into my network. I mean if they can get by this thing I doubt a software firewall will stop them:p Cost is a big factor tho...compared to software.

    Edit0- Btw, the firewalls are very easy to use and you dont have to open any ports; I play tons of games online and never had a prob. They only time you will have to open a port is if you use some P2P app and want to be connectable
     
  14. tek

    tek New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Aha I see, thanks man I'll set this up for myself too then.. :hmm:
     
  15. dipstick

    dipstick New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    3,609
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Np. Definitely use it if you have it bud and let us know if you have any probs:)
     
  16. Geminiwave

    Geminiwave I Have lovely Breasts

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5,334
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    never used Zone-Alarm Pro. I really wouldnt know

    and router firewalls are wonderful. They really catch just about everything.
     
  17. HardwareHeaven

    HardwareHeaven Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2002
    Messages:
    32,274
    Likes Received:
    163
    Trophy Points:
    88
    And thats not even taking into consideration the fact that most experienced guys can exploit coding weaknesses with software firewalls. Hardware firewalls are much more secure.
     
  18. tek

    tek New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey I never knew that Z -- thanks to all you guys for informing me :)

    How about p2p security guys? Anybody use anything for that? I just tried some stuff out today.

    Currently using Peerguardian Lite (the non-lite version has a bug with too much CPU usage)

    Anybody else running this? or ProtoWall, SafeGuardian, etc?

    Everybody should be as secure as possible dammit!
     
  19. Zelig

    Zelig Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    3,185
    Likes Received:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    58
    I don't use p2p software, can't beat that. ;)
     
  20. tek

    tek New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2003
    Messages:
    2,103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not even bittorrent? Man your missing out and you dont even know how much... :D

    I'm running ProtoWall, Peerguardian Lite, Zonealarm nonpro, Kaspersky Anti-Virus, and Ad-Aware SE, and about to enable router firewall

    I feel locked up :w00t: :cool: :x
     

Share This Page

visited