Where is the RAM?

Discussion in 'Windows & Other OS Discussion & Support' started by Trusteft, Dec 14, 2019.

  1. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    23,790
    Likes Received:
    3,564
    Trophy Points:
    153
    For a few days now, system very sluggish. I put it down to having plenty of Opera tabs open (217 IIRC), but still far less than I have in the past (several 100s).
    Closing Opera doesn't seem to help that much.
    Running World of Tanks, loading a battle from a few seconds (in the past), to now 40-50 seconds for a battle.
    While playing having hiccups in performance.

    Checked performance in windows and shows RAM usage at 96% and up.
    16GB of RAM.
    1TB SSD.
    Windows 8.1
    Weirdest of all, it doesn't show anything actually using that RAM.
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    23,790
    Likes Received:
    3,564
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Reboot fixed it. Weird.
     
  3. Judas

    Judas Obvious Closet Brony Pony

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Messages:
    39,673
    Likes Received:
    1,523
    Trophy Points:
    138
    Reseat the modules if it happens again. this is more prevalent on DDR4 systems due to the module shape change for the contacts, but it tends to occasionally happen with ddr3. In fact It was nothing but a headache for x58 platforms as memory modules would disappear randomly to the point that either the system wouldn't boot properly even though it detected memory installed, or one day you'd fire it up and only 1 out of the 3-6 modules would actually be usable.

    Otherwise the only time i've seen it is a board issue or on a few of the intel cpu's with a memory controller failing.
     
    Trusteft likes this.
  4. Trusteft

    Trusteft HH's Asteroids' Dominator

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    23,790
    Likes Received:
    3,564
    Trophy Points:
    153
    The RAM was seen properly as 16GB in 2 dimms. There was ghost occupation of most of the RAM. Never seen it before, at least on a modern system. I remember back in the Windows 95 days I would see (Rarely) RAM "disappearing" for a session, but not since then.
     
  5. Calliers

    Calliers Administrator/Editor Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    60,438
    Likes Received:
    4,623
    Trophy Points:
    139
    Your RAM....ghosted you!

    *badum-tiss*
     
  6. IvanV

    IvanV HH Assassin Guild Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2004
    Messages:
    11,287
    Likes Received:
    2,587
    Trophy Points:
    138
    I'm late to the party. Windows obviously took that RAM for some reasons known only to it. Sometimes you can get an idea of what's going on by looking at RAMMap. I had a case where RAM would get completely swamped on a Windows Server machine on which myriads of files were created continuously, causing some kind of file system cache to just grow and grow indefinitely, which, like in your case, wouldn't appear in Task Manager. The system would become slow like molasses after a few days and a reboot would fix it temporarily.
     
    Trusteft likes this.
  7. jandarsun8

    jandarsun8 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    38
    LOL. Ok, I know this is a very old post but reading the title of it after reading all the craptastic post on Reddit's tech support made me chuckle.

    The original post name here is "Where is the RAM!?"
    Reddit's response would have been "YoU nEeD tO dOwNlOaD mOrE!!"
     
    Takaharu and Mr Cairo like this.
  8. Mr Cairo

    Mr Cairo DREDD do You require backup .... NO

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,344
    Likes Received:
    1,631
    Trophy Points:
    138

    LOL that is so true :)
     

Share This Page

visited