whats best setup for dual booting with SSD's

Discussion in 'Windows & Other OS Discussion & Support' started by schmudge, Oct 2, 2013.

1. schmudge

schmudge New Member

Wish to know if there are any latest tips tricks and need to knows b4 I load up my system onto my 1st build.

I am totally new to this but wish for a dual boot system (need XP for old software)
    1 x 1TB HDD (sata3) to be used for storage and programs games, sims etc
    2x 250GB HHD (sata2) storage for backups
    1x 120GB SSD OS XP pro32bit
    1x180GB SSD OS 7 premium 64bit
    will be getting 16GB RAM for an Asus p8Z77 mobo
    1Q I have is where is best place for things that rewrite heaps ie pagefile etc?
    I read that this can easily shorten the drives life ? or just leave it on the SSD.?
    (could the pagefile be put onto a separate v.small cheap SSD purely for that purpose so if it did go fut! you still have the system intact?)

Startup folder is always left empty and since this PC will never be connected, It will be scanned once in a blue moon. I dont run AV or firewalls etc. All turned off.
    So I cant see the SSD getting that much attention if there is only the OS on it.
    Have I got it close to right?

2. CJLMTLCA

CJLMTLCA Ti > IT

I didn't bother moving the pagefile off my SSD. Everyone is shitting in their pants about wearing out an SSD, but some have calculated that through average usage, it will take a looong time before you see that degradation or you'll end up upgrading to LHD* before that happens.

I have 4 SSDs.
    1 - OS, programs, pagefile, temp files...
    2 - browser cache, downloads, extract folders, photoshop scratch disk and projects, sony vegas projects, media that needs editing/conversion, tv recording, audio/video capture, digital camera dump...
    3 - games
    4 - all my files (music, pics, vids, documents), virtual hardfiles for vmware